The Number Of The Beast (2015 Remaster) Iron Maiden

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Invaders (2015 Remaster)03:23
  • 2Children Of The Damned (2015 Remaster)04:35
  • 3The Prisoner (2015 Remaster)06:03
  • 422 Acacia Avenue (2015 Remaster)06:37
  • 5The Number Of The Beast (2015 Remaster)04:51
  • 6Run to the Hills (2015 Remaster)03:53
  • 7Gangland (2015 Remaster)03:49
  • 8Hallowed Be Thy Name (2015 Remaster)07:11
  • Total Runtime40:22

Info for The Number Of The Beast (2015 Remaster)

Throughout the 1980s, a damning generalization held true: British metal was essentially working man's food, loosely descended from biker-meets and Northern pubs; whereas, in the States, it was an outgrowth of stadium rock, which traditionally subordinated substance to spectacle. Plug-ugly and cartoonishly morbid, Iron Maiden were typical of the Brit effort, since they effectively emphasized a driving, no-nonsense approach to the music. Among metal aficionados, this album ranks as one of the defining moments of the entire genre. Of the nine songs here--including Maiden classics like 'Run to the Hills' and the title track--only 'Gangland' falls flat, though it's immediately overshadowed by 'Hallowed Be Thy Name,' acknowledged by many as this band's apotheosis.

„Given the importance people attach to the role of the vocalist in rock groups, the upward curve that Iron Maiden had steadily enjoyed since their first album in 1980 might well have become a downward spiral with the departure of singer Paul Di’Anno. Echoing Spinal Tap’s legendary problems in keeping their drummers, he was already the third singer since their humble beginnings as a pub band. His leaving as the band stood on the cusp of global success turned out to be fourth time lucky for them. And for ex-Samson vocalist Bruce Dickinson, whose sand-papered soaring yowl more than held its own against the blasting and frequently bombastic arrangements. His debut with the band gave them their first No.1 album in the UK and broke them in America. As the title not-so-cunningly implies, there’s the prerequisite dollop of occult-orientated subject matter that you’d expect. What is surprising however is the extent to which their combination of sophisticated arrangements and varied tonal palette lifts what might otherwise be a rather earthbound (i.e. bog-standard) set. The frantic opener, “Invader” flirts intriguingly with jazz-rock fusion whilst other tracks have an overtly prog-rock agenda.

Certainly, a key weapon of bassist Steve Harris, the album’s main writer, is the convincing use of multi-movement compositions. Whereas even some of the venerable HM institutions (think Black Sabbath) would struggle to make material that was something more than a collection of minor-key riffs, Iron Maiden pull this feat off with considerable élan. “The Prisoner”, (complete with dialogue lifted from the TV series of the same name) could almost pass for a heavy-metal Genesis and even the innuendo-laden “22 Acacia Avenue” has some complex riffing that wouldn’t be out of place in Gentle Giant.

The greater emphasis on dramatic narrative (the title track, “Hallowed Be Thy Name” and the top ten single, “Run To The Hills”) provide Dickinson a platform to showcase some subtle phrasing that marks him out as a cut above the rest of the balls-to-the-wall competition. Maiden newbies are advised to start their journey to metal hell and back right here.“ (Sid Smith, BBC Review)

Ranked #100 in Q's '100 Greatest British Albums' - '...A hook-ridden, overdriven brew of Norsemen, Red Indians and, of course, Satanism, it epitomised British metal's values system...'

(p.51) - 'Richer, more streamlined and measurably more melodic than its punkier predecessors, BEAST expanded Maiden's musical horizons...' (Kerrang Magazine)

Bruce Dickinson, vocals
Dave Murray, guitar
Adrian Smith, guitar
Steve Harris, basss
Clive Burr, drums

Recorded January – February 1982 at Battery Studios
Engineered and mixed by Martin Birch
Produced by Martin Birch

Digitally remastered

Iron Maiden
was formed in the year 1976 by bassist Steve Harris. They released their first album in 1980 as a five piece band with Paul Di’Anno on vocals. Later, Bruce Dickinson replaced him in 1981. With several line-up changes Steve Harris would remain the only original member never to have had a hiatus. When Bruce Dickinson quit in 1994 and was replaced by Wolfsbane’s Blaze Bayley, the band lost a lot of their fanbase. They recorded two albums with Blaze before Bruce Dickinson and Adrian Smith returned to the fold for 2000’s “Brave New World”, and 2003’s “Dance of Death”, making them a six-piece. As of 1999 the line-up hasn’t changed. Here’s the biography of this popular band.

Known for such powerful hits as “Two Minutes to Midnight” and “The Trooper,” Iron Maiden were and are one of the most influential bands of the heavy metal genre. The often-imitated band has existed for over nearly four decades, pumping out wild rock similar to Judas Priest. Iron Maiden have always been an underground attraction; although failing to ever obtain any real media attention in the U.S. (critics claimed them to be Satanists due to their dark musical themes and their use of grim mascot “Eddie”), they still became well-known throughout the world and have remained consistently popular throughout their career. Iron Maiden were one of the first groups to be classified as “British metal,” and, along with Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, and a host of other bands, set the rock scene for the ’80s.

Band Members:

Paul Mario Day (1975-1976)
Dennis Wilcock (1976-1977)
Paul Di’Anno (1978-1981)
Blaze Bayley (1994-1998)
Bruce Dickinson (1981-1993 and 1999-present)

Barry “Thunderstick” Purkis (1977)
Doug Sampson (1977-1979)
Clive Burr (1980-1982)
Nicko McBrain (1982-present)

Dave Murray (2) (1976-present)
Dennis Stratton (1979-1980)
Adrian Smith (2) (1980-1990 and 1999-present)
Janick Gers (1990-present)

Steve Harris (1975-present)

Michael Kenny (1986-present) (Live performances only, not a full member)

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO