Debussy: Préludes, Books 1 & 2 Jacopo Salvatori

Album info



Label: OnClassical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Jacopo Salvatori

Composer: Claude Debussy (1862–1918)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 15.40
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Préludes, Book 1, L. 117:
  • 1No. 1, Danseuses de Delphes03:41
  • 2No. 2, Voiles05:09
  • 3No. 3, Le vent dans la plaine02:26
  • 4No. 4, Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir04:01
  • 5No. 5, Les collines d'Anacapri03:49
  • 6No. 6, Des pas sur la neige04:21
  • 7No. 7, Ce qu'a vu le vent d'ouest03:39
  • 8No. 8, La fille aux cheveux de lin02:27
  • 9No. 9, La sérénade interrompue02:42
  • 10No. 10, La cathédrale engloutie06:44
  • 11No. 11, La danse de Puck03:48
  • 12No. 12, Minstrels02:30
  • Préludes, Book 2, L. 123:
  • 13No. 1, Brouillards04:15
  • 14No. 2, Feuilles mortes03:20
  • 15No. 3, La puerta del vino03:31
  • 16No. 4, Les fées sont d'exquises danseuses03:54
  • 17No. 5, Bruyères03:31
  • 18No. 6, Général Lavine (Eccentric)02:55
  • 19No. 7, La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune04:38
  • 20No. 8, Ondine04:40
  • 21No. 9, Hommage à S. Pickwick Esq. P.P.M.P.C02:52
  • 22No. 10, Canope03:48
  • 23No. 11, Les tierces alternées03:19
  • 24No. 12, Feux d'artifice05:10
  • Total Runtime01:31:10

Info for Debussy: Préludes, Books 1 & 2

Written between 1909 and 1913, Préludes are probably Claude Debussy's most important work for piano. It consists in a series of 24 short pieces, equally subdivided into two books.

Unlike Chopin's, Bach's and many other composer's homonymous series, these pieces aren't sorted by key signature. Debussy gave a title to all of the 24 preludes and decided to place them at the end of each piece. This choice is mainly addressed to the performer to encourage him to find his own interpretation but it also points out that it's the music here that will suggest the titles and not vice versa. Being certainly the peak of maturity in Debussy's musical experience, these pieces also carry the youthful energy of the author's early pieces. This combination of both aspects of Debussy's personal style gives this music an unique feature: here, music and dramaturgy express and support each other mutually, letting each idea unfold and develop achieving a brilliant balance between its strong inspiration sources and Debussy's consumate mastery of composing. Such quality is rarely to find in the repertoire of concert music, making Préludes a milestone for musicians of all sorts.

Jacopo Salvatori, piano

Recorded 2017 at Saletta acustica 'Eric James', Pove del Grappa
Engineered by Alessandro Simonetto

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO