#WeAreBrahms Mattia Zappa

Album info



Label: Universal Music Italia srL.

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Mattia Zappa

Composer: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897): Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99:
  • 1Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99: 1. Allegro vivace09:19
  • 2Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99: 2. Adagio affettuoso06:59
  • 3Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99: 3. Allegro passionato07:37
  • 4Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99: 4. Allegro molto04:56
  • Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38
  • 5Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38: 1. Allegro non troppo14:50
  • 6Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38: 2. Allegretto quasi minuetto05:54
  • 7Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38: 3. Allegro - Più presto07:05
  • Total Runtime56:40

Info for #WeAreBrahms

The Brahmsian path of Mattia Zappa and Massimiliano Mainolfi began 25 years ago at the Julliard School in New York. Today, twenty-five years after their first dedicated recording, the great German genius arrives after this close-knit duo has traveled the world playing in the most important concert halls, from Carnagie Hall in New York to the Philharmonie in Berlin. An album to listen to that confirms the great chamber music skills already highlighted in “Silent Wood”, in their debut album on Decca.

Mattia Zappa, violoncello
Massimiliano Nainolfi, piano

Mattia Zappa
Following his Matura and subsequent BA from Lugano Conservatory, and with the support of foundations such as the Migros-Patrons and Pierino Ambrosoli Foundation Zurich, the swiss cellist continued his musical studies in the soloist's class of Harvey Shapiro at the renowned Juilliard School in New York. Mattia Zappa received his soloist's diploma from Basel Academy of Music after studies under the tutelage of Thomas Demenga. There followed a Master for Sonata Repertoire at the Accademia Pianistica Di Imola (Bologna) under the direction of Pier Narciso Masi. Masterclasses by Ralph Kirshbaum, Steven Isserlis, Andras Schiff, and Maria Curcio in England. In 1997 he was awarded a European music fellowship for "artistic talent and outstanding accomplishment" with his interpretation of Tchaikowsky's Rococo Variations. Mattia Zappa is a member of the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra since 2000. He performs numerous duo recitals together with the Italian pianist Massimiliano Mainolfi, together with whom he gave his Carnegie Hall debut in March 2001. This was followed by his debut at the chamber music hall of the Berlin Philharmonic. The duo Zappa.Mainolfi have performed at important European centers in Germany, Holland, Belgium, Scandinavia, France, South Africa, Switzerland and Italy. Zappa is the winner of various international chamber music competitions including the Premio Vittorio Gui (Florence), the G.B. Viotti (Vercelli) and the Concorso Città di Pinerolo (Turin). He has also recorded for radio (including Swiss Radio and DeutschlandRadioBerlin) and on CD for DECCA Italy, Guild, Lyra Classica and Claves labels. Mattia Zappa plays a wonderful Gabbrielli-Cello made in Florence in 1758 and a Pirmin Gabriel (Lucerne 2017). Mattia plays the complete cycle of Johann Sebastian Bach's Six Suites for Violoncello Solo.2012-2017 Mattia Zappa has been professor at the Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana in Lugano for cello and chamber music, and he gives regularly masterclasses in Italy, South Africa and Switzerland.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO