Franz Liszt: Metanoia Beatrice Berrut

Album info



Label: Aparté

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 17.90
  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886): Années de pèlerinage II, S. 161:
  • 1VII. Après une lecture du Dante. Fantasia quasi Sonata17:30
  • 2Ballade No. 1 in D-Flat Major, S. 17007:48
  • 3Ballade No. 2 in B Minor, S. 17114:46
  • Années de pèlerinage I, S. 160:
  • 4VI. Vallée d'Obermann14:56
  • Consolations, S. 172:
  • 5I. Andante con mot01:28
  • 6II. Un poco più mosso03:18
  • 7III. Lento placido04:39
  • 8IV. Quasi adagio03:24
  • 9V. Andantino02:26
  • 10VI. Allegreto sempre cantabile03:05
  • Total Runtime01:13:20

Info for Franz Liszt: Metanoia

In his life as in his work, Liszt's music represents a stylised struggle between good and evil; light and darkness. His writing, which may at times be described as Manichean, nevertheless explores all the pains and joys that a human soul can experience and creates an unbreakable thread between feelings that are very remote from each other. Liszt s metanoia: his courageous path towards light and serenity, provides a touching and liberating example of a man who assumed his consuming passions and sublimated them in the works he created. An intimate lecture of Liszt's soul by Swiss pianist Béatrice Berrut. Recorded in Paris by Nicolas Bartholomée on a Bösendorfer piano in April 2016.

Béatrice Berrut, piano

Beatrice Berrut
Described by the international press as "a revelation, an exceptional pianist", whose "transcendent playing revels in multiple layers of genius and beauty", Beatrice is considered one of the most talented artists of her generation.

She has played numerous concerts throughout Europe and America at prestigious venues (the Berlin Philharmony, the Preston Bradley Hall of Chicago, the Wigmore Hall in London, the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, Victoria Hall in Geneva, Teatro Coliseo of Buenos Aires, the Cleveland Museum of Arts...) in recital as well as a soloist with orchestras such as the Orchestra della Svizerra Italiana, the North Czech Philharmonic, the Camerata Menuhin, the Berliner Kammerphilharmonie, the Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra, the United Nations Orchestra…

Beatrice was born in the Swiss canton of Valais in 1985, and and after studying at the Conservatoire de Lausanne and at the Heinrich Neuhaus Foundation in Zurich she graduated from the Hochschule für Musik "Hanns Eisler" in Berlin, where she studied with Galina Iwanzowa. She was awarded an Artist Diploma in John O’Conor’s class at the Royal Irish Academy of Music in Dublin.

She also appears regularly on television (ARTE, France 3, RTS, Sat3, ZDF, Tv Berlin, Canal9) and on Swiss, German, US, French, Belgian and Canadian radios (BBC3, WFMT Chicago, CWKR, France Musique, Espace 2, RTBF…).

Her discography is internationally acclaimed, and whereas Fanfare Record Magazine compares her playing to Horowitz, French magazine Diapason praises her “silvery sound, her warm and charming playing”.

In 2005 Beatrice was personally invited by Gidon Kremer to play several concerts at his festival in Basel, and she regulary appears with first class partners such as Shlomo Mintz, Itzhak Perlman, Frans Helmerson and Mihaela Martin. She has been as well collaborating with French-Belgian cellist Camille Thomas since years now.

Her career has been granted numerous awards - the “Revelacion” prize 2011 of the Argentinian Critics’ Association, Geneva’s Arts Society’s Prize in 2006, The Förderpreis of the State of Valais, as well as the Griffon culturel of the Association du Chablais (CH).

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO