Cover Neujahrskonzert 2020

Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Wiener Philharmoniker & Andris Nelsons

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), Carl Michael Ziehrer (1843-1922), Josef Strauss (1827-1870)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Carl Michael Ziehrer (1843 - 1922): Die Landstreicher:
  • 1Die Landstreicher: Ouvertüre05:09
  • Josef Strauss (1827 - 1870):
  • 2Liebesgrüße, Walzer, Op. 5608:10
  • 3Liechtenstein-Marsch, Op. 3603:15
  • Johann Strauss, Jr. (1825 - 1899):
  • 4Blumenfest-Polka, Op. 11102:51
  • 5Wo die Zitronen blüh'n, Walzer, Op. 36409:37
  • Eduard Strauss (1835 - 1916):
  • 6Knall und Fall, Polka schnell, Op. 13202:35
  • Franz von Suppé (1819 - 1895):
  • 7Leichte Kavallerie: Ouvertüre07:10
  • Josef Strauss:
  • 8Cupido, Polka française, Op. 8103:29
  • Johann Strauss, Jr.:
  • 9Seid umschlungen, Millionen! Walzer, Op. 44310:18
  • Eduard Strauss:
  • 10Eisblume, Polka mazur, Op. 5504:54
  • Joseph Hellmesberger Jr. (1855 - 1907):
  • 11Gavotte05:07
  • Hans Christian Lumbye (1810 - 1874):
  • 12Postillon Galop, Op. 16/202:30
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827):
  • 1312 Contretänze, WoO 1404:36
  • Johann Strauss, Jr.:
  • 14Freuet euch des Lebens, Walzer, Op. 34007:55
  • 15Tritsch-Tratsch Polka, Op. 21402:37
  • Josef Strauss:
  • 16Dynamiden, Walzer, Op. 17310:35
  • 17Im Fluge, Polka schnell, Op. 23002:09
  • Traditional:
  • 18Neujahrsgruß / New Year's Address / Allocution du Nouvel An00:53
  • Johann Strauss, Jr.:
  • 19An der schönen blauen Donau, Walzer, Op. 31410:32
  • 20Radetzky-Marsch, Op. 22803:55
  • Total Runtime01:48:17

Info for Neujahrskonzert 2020

It has long been a Philharmonic tradition at the New Year to present a program consisting of the lively and at the same time nostalgic music from the vast repertoire of the Johann Strauss family and its contemporaries. These concerts not only delight the audiences in the Musikverein in Vienna, but also enjoy great international popularity through the world wide television broadcasts, which now reach over 90 countries.

Originating during the darkest chapter in Austria's history, these concerts have continually grown in popularity in the decades since, which can be attributed to the verve and creative energy of the compositions of the Strauss Dynasty, as well as their authoritative interpretations. Today millions of people throughout the world draw joy and optimism for the New Year ahead through the light-hearted yet subtly profound character of this music.

It is the desire of the Philharmonic not only to provide musically definitive interpretations of the masterworks of this genre, but at the same time, as musical ambassadors of Austria, to send people all over the world a New Year's greeting in the spirit of hope, friendship and peace.

Wiener Philharmoniker
Andris Nelsons, conductor

Andris Nelsons
is Music Director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Gewandhauskapellmeister of the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. These two positions, in addition to his leadership of a pioneering alliance between both institutions, have firmly established Grammy Award-winning Nelsons as one of the most renowned and innovative conductors on the international scene today.

Nelsons began his tenure as Music Director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra in the 2014/15 season. This season, the BSO and Nelsons embark on a major tour throughout Asia, giving their first concerts together in Seoul, Taipei, Hong Kong and Shanghai. The orchestra also continues its appearances at Carnegie Hall as part of the “Great American Orchestras” series, with a special concert performance of Act III of Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde featuring Jonas Kaufmann. Since his appointment as Gewandhauskapellmeister in Leipzig in February 2018, Nelsons and the Gewandhausorchester have completed a number of successful tours, including their first Asia tour together in May/June 2019, performing in Japan and China. This season, the orchestra looks forward to two European tours, which will include performances at the BBC Proms, the festivals in Salzburg and Lucerne, as well as Vienna’s prestigious Musikverein. October/November 2019 marks a special highlight for Nelsons, the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Gewandhausorchester: three joint performances in Boston’s Symphony Hall will be given as part of the alliance between the two orchestras, and the Gewandhausorchester will perform additional concerts as part of BSO’s subscription series.

During the 2019/20 season, Nelsons continues his regular collaborations with the Wiener Philharmoniker, with whom he conducts the prestigious New Year’s Day concert in 2020, broadcast to millions across the world. Furthermore, in celebration of the composer’s 250th anniversary, the Wiener Philharmoniker and Nelsons present a cycle of Beethoven’s symphonies at the Musikverein and on tour at the Philharmonie de Paris, Philharmonie am Gasteig in Munich, and Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie. Throughout his career, Nelsons has established regular collaborations with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Concertgebouworkest and has been a regular guest at the Bayreuther Festspiele and at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden. Andris Nelsons has an exclusive recording relationship with Deutsche Grammophon, which has paved the way for three landmark projects. Nelsons and the BSO partner on recording the complete Shostakovich symphonies and the opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtensk District. The fourth and most recent instalment was released in February 2019. Each of the first three releases of the cycle have received Grammy Awards for Best Orchestral Performance, the third additionally winning in the Best Engineered Album, Classical category. Nelsons and the yellow label also have embarked upon a critically acclaimed project with the Gewandhausorchester that sheds new light on the symphonies of Bruckner, and pairs these distinctive symphonic pieces with works by Wagner. The most recent instalment was released in May 2019. Finally, Nelsons’ recordings of Beethoven’s complete symphonies with the Wiener Philharmoniker will be released in October 2019.

Born in Riga in 1978 into a family of musicians, Andris Nelsons began his career as a trumpeter in the Latvian National Opera Orchestra before studying conducting. He was Music Director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra from 2008-2015, Principal Conductor of Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie in Herford, Germany 2006- 2009 and Music Director of the Latvian National Opera 2003-2007.

Booklet for Neujahrskonzert 2020

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO