Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: The Wave Quartet

Composer: Sting (Gordon Sumner), Avner Dorman (1975), Georges Bizet (1838-1875)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Georges Bizet (1838 - 1875): Carmen Suite:
  • 1Carmen Suite: I. Introduction (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)01:49
  • 2Carmen Suite: II. Dance (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)02:14
  • 3Carmen Suite No. 2: V. La garde montante (Chorus of Street Boys, Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion)00:30
  • 4Carmen Suite: III. Changing of the Guard (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)01:30
  • 5Carmen Suite: IV. Carmen's Entrance (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)01:34
  • 6Carmen Suite: V. Habanera (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)03:01
  • 7Carmen Suite: VI. Scene - Tempo precedente. Andante (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)01:54
  • 8Carmen Suite: VII. Intermezzo. Larghetto (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)02:51
  • 9Carmen Suite: VIII. Bolero - Torero (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)02:33
  • 10Carmen Suite: IX. Adagio, Con moto (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)04:12
  • 11Carmen Suite: X. Scene, Pesante, Andante (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)02:48
  • 12Carmen Suite: XI. Finale (Arr. for 4 Marimbas and Percussion by Rodion Shchedrin)01:56
  • Edward Christopher Sheeran (b. 1991): Perfect:
  • 13Perfect (Arr. for 4 Marimbas)04:48
  • Gordon Matthew Sumner (b. 1951): Message in a Bottle:
  • 14Message in a Bottle (Arr. for 4 Marimbas)03:12
  • Suzanne Vega (b. 1959): Gypsy :
  • 15Gypsy (Arr. for 4 Marimbas)03:40
  • Avner Dorman (b. 1975): Udakrep Akubrad:
  • 16Udakrep Akubrad (Arr. for 3 Marimbas and Percussion)08:31
  • Total Runtime47:03

Info for Carmen

Dem Wave Quartet gelingt es immer wieder, Bekanntes völlig neu und interessant erklingen zu lassen. So hat das Ensemble bei seinem Sony Classical-Debüt mit den Cembalo-Konzerten von Johann Sebastian Bach im eigenen Arrangement für Marimba-Ensemble und Orchester begeistert: "Musikalisch hat diese neue Einspielung etliche Reize zu bieten (...), berückend entrückend, meditativ, zeitanhaltend. Die Prägnanz, mit der das Wave Quartet spielt, zählt sicherlich zu den besonderen Qualitäten." (Fono Forum) Beim zweiten Album des Wave Quartets steht jetzt die vielleicht populärste Frauenfigur der Operngeschichte im Mittelpunkt. Es ist die "Carmen" aus Georges Bizets gleichnamigem Welthit. Fast ein Jahrhundert später richtete der russische Komponist Rodion Schtschedrin die Highlights aus Bizets Oper zu einer "Carmen-Suite" für Streichorchester und Schlagzeug ein. Diese Fassung hat nun das Wave Quartet für vier Marimbas arrangiert. Auf diese insgesamt 25 Minuten langen Opern-Ohrwürmer lässt das Ensemble Bearbeitungen von Pop-Hits folgen. Ausgewählt hat das Ensemble Ed Sheerans "Perfect", Stings "Message in a Bottle" sowie Suzanne Vegas "Gypsy". Zumindest vom Titel her nimmt denn auch Suzanne Vegas Song "Gypsy" Bezug auf die Zigeunerin Carmen. "Udacrep Akubrad", ein Stück des israelischen Komponisten Avner Dorman, in einem Arrangement für drei Marimbas sowie Percussion beschließt das Album. Diese Mischung aus Opern-, Pop- und einem Schlagzeug-Klassiker-Arrangement spiegelt das musikalische Selbstverständnis des Wave Quartets wider, wie Bogdan Bacanu stellvertretend für seine Kollegen betont: "Angesprochen sind alle Leute, die Musik mögen. Unsere Musik geht ins Ohr! Wir agieren in diesem Sinne 'barrierefrei'."

The Wave Quartet

The Wave Quartet
In 2008 Bogdan Bacanu – high in demand internationally as a marimba soloist and then the youngest professor of marimba – founded the Wave Quartet so that it could play Johann Sebastian Bach’s concertos for two harpsichords on four marimbas. The Wave Quartet debuted at Konzerthaus Berlin with ARD Competition prize winner Christoph Sietzen as well as Emiko Uchiyama and Vladi Petrov, who have won prizes at international competitions as a duo. Further concerts and master classes have taken the quartet to many countries all across Europe as well as to Asia, where the rather unusual ensemble was immediately given an enthusiastic reception by audiences. While still in Berlin, the quartet devoted itself to its great passion for Baroque music, performing the C major Concerto for Two Harpsichords, BWV1061a, on four marimbas. The performance earned rave reviews from the audience and critics not least because of the ensemble’s respectful and historically informed interpretation. Baroque music has been a mainstay in the ensemble’s repertoire ever since, leading to collaboration with Salzburg’s Mozarteum Orchestra at the Salzburg Festspielhaus or the Romanian National Symphony Orchestra at Bucharest’s Romanian Athenaeum. The ensemble’s debut CD, Aurora Borealis, was released in 2008, followed a year later by a recording of all three Bach concertos for two harpsichords with conductor Peter Sadlo and the Salzburg Baroque ensemble Originalklang!orchester. The next CD, Senza Ripieno, was released in 2011 and featured rarely heard treasures from the Baroque period without other instrumental accompaniment, creating an intimate recital disc. The quartet performs exclusively on Adams Musical Instruments marimbas.

Booklet for Carmen

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO