A Tribute to Bob Dylan in the 80s: Volume One Various Artists

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 8.80
  • 1Langhorne Slim & The Law - Got My Mind Made Up03:14
  • 2Built to Spill - Jokerman06:12
  • 3Reggie Watts - Brownsville Girl (Reprise)03:38
  • 4Craig Finn - Sweetheart Like You03:48
  • 5Ivan & Alyosha - You Changed My Life05:08
  • 6Deer Tick - Night After Night03:00
  • 7Dawn Landes & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy - Dark Eyes04:42
  • 8Tea Leaf Green - Waiting to Get Beat02:39
  • 9Aaron Freeman & Slash - Wiggle Wiggle02:13
  • 10Elvis Perkins - Congratulations03:40
  • 11Hannah Cohen - Covenant Woman05:27
  • 12Marco Benevento - Every Grain of Sand02:41
  • 13Yellowbird - Series of Dreams05:55
  • 14Blitzen Trapper - Unbelievable02:43
  • 15Lucius - When the Night Comes Falling from the Sky06:20
  • 16Glen Hansard - Pressing On04:07
  • 17Carl Broemel - Death Is Not the End06:31
  • Total Runtime01:11:58

Info for A Tribute to Bob Dylan in the 80s: Volume One

A tribute album to Bob Dylan's music from the 80s, spanning 1980's 'Saved' to 1990's 'Under The Red Sky' (includes Shot Of Love, Infidels, Empire Burlesque, Oh Mercy, The Traveling Wilburys). The mission is to give new light to songs that have gone ignored and suffered from 80s production.

"Bob Dylan opened the '80s as a born-again Christian and closed the decade with Oh Mercy, a critical comeback that rejuvenated his career. In between came a decade in the wilderness, where he found religion and lost it, went with the flow of MTV, hit the road with Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers and the Grateful Dead, anchored the Traveling Wilburys supergroup, and released seven studio albums while he banked a bunch of unreleased material that had drifted out over the years. Dylan had some hits along the way -- 1983's Infidels and 1985's Empire Burlesque both went gold -- but this is generally considered an unfocused era of excess. Produced by Jesse Lauter and Sean O'Brien, the 2014 tribute Bob Dylan in the '80s: Vol. 1 attempts to kick-start conversations by offering 17 covers from this neglected decade by a bunch of modern indie artists (the expanded digital and vinly versions contain another seven songs). Apart from Infidels, Dylan's '80s singles are avoided, as are several '80s songs that are often covered ("Emotionally Yours," selections from 1989's acclaimed Oh Mercy, which is strangely and deliberately side-stepped), and 1990's Under the Red Sky is grandfathered in, likely because it's the last collection of original tunes Dylan would produce until 1997 (his time in the wilderness lasted much longer than a decade, but the early '90s were devoted to folk covers and live albums). This doesn't mean the album isn't anchored by relatively familiar songs: Craig Finn of the Hold Steady does a straightforward "Sweetheart Like You," Built to Spill appealingly lurch their way through "Jokerman," Dawn Landes & Bonnie "Prince" Billy sweetly sing "Dark Eyes," and Yellowbirds pay effective homage to the ethereal "Series of Dreams." Although Aaron Freeman's "Wiggle Wiggle" winks at the bad taste that peppered these '80s albums -- he arranges it as an early Ween tune, then has the sense of humor to bring in Slash for a cameo, just like Bob did on the original -- this is an earnest bunch of covers, dedicated to bringing these songs back into the Dylan canon. Most versions pull off the nifty trick of being faithful to Dylan's and their act's own sound. Glen Hansard turns "Pressing On" into something that'd fit on the Once soundtrack; Lucius gives "When the Night Comes Falling from the Sky" a new wave grandeur; Langhorne Slim & the Law kick up dust on "Got My Mind Made Up"; Blitzen Trapper split the difference between past and present on "Unbelievable"; Deer Tick amble through a calypso on "Night After Night," and Tea Leaf Green thread in polyrhythms throughout "Waiting to Get Beat." Some of these versions work better than others, but they're all imaginative and worthy and, best of all, they prove the producers' thesis that there is a lot to discover within Dylan's '80s catalog." (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG)

Produced by Jesse Lauter, Sean O'Brian

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO