Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection" Philharmonia Orchestra & Santtu-matias Rouvali

Cover Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor 'Resurrection'

Album info



Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Philharmonia Orchestra & Santtu-matias Rouvali

Composer: Gustav Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Gustav Mahler (1860 - 1911): Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection":
  • 1Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": I. Allegro maestoso21:55
  • 2Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": II. Andante moderato09:46
  • 3Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": III. In ruhig fliessender Bewergung09:19
  • 4Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": IV. Urlicht' - Sehr feierlich,aber schlicht04:57
  • 5Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": V. (a) Im Tempo des Scherzo19:48
  • 6Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": V. (b) Langsam Misterioso 'Aufersteh'n06:04
  • 7Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection": V. (c) Etwas bewegter 'O glaube, Mein Herz'09:25
  • Total Runtime01:21:14

Info for Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection"

Mahler's Symphony No. 2 can be viewed in the context of two trilogies. Together with his Symphonies 1 and 3, it formed what Mahler called his "passion" trilogy, into which he had poured his "lifeblood" - themes of life, death and nature are interwoven and are interwoven between the three works. Symphony No. 2 was also grouped with the two symphonies that followed as "the Wunderhorn symphonies" because of their close relationship to his settings of the folk poetry collection Das Knaben Wunderhorn. But the Resurrection Symphony also acts as a drama in its own right: a thrilling theatrical conception that encompasses the extremes of human spiritual experience, from nihilistic darkness to radiant light. Although Mahler's early symphonies do not tell a precise story, the initial thought was that the 'hero' of Mahler's first symphony is seen at his funeral in the opening of the second 'Funeral Steps' (although this subtitle was later removed). But Mahler's focus was on philosophical themes rather than storytelling, and he later sought to eliminate extra-musical interpretations altogether, declaring: 'Away with programmes, they give a false picture! Let the public form their own thoughts."

Philharmonia Orchestra
Santtu-Matias Rouvali, conductor

Santtu-Matias Rouvali
will succeed Esa-Pekka Salonen as Principal Conductor in the 2021/22 season. He continues as Chief Conductor of Gothenburg Symphony, and retains his longstanding Chief Conductor position with Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra close to his home in Finland.

His international profile continues to flourish, with debuts this season with New York Philharmonic, Berlin Philharmonic and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in wide-ranging repertoire. In New York he conducts the New York premiere of Bryce Dessner’s Wires, and at the Concertgebouw he conducts the world premiere of a new piece by Theo Verbey, as well as Stravinsky’s Oedipus Rex. In Berlin he is looking forward to performing Ravel’s piano concerto in G minor with Alice Sara Ott, alongside Sieblius Symphony 1.

He has built a loyal following internationally; after successful tour concerts in Vienna with Gothenburg Symphony last season he returns there to conduct the Wiener Symphoniker and Nicola Benedetti. In 19/20 he returns to several orchestras across Europe, including the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. Rouvali’s Gothenburg season opened with a programme featuring Leif Ove Andsnes, the orchestra’s Artist in Residence for 2019/20.

Following last season’s successful tour of Germany and Austria with Alice Sara Ott and Martin Grubinger, Rouvali and Gothenburg Symphony are back on the road in February 2020 touring Japan. Together with violinist Fumiaki Miura and pianist Mari Kodama, they perform works by Shostakovich, Beethoven and Sibelius across eight major cities from Fukuoka to Tokyo.

Rouvali also accompanied the Philharmonia Orchestra on a tour to the Canary Islands in January 2020, performing in Gran Canaria and Tenerife as part of the Canary Islands Festival. In London, highlights of his Philharmoni season include extracts from Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake, Prokofiev’s Symphony 5 as well as Sibelius Symphony 5, alongside soloists Nikolay Lugansky, Behzod Aburaimov and Nemanja Radulovic.

Booklet for Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor "Resurrection"

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO