Levina: Chamber Music Maria Lettberg

Album info



Label: CapriccioNR

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 15.00
  • Zara Aleksandrovna Levina (1906 - 1976):
  • 1Piano Sonata No. 105:51
  • 2Poem (Version for Viola & Piano)03:29
  • Violin Sonata No. 2:
  • 3Violin Sonata No. 2: I. Allegretto04:23
  • 4Violin Sonata No. 2: II. Andante07:01
  • 5Violin Sonata No. 2: III. Allegro con brio04:33
  • 3 Klavierstücke:
  • 63 Klavierstücke: No. 1, Wiegenlied05:23
  • 73 Klavierstücke: No. 2, Tanz02:46
  • 83 Klavierstücke: No. 3, Toccata04:25
  • Maria Levina:
  • 9Phantasie nach baskirischen Themen05:59
  • Zara Aleksandrovna Levina: Piano Sonata No. 2:
  • 10Kanzonetta05:00
  • 11Piano Sonata No. 2: I. Allegretto04:31
  • 12Piano Sonata No. 2: II. Andante06:26
  • 13Piano Sonata No. 2: III. Allegro04:17
  • 14Hebräische Rhapsodie (Arr. K. Tchemberdji for Piano 4 Hands)11:06
  • Total Runtime01:15:10

Info for Levina: Chamber Music

Zara Alexandrovna Levina, born 1906 in Alexandrovsk (Ukraine), witnessed two world wars, the Revolution as well as the collapse and totalitarian reconstruction of her homeland. She was under the constant ideological pressure of the existentially threatening state censorship, which was particularly exerted by the notorious RAPM (Russian Association of Proletarian Musicians) in the 1920s and 1930s, driving her to the brink of a creative and health disaster. However, Zara Levina was able to retain her own and unmistakable voice in her music. She died in Moscow on 1976 as a respected and much-performed composer beloved of musicians such as David Oistrakh, Maria Grinberg, Victor Knuschewitzki and the public alike. Vocal works like her romances meanwhile belong to the salient repertoire of Russian music. Pianist Maria Lettberg breathes life into these world premiere recordings.

Maria Lettberg, piano
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Ariane Matiakh, conductor

Maria Lettberg
was born in Riga as the daughter of a professor of Russian literature and a mathematician. Her instrument has been an integral part of her life since she was seven years old. At the age of nine she made her first public appearance playing Beethoven’s Second Piano Concerto. Maria is Swedish and has lived in Berlin for several years. She speaks five languages.

Ms Lettberg`s talent was recognised and nurtured at an early age; she went straight from the central Latvian elite school for musically gifted children to the Petersburg Conservatory. There, she was able to develop her personality as a pianist considerably and perfect her virtuoso technique until she graduated with distinction in her concert examination.

Following her concert examination, she took the conscious decision to forgo what seemed so obvious; to try to make a name in the worldwide competitive arena. Instead of perfecting a repertoire to compete in this arena, she made good use of the freedom which scholarships afforded her to develop musically by participating in further courses of study, master classes and individual programmes (Royal College in Stockholm; Sibelius Academy, Helsinki). In this way she was able to widen her repertoire and to deepen her musical interests. Important teachers included Tatjana Zagorovskaja, Andrej Gavrilov, Paul Badura-Skoda, Menachem Pressler, Emanuel Krasovsky, Roland Pöntinen und Matti Raekallio.

Her most important achievement so far has been --- besides a large number of solo recitals, orchestra and chamber music performances, and radio and television programmes --- the recording of Alexander Scriabin`s complete Solo-Piano work, in autumn 2007.

Maria Lettberg became known to the German public because of her work on Scriabin`s Piano Solos and the concerts and regular radio broadcasts which accompanied the recordings. These recordings were a cooperation between Deutschland radio Kultur and Capriccio.

The positive experience in the intensive exploration of Scriabin`s work motivated Maria Lettberg to continue working in this direction recording, discovering and creatively reviving important composers who interested her.

In 2008 the first part (Piano Concertos) of Alfred Schnittke`s music was released in collaboration with Ewa Kupiec and the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin conducted by Frank Strobel.

In April 2011 Maria Lettberg presented the piano compositions of the Finnish composer Erkki Melartin in a set of two CDs, which she recorded for Deutschland radio Kultur in a co-production with Delta/Crystal Classics.

In the meantime, Maria Lettberg has recorded the second part of the programme in cooperation again with Deutschland radio Kultur and Phoenix Edition: “Music for Piano and Orchestra” with the RSO conducted by Frank Strobel and Schnittke`s “Piano Trio” and “Piano Quartet” with the Petersen Quartet.

The fresh impulses which these recordings have generated have enriched Maria Lettberg`s wide repertoire. A personal selection of favoured composers such as Brahms, Schumann, Liszt and Chopin, but also Ravel and Debussy, Scriabin and Schnittke or Bach make for a very interesting concert programme with virtuoso elements and a musically coded idea.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO