Honey Harper & The Infinite Sky Honey Harper

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 11.00
  • 1Reflections03:52
  • 2Ain't No Cowboys In Georgia02:32
  • 3Broken Token02:38
  • 4One Thing02:43
  • 5Tired of Feeling Good03:17
  • 6The World Moves03:47
  • 7Boots Mine Gold03:11
  • 8Hard To Make A Living03:20
  • 9Lake Song03:09
  • 10Crystal Heart03:39
  • 11Heaven Knows I Won't Be There04:02
  • 12Big Sky02:21
  • Total Runtime38:31

Info for Honey Harper & The Infinite Sky

Produced by Fussell and co-founder Alana Pagnutti and mixed by Joel Ford (Ford and Lopatin, Yes/And), Honey Harper and The Infinite Sky features the premiere of The Infinite Sky, a stacked backing band consisting of longtime bassist and contributing writer Mick Mayer, pianist John Carroll Kirby (Solange, Steve Lacy), Spoon keyboardist Alex Fischel, guitarist Jackson MacIntosh (Drugdealer, Jessica Pratt), pedal-steel player Connor Gallaher (Black Lips, Calexico), and TOPS drummer Riley Fleck.

Within the first few moments of the self-titled new album, Honey Harper and The Infinite Sky deliver a dashed-off statement on the trappings of country music. Despite the high level of conceptualization that went into its creation, the record embodies an irresistibly loose and groove-heavy sound that hits with an immediate impact. While previous album Starmaker was touted as “country music for people who don’t like country music,” Honey Harper & The Infinite Sky is “country music for everyone.”

"Track after glorious track pours forth, often seeming to end too soon and leaving the listener wanting more. The last track ‘Big Sky ’is like a coda with the repeated gospel-style chorus “Big Sky in your window” before the long outro of wordless chorus, tinkling piano and assorted guitars. You can almost imagine a cloud being lifted from Fussell’s anxieties, and it is a nice allusion to the band’s name. Apparently, the band had 26 songs available to put on the album – a pity they didn’t use more of them, but it bodes well for the next outing. They hope to promote this album with a live tour, and if the sound is anything like the album, people are in for a treat. Reviewers have described their last album as country music for people who don’t like country music. This is country music for everyone and should rank high in any list of contenders for album of the year." (Fred Arnold, americana-uk.com)

Honey Harper

Honey Harper
Harper’s debut album, “Starmaker,” to be released March 6 on ATO Records, comes as a collection of contradictions in both subject matter and style. It was written with his wife and writing partner, Alana Pagnutti, and recorded over the past three years in Paris, Budapest (with the Hungarian Studio Orchestra), and London (his current home) with co-producer Katie O’Neill. The album itself is primarily about the journey to create it. Its self-awareness is largely the result of Harper’s inner monologues about his fear of failure, desire for success, and the toll that journey has taken on him and his loved ones. It’s an attempt at honesty through the veil of a country singer lost in the stars.

Born William Fussell in Adel, Georgia, he was raised in Atlanta before moving to London, England with his wife in 2015. In 2017, after years of playing in a shoe-gaze band and an art-pop solo project he decided to return to his roots in country music and released “Universal Country,” a critically acclaimed 4-track EP with Montreal’s Arbutus Records. Since then he has been digging in and recording “Starmaker,” which he describes as a “celestial honky-tonk” combining the already famous ideology of Gram Parson’s Cosmic Country with an aesthetic to match. The blending of the ethereal, floating FM synthesizers combined with pedal steel and a classic country twang bring about a marriage reminiscent of Brian Eno’s “Apollo” with a George Jones greatest hits compilation.

With album appearances from Sébastian Tellier, Austra, and John Kirby, the contrast of the songs becomes even more apparent and set Honey Harper apart to become the torch-bearer for a revitalized country sound.

Honey Harper is the cowboy angel making songs you never knew you wanted.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO