Altissima: Works for High Baroque Trumpet Josh Cohen, Ensemble Sprezzatura, Daniel Abraham

Cover Altissima: Works for High Baroque Trumpet

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Josh Cohen, Ensemble Sprezzatura, Daniel Abraham

Composer: Gottfried Reiche (1667-1734), Christoph Graupner (1683-1760), Romanus Weichlein (1652-1706), Gottfried Finger (1660-1730), Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767), Margaret Allison Bonds (1913-1972)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Gottfried Reiche (1667 - 1734): [Abblasen]:
  • 1Reiche: [Abblasen]00:34
  • Christoph Graupner (1683 - 1760): Concerto, GWV 308:
  • 2Graupner: Concerto, GWV 308: I. Largo e giusto01:33
  • 3Graupner: Concerto, GWV 308: II. Allegro03:45
  • 4Graupner: Concerto, GWV 308: III. Largo01:20
  • 5Graupner: Concerto, GWV 308: IV. Allegro03:50
  • Romanus Weichlein (1652 - 1706): Sonata à 8, Op. 1 No. 1:
  • 6Weichlein: Sonata à 8, Op. 1 No. 1: I. Allegro01:44
  • 7Weichlein: Sonata à 8, Op. 1 No. 1: II. Con discretione04:49
  • 8Weichlein: Sonata à 8, Op. 1 No. 1: III. Grave01:27
  • Gottfried Finger (1660 - 1730): Sonata:
  • 9Finger: Sonata: I. Moderato01:30
  • 10Finger: Sonata: II. Adagio01:13
  • 11Finger: Sonata: III. Allegro01:00
  • 12Finger: Sonata: IV. Grave02:48
  • Johann Samuel Endler (1694 - 1762): Sinfonia à 7, CobE 13:
  • 13Endler: Sinfonia à 7, CobE 13: I. Allegro04:37
  • 14Endler: Sinfonia à 7, CobE 13: II. Andante02:54
  • 15Endler: Sinfonia à 7, CobE 13: III. Menuet03:32
  • 16Endler: Sinfonia à 7, CobE 13: IV. Vivace03:55
  • 17Endler: Sinfonia à 7, CobE 13: V. Presto01:48
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 - 1767): Concerto, TWV 43: D7:
  • 18Telemann: Concerto, TWV 43: D7: I. Largo03:05
  • 19Telemann: Concerto, TWV 43: D7: II. Vivace02:24
  • 20Telemann: Concerto, TWV 43: D7: III. Siciliano03:05
  • 21Telemann: Concerto, TWV 43: D7: IV. Vivace05:10
  • Philipp Jakob Rittler (1637 - 1690): Ciaccona à 7:
  • 22Rittler: Ciaccona à 704:19
  • Capel Bond (1730 - 1790): Concerto No. 1:
  • 23Bond: Concerto No. 1: I. Con spirito01:12
  • 24Bond: Concerto No. 1: II. Allegro02:39
  • 25Bond: Concerto No. 1: III. Larghetto02:38
  • Total Runtime01:06:51

Info for Altissima: Works for High Baroque Trumpet

The baroque trumpeter Josh Cohen is among the most s ought-after clarino specialists in North America. A native of the Washington, DC area, he performs regularly with most of the leading early music ensembles in North America and has appeared as principal or solo baroque trumpet with ensembles such as Tafelmusik (Toronto), Washington Bach Consort, Studio de musique ancienne de Montreal, Arion Orchestre Baroque (Montreal), The Bach Sinfonia (Washington, DC), Seraphic Fire (Miami), Apollo’s Fire (Cleveland), and the Sebastians (New York) to name but a few.

The development of historically informed trumpet playing has come a long way since the very early days of the movement, from coiled trumpets – first produced by Steinkopf-Finke, and played by Walter Holy in a 1962 recording of the Second Brandenburg Concerto under Harnoncourt – to the first modern baroque trumpets of Meinl & Lauber. Devoted to a broad cross-section of trumpet repertoire from the late seventeenth century through the mid-eighteenth, this recording shows how far the art of playing the baroque trumpet has advanced.

Josh Cohen, baroque trumpet
Ensemble Sprezzatura
Daniel Abraham, direction

Josh Cohen
A native of the Washington, DC area, baroque trumpeter Josh Cohen is greatly sought after by many leading early music ensembles throughout North America. For the past ten seasons, Josh has been principal baroque trumpet with the Washington Bach Consort. He has also performed as principal and solo baroque trumpet for ensembles such as Studio de Musique Ancienne de Montreal, Arion (Montreal), Bach Sinfonia (Washington DC), Aston Magna (Boston), Musica Maris (Rhode Island), Houston Bach Society, Ensemble Telemann (Montreal), and participated in festivals such as the Indiana Festival of Early Music, International Festival of Baroque Music at Lameque (N.B. Canada) and the Bach Festival of Montreal. Mr. Cohen has recorded some of the most famous and demanding works for baroque trumpet. Most recently, Mr. Cohen recorded J.S. Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto no. 2 with Montreal-based Ensemble Caprice. He can be heard in the Washington Bach Consort’s recording of J.S. Bach’s Cantata no. 51 with soprano Elizabeth Futral. Two recordings Mr. Cohen participated in with prominent Canadian ensembles were both nominated for the 2009 Juno Awards: “Let the Bright Seraphim” with soprano Karina Gauvin and Tempo Rubato, and his recording of Vivaldi’s Gloria with Ensemble Caprice, the latter of which won the Juno award for Best Album of the Year in the vocal category. Mr. Cohen received a M.M. from McGill University and a B.M. from the New England Conservatory of Music. He currently plays on a Baroque trumpet made by Matt Martin of Norwich Natural Trumpets after an original by Kodisch 1710.

Booklet for Altissima: Works for High Baroque Trumpet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO