Beethoven: Diabelli Variations, Op. 120 & 6 Bagatelles, Op. 126 Giovanni Mazzocchin

Album info



Label: OnClassical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Giovanni Mazzocchin

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 13.50
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Diabelli Variations, Op. 120:
  • 1Theme. Vivace00:48
  • 2Var. 1, Alla marcia, maestoso01:55
  • 3Var. 2, Poco allegro01:03
  • 4Var. 3, L'istesso tempo01:34
  • 5Var. 4, Un poco più vivace01:06
  • 6Var. 5, Allegro vivace01:02
  • 7Var. 6, Allegro ma non troppo e serioso01:58
  • 8Var. 7, Un poco più allegro01:31
  • 9Var. 8, Poco vivace01:44
  • 10Var. 9, Allegro pesante e risoluto01:54
  • 11Var. 10, Presto00:38
  • 12Var. 11, Allegretto01:14
  • 13Var. 12, Un poco più mosso00:57
  • 14Var. 13, Vivace01:16
  • 15Var. 14, Grave e maestoso04:58
  • 16Var. 15, Presto scherzando01:34
  • 17Var. 17, Allegro01:02
  • 18Var. 18, Poco moderato01:43
  • 19Var. 19, Presto00:52
  • 20Var. 20, Andante02:38
  • 21Var. 21, Allegro con brio01:22
  • 22Var. 22, Allegro molto00:52
  • 23Var. 23, Allegro assai00:59
  • 24Var. 24, Fughetta. Andante03:49
  • 25Var. 25, Allegro00:48
  • 26Var. 26, Piacevole01:19
  • 27Var. 27, Vivace01:03
  • 28Var. 28, Allegro01:03
  • 29Var. 29, Adagio ma non troppo01:21
  • 30Var. 30, Andante, sempre cantabile02:15
  • 31Var. 31, Largo, molto espressivo05:21
  • 32Var. 32, Fuga. Allegro03:13
  • 33Var. 33, Tempo di menuetto. Moderato04:27
  • 6 Bagatelles, Op. 126:
  • 34No. 1 in G Major03:33
  • 35No. 2 in G Minor03:01
  • 36No. 3 in E-Flat Major02:52
  • 37No. 4 in B Minor04:38
  • 38No. 5 in G Major02:50
  • 39No. 6 in E-Flat Major04:08
  • Total Runtime01:20:21

Info for Beethoven: Diabelli Variations, Op. 120 & 6 Bagatelles, Op. 126

"33 Veränderungen über einen Walzer einen Walzer von Diabelli": this is the original German title chosen by Beethoven for one of his last great bursts of musical inspiration. Even the title is remarkable, indeed, he did not choose the traditional word "Variation", but the more germanic-sounding "Veränderungen", whose approximate translation could be "transformation". As a matter of fact, the word "tranformation" fits the purpose: by going through the whole composition, the listener (and the pianist) can realize Beethoven's will for the conversion and destruction of the coarse and childish theme written by Diabelli.

The master from Bonn did not solely "kindle" the futile waltz, but also rediscovered (after the last three sonatas) the great masters of the previous century (in the two fugues) and of the Viennese school (in the last Minuetto).

Even though the Diabelli Variations constitute the master's last outstanding work for the piano, he did not use it so as to give his ultimate farewell to the instrument. While he was delving into the great string quartets, he found the time to write the final set of Bagattellas (literally "trivial things"), in which any kind of rhetoric and wish for greatness is abandoned in order to reach a lighter and fainter musical language: namely the Bagattellas are truly "romantic" creations.

Giovanni Mazzocchin, young promise of Italian pianism, gives to Diabelli Variations (aka. "Transformations") an analytical and very precise reading.

Giovanni Mazzocchin, piano

Giovanni Mazzocchin
is born in Bassano del Grappa in 1994. He studied at the Conservatory 'Arrigo Pedrollo' in Vicenza under the guidance of Marco Tezza.

During the years of conservatory he also attended masterclasses with some notable pianists such as Carlo Grante, Alexander Madzar and Filippo Gamba. He degreed in 2012 with high degrees, honor and special mention.

Giovanni is now student at the University of the Padua in the faculty of Computer Science, and he combines the study with the musical interest.

He is as an OnClassical artist since November 2015. A first collaboration with the label includes the recording of the late sonatas by Ludwig van Beethoven, Opus 101 & 106 (Hammerklavier) and Opus 109, 110, 111 (OnClassical Cat. OC141C), and the Bach's Goldberg Variations.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO