Copland: Appalachian Spring & Hear Ye! Hear Ye! Detroit Symphony Orchestra & Leonard Slatkin

Cover Copland: Appalachian Spring & Hear Ye! Hear Ye!

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Detroit Symphony Orchestra & Leonard Slatkin

Composer: Aaron Copland (1900-1990)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 11.00
  • Aaron Copland (1900-1990):
  • 1Scene 1: Prelude01:49
  • 2Scene 2: The Courtroom00:35
  • 3Scene 3: Dance01:54
  • 4Scene 402:17
  • 5Scene 5: The Night-Club Hostess Sworn In00:43
  • 6Scene 6: The Chorus Girls' First Dance03:51
  • 7Scene 7: First Pas-de-deux03:18
  • 8Scene 8: Pas-de-deux Continued - First Murder03:37
  • 9Scene 9: The Courtroom00:41
  • 10Scene 10: The Honeymoon Couple00:42
  • 11Scene 11: The Chorus Girls Dance with Doves02:28
  • 12Scene 12: Second Pas-de-deux and Murder03:51
  • 13Scene 13: The Courtroom00:41
  • 14Scene 14: The Waiter Sworn In00:36
  • 15Scene 15: The Chorus Girls' Third Dance01:44
  • 16Scene 16: Third Pas-de-deux and Murder03:40
  • 17Scene 17: The Verdict00:17
  • 18Scene 18: The Courtroom01:46
  • 19Appalachian Spring37:57
  • Total Runtime01:12:27

Info for Copland: Appalachian Spring & Hear Ye! Hear Ye!

Aaron Copland wrote his rarely-heard ballet Hear Ye! Hear Ye! for Ruth Page, the dancer and choreographer who was to become the Grande Dame of American ballet. Its scenario is a murder in a nightclub and the ensuing trial in a Chicago courtroom. Copland infused the score with the spirit of his jazz-influenced pieces, controversially distorting part of the National Anthem, and infiltrating music from some of his earlier works. In complete contrast, Appalachian Spring is his most famous work, a true American masterpiece founded on transfigured dance tunes and song melodies. This is volume two of the Complete Ballet series. Volume One is on 8559758.

Leonard Slatkin is Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) and the Orchestre National de Lyon (ONL). He also maintains a rigorous schedule of guest conducting throughout the world and is active as a composer, author, and educator. Slatkin’s more than a hundred recordings have received seven Grammy awards and 64 nominations. His Naxos recordings include works by Saint-Saëns, Ravel, and Berlioz (with the ONL) and music by Copland, Rachmaninov, Borzova, McTee, and John Williams (with the DSO).

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
The internationally acclaimed Detroit Symphony Orchestra, which celebrated its 125th anniversary in December 2012, is known for trailblazing performances, visionary maestros, collaborations with the world’s foremost musical artists, and an unwavering commitment to Detroit. Esteemed conductor Leonard Slatkin, called “America’s Music Director” by the Los Angeles Times, became the twelfth Music Director of the DSO during the 2008-09 season and acclaimed conductor, arranger, and trumpeter Jeff Tyzik was appointed Principal Pops Conductor in November 2012. The DSO’s performance schedule includes Classical, Pops, Jazz, Young People’s, Neighborhood concerts, and collaborations with chart-topping musicians from Smokey Robinson to Kid Rock.

A commitment to broadcast innovation began in 1922 when the DSO became the first orchestra in the world to present a radio broadcast and continues today with the free Live from Orchestra Hall webcast series. Making its home at historic Orchestra Hall at the Max M. Fisher Music Center, one of America’s most acoustically perfect concert halls, the DSO actively pursues a mission to impact and serve the community through music. For more information visit or download the free DSO to Go mobile app.

Leonard Slatkin
Internationally renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin is currently Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and of the Orchestre National de Lyon and Principal Guest Conductor of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. He is also the author of a new book entitled Conducting Business. His previous positions have included a seventeen-year tenure with the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, a twelve-year tenure with the National Symphony as well as titled positions with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic at the Hollywood Bowl, Philharmonia Orchestra of London, Nashville Symphony Orchestra and the New Orleans Philharmonic.

Always committed to young people, Leonard Slatkin founded the National Conducting Institute and the Saint Louis Symphony Youth Orchestra and continues to work with student orchestras around the world. Born in Los Angeles, where his parents, conductor-violinist Felix Slatkin and cellist Eleanor Aller, were founding members of the Hollywood String Quartet, he began his musical studies on the violin and studied conducting with his father, followed by training with Walter Susskind at Aspen and Jean Morel at the Juilliard School. His more than 100 recordings have brought seven GRAMMY® Awards and 64 GRAMMY® Award nominations. He has received many other honours, including the 2003 National Medal of Arts, France’s Chevalier of the Legion of Honour and the League of American Orchestras’ Gold Baton for service to American music.

Booklet for Copland: Appalachian Spring & Hear Ye! Hear Ye!

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO