French Sonatas for Harpsichord and Violin Johannes Pramsohler & Philippe Grisvard

Cover French Sonatas for Harpsichord and Violin

Album info



Label: Audax Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Johannes Pramsohler & Philippe Grisvard

Composer: Jean-Joseph Cassanéa Mondonville, Louis-Gabriel Guillemain (1705-1770), Jacques Duphly (1715-1789), Michel Corrette, Claude Balbastre, Luc Marchand, Charles-François Clément

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.50
  • Jean-Joseph Cassanéa Mondonville (1711 - 1772): Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 3:
  • 1Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 3: I. Ouverture. Grave - Allegro02:54
  • 2Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 3: II. Aria02:18
  • 3Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 3: III. Giga allegro02:47
  • Louis-Gabriel Guillemain (1705 - 1770): Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 13:
  • 4Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 13: I. Allegro05:01
  • 5Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 13: II. Aria un poco allegro05:42
  • 6Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 13: III. Allegro05:19
  • Jacques Duphly (1715 - 1789): Première Suite avec accompagnement de violon en La Mineur:
  • 7Première Suite avec accompagnement de violon en La Mineur: I. La de Casaubon02:49
  • 8Première Suite avec accompagnement de violon en La Mineur: II. La du Tailly02:52
  • 9Première Suite avec accompagnement de violon en La Mineur: III. La de Valmalette02:52
  • Michel Corrette (1707 - 1795): Sonata No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 25:
  • 10Sonata No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 25: I. Allegro03:11
  • 11Sonata No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 25: II. Affetuoso02:07
  • 12Sonata No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 25: III. Presto02:50
  • 13Sonata No. 6 in G Minor, Op. 13: I. Allegro04:06
  • 14Sonata No. 6 in G Minor, Op. 13: II. Aria Gratioso06:14
  • 15Sonata No. 6 in G Minor, Op. 13: III. Allegro assai03:49
  • Claude Balbastre (1724 - 1799): Sonata I in G Major:
  • 16Sonata I in G Major: I. Allegro02:49
  • 17Sonata I in G Major: II. Aria Gratioso03:06
  • 18Sonata I in G Major: III. Allegro03:24
  • Luc Marchand (1709 - 1799): Première Suite in A Minor, Op. 1:
  • 19Première Suite in A Minor, Op. 1: I. Ouverture. Gravement - Gay03:54
  • 20Première Suite in A Minor, Op. 1: II. La Misterieuse. Affectueusement03:41
  • 21Première Suite in A Minor, Op. 1: III. Carillon du Parnasse05:05
  • Jean-Joseph Cassanéa Mondonville: Sonata No. 6 in A Major, Op. 3:
  • 22Sonata No. 6 in A Major, Op. 3: I. Concerto. Allegro03:11
  • 23Sonata No. 6 in A Major, Op. 3: II. Larghetto04:10
  • 24Sonata No. 6 in A Major, Op. 3: III. Giga. Allegro02:33
  • Jacques Duphly: Troisième livre de Pièces de Clavecin:
  • 25Troisième livre de Pièces de Clavecin: I. Ouverture. Grave - Viste03:13
  • 26Troisième livre de Pièces de Clavecin: II. La de May03:07
  • 27Troisième livre de Pièces de Clavecin: III. La Madin02:59
  • Louis-Gabriel Guillemain: Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 13:
  • 28Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 13: I. Allegro03:48
  • 29Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 13: II. Aria Gratioso un poco Allegro03:36
  • 30Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 13: III. Presto03:25
  • Charles-François Clément (1720 - 1782): Sonata I in C Minor:
  • 31Sonata I in C Minor: I. Allegro ma non troppo03:09
  • 32Sonata I in C Minor: II. Aria affettuoso02:01
  • 33Sonata I in C Minor: III. Allegro03:46
  • Total Runtime01:55:48

Info for French Sonatas for Harpsichord and Violin

Sonatas for violin and obligato harpsichord by Guillemain, Mondonville, Corrette, Duphly, Marchand, Balbastre and Clément. Powerful, elegant, and refined - In 1740, with the op. 4 of Jean-Joseph Cassan a de Mondonville, a new genre appeared on the scene in France, a genre that was to fundamentally overturn the relationship to the harpsichord - until then a continuo instrument when it was not playing alone: the Pieces de clavecin en sonates avec accompagnement de violon.

Contrary to what the title might suggest, the two instruments engage in a dialogue as equals. Unknowingly, Mondonville imitated the Sei Suonate Cembalo certato e Violino solo that Bach had composed ten years earlier. Moreover, he introduced a thoroughly Italian flavour - certainly an echo of the concertos by Corelli and Vivadli that at the time were often heard at the Concert Spirituel. The following decade then experienced a veritable rage for this form: Corrette, Guillemain, Balbastre, and others put their visions of the theme on paper - each in a very personal manner.

The “Dream Team” (Early Music Review), made up of the two indefatigable researchers Philippe Grisvard and Johannes Pramsohler, has rediscovered this neglected part of the violin-harpsichord repertoire and now presents a captivating selection of the genre’s best works in world premiere recordings on an opulent double album.

Philippe Grisvard, harpsichord
Johannes Pramsohler, violin

Johannes Pramsohler
Born in South Tyrol and now living in Paris, baroque violinist Johannes Pramsohler has in recent years become one of the most versatile representatives of his profession.

As artistic director and first violin of the Ensemble Diderot, which he founded in 2009, he brings to life unknown repertoire with great precision and a keen sense for significant rarities. The ensemble’s debut recording of chamber music from the Dresden court of August the Strong received international acclaim.

As concertmaster, Johannes has collaborated with The King’s Consort, Le Concert d’Astrée, the European Union Baroque Orchestra, the International Baroque Players, and as a guest of the Berlin Philharmonic with its early music ensemble Concerto Melante. As soloist, Johannes recently performed under Iván Fischer with the Budapest Festival Orchestra and with the Taiwan Baroque Orchestra. Recitals with chamber music partners such as Philippe Grisvard (harpsichord) and Jadran Duncumb (lute) take him to Europe’s concert halls on a regular basis.

His first solo CD, of world premiere recordings of violin concertos from Dresden, was nominated for the International Classical Music Award. A desire for artistic independence even in the recording studio led Johannes to found his own CD label in 2013. The first recording released by Audax Records, of works by Corelli, Telemann, Handel, Leclair, and Albicastro, was nominated for the Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (German Record Critics’ Award). Audax Records has since released four more CDs to great critical acclaim.

Johannes studied with such renowned teachers as Georg Egger, Jack Glickman, and Rachel Podger. His collaboration with Reinhard Goebel continues to the present day, and is an important source of inspiration for his work. He was a prizewinner at the Magdeburg International Telemann Competition. Since 2008, Johannes has had the honour of owning Reinhard Goebel’s violin, a P. G. Rogeri made in 1713.

Philippe Grisvard
was born in Nancy in 1980. There he studied piano and oboe before entering the harpsichord class of Anne-Catherine Bücher. In 1999 he got into the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, where he studied harpsichord and basso continuo with Jesper Christensen, and pianoforte with Edoardo Torbianelli. From 2002 he's called to join La Cetra Barockorchester Basel where he has played under the direction of René Jacobs, Jordi Savall, Konrad Junghänel. After getting his diploma he becomes the harpsichordist of the ensemble Harmonie Universelle, leaded by Florian Deuter; with this group he plays as continuist and soliste threw Europe and US and does recordings for eloquentia - Telemann and Fasch quartets and quintets, Pachelbel's works for strings, and some Vivaldi's youth violin concertos in world première.

Now Philippe lives in Paris and also plays with Le Poème Harmonique, Le Concert d'Astrée and The Chamber Orchestra of Europe, La Fenice, Le Cercle de l'Harmonie, Les Paladins.

Booklet for French Sonatas for Harpsichord and Violin

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO