J.S. Bach: Toccata In C Minor BWV 911; Partita No.2 In C Minor, BWV 826; English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807 (Remastered) Martha Argerich

Cover J.S. Bach: Toccata In C Minor BWV 911; Partita No.2 In C Minor, BWV 826; English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807 (Remastered)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Toccata In C Minor BWV 911:
  • 1Toccata In C Minor BWV 91111:03
  • Toccata c-moll BWV 911:
  • 2Toccata c-moll BWV 911: 1. Sinfonia (Grave adagio - Andante)04:16
  • 3Toccata c-moll BWV 911: 2. Allemande04:18
  • 4Toccata c-moll BWV 911: 3. Courante02:08
  • 5Toccata c-moll BWV 911: 4. Sarabande03:55
  • 6Toccata c-moll BWV 911: 5. Rondeaux01:17
  • 7Toccata c-moll BWV 911: 6. Capriccio03:07
  • English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807:
  • 8English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807: 1. Prelude04:19
  • 9English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807: 2. Allemande02:56
  • 10English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807: 3. Courante01:32
  • 11English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807: 4. Sarabande04:10
  • 12English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807: 5. Bourrée I & II03:54
  • 13English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807: 6. Gigue03:21
  • Total Runtime50:16

Info for J.S. Bach: Toccata In C Minor BWV 911; Partita No.2 In C Minor, BWV 826; English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807 (Remastered)

„This is a thing of beauty. It is also a model of unusually pure piano-playing, with very little pedal and only occasional ‘agogics’ – the small delays which draw attention to a structural landmark. Argerich achieves character with great discipline, by varying her touch, by balancing sounds immaculately against each other, and by her irresistible sense of rhythm, so important in the dance movements of the Partita and Suite. Her buoyancy and alertness in the lively movements are almost alarming. And who else would dare make the Sarabande in the Partita so simple? You’ll feel years younger after listening.“ (Adrian Jack, Classical-Music.com)

“This recital, first issued in 1980, has an extraordinary authority and panache. Argerich's attack in the C minor Toccata could hardly be bolder or more incisive, a classic instance of virtuosity all the more clear and potent for being so firmly but never rigidly controlled. Here, as elsewhere, her discipline is no less remarkable than her unflagging brio and relish of Bach's glory. Again, in the Second Partita, her playing is quite without those excesses or mannerisms that too often pass for authenticity, and in the Andante immediately following the Sinfonie she's expressive yet clear and precise, her following Allegro a marvel of high-speed yet always musical bravura. True, some may question her way with the Courante from the Second English Suite, finding it hard-driven, even overbearing, yet her eloquence in the following sublime Sarabande creates its own hypnotic authority. The dynamic range of these towering, intensely musical performances has been excellently captured by DG.” (Gramophone Classical Music Guide)

Martha Argerich, piano

Digitally remastered

Martha Argerich
was born in Buenos Aires. From the age of five, she took piano lessons with Vicenzo Scaramuzza. In 1955 she went to Europe with her family, and received tuition from Friedrich Gulda in Vienna; her teachers also included Nikita Magaloff and Stefan Askenase. Following her first prizes in the piano competitions in Bolzano and Geneva in 1957, she embarked on an intensive programme of concerts. Her victory in the Chopin Competition in Warsaw in 1965 was a decisive step on her path to worldwide recognition.

Martha Argerich rose to fame with her interpretations of the virtuoso piano literature of the 19th and 20th centuries. But she does not regard herself as a specialist in 'virtuoso' works - her repertoire ranges from Bach through Beethoven, Schumann, Liszt, Debussy and Ravel, to Bartók.

Martha Argerich has worked as a concert pianist with many famous conductors. She has also attached great importance to chamber music ever since, at the age of 17, she accompanied the violinist Joseph Szigeti - two generations older than herself. She has toured Europe, America and Japan with Gidon Kremer and Mischa Maisky and has also recorded much of the repertory for four hands and for two pianos with the pianists Nelson Freire, Stephen Bishop-Kovacevich, Nicolas Economou and Alexandre Rabinovitch. Martha Argerich has performed at Gidon Kremer's festival in Lockenhaus, at the Munich Piano Summer, the Lucerne Festival and at the Salzburg Festival, where she gave, for instance, a recital with Mischa Maisky in 1993.

She appeared with Claudio Abbado and the Berlin Philharmonic at the 1992 New Year's Eve Concert with Strauss's Burleske and also at the Salzburg Festival at Easter 1993. May 1998 saw the long-awaited musical 'summit meeting' between Martha Argerich, Mischa Maisky and Gidon Kremer. On the occasion of a memorial concert for the impresario Reinhard Paulsen, the three artists came together in Japan, where they performed piano trios by Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky (recorded live by DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON). In March 2000 Martha Argerich gave her first great solo appearance in almost 20 years in New York's Carnegie Hall.

Martha Argerich has close ties with DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON, dating back to 1967. She has recorded prolifically during this period: solo works by Bach, Brahms, Chopin, Liszt and Schumann; concerto recordings of works by Chopin, Liszt, Ravel and Prokofiev with Claudio Abbado, Beethoven with Giuseppe Sinopoli, and Stravinsky's Les Noces with Leonard Bernstein. Her recording of Shostakovich's First and Haydn's Eleventh Piano Concertos with the Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn conducted by Jörg Färber was crowned with the Tokyo RECORD ACADEMY AWARD in 1995 and that of Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 with Claudio Abbado and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra was awarded the CD COMPACT AWARD in 1997.

She has also dedicated herself to chamber music, and has recorded works by Schumann and Chopin with Mstislav Rostropovich, and cello sonatas by both Bach and Beethoven with Mischa Maisky. She has made numerous successful recordings with Gidon Kremer, such as violin sonatas by Schumann and works by Bartók, Janácek and Messiaen (PRIX CAECILIA 1991), and Mendelssohn's concerto for violin and piano with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. Their recording of Prokofiev sonatas and melodies received the 1992 Tokyo RECORD ACADEMY AWARD, the DIAPASON D'OR 1992 and the EDISON AWARD 1993. One of their most outstanding recording achievements was that of the complete Beethoven violin sonatas (Nos.1-3: RECORD ACADEMY AWARD 1985), which was concluded with the release of the Sonatas op. 47 'Kreutzer' and op. 96 in 1995. Among her more recent releases is the above-mentioned live recording of piano trios by Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky with Mischa Maisky and Gidon Kremer.

Martha Argerich takes a great supportive interest in young artists. In September 1999 the first International 'Martha Argerich' Piano Competition took place in Buenos Aires - a competition which does not only carry her name but in which she is president of the jury. In November 1999 the second 'Martha Argerich Music Festival' took place in southern Japan, with concerts and masterclasses being given not only by Martha Argerich but also by Mischa Maisky and Nelson Freire among others.

Booklet for J.S. Bach: Toccata In C Minor BWV 911; Partita No.2 In C Minor, BWV 826; English Suite No.2 In A Minor, BWV 807 (Remastered)

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO