Weitz: Complete Organ Works Peter Van De Velde

Cover Weitz: Complete Organ Works

Album info



Label: Aeolus

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.80
  • Guy Weitz (1883 - 1970):
  • 1Fanfare and gothic march05:03
  • Two Pieces for the Organ based on Plainchant Motives:
  • 2I. Ave Regina02:18
  • 3II. Benedicite Dominum02:22
  • Prière "Prelude on Salve Regina":
  • 4Prière "Prelude on Salve Regina"06:59
  • Christmas Rhapsody:
  • 5Christmas Rhapsody07:19
  • De Profundis clamavi:
  • 6De Profundis clamavi05:48
  • In Paradisum:
  • 7In Paradisum08:17
  • Mortify us by thy grace:
  • 8Mortify us by thy grace02:59
  • Sicilienne:
  • 9Sicilienne04:35
  • Grand-Choeur:
  • 10Grand-Choeur04:36
  • Joseph Jongen (1873 - 1953): Quatre Pièces, Op. 37:
  • 11I. Cantabile06:02
  • 12II. Improvisation-Caprice06:56
  • 13III. Prière09:01
  • 14IV. Choral04:29
  • Toccata, Op. 104:
  • 15Toccata, Op. 10404:40
  • Guy Weitz (1883 - 1970): First Symphony for Organ:
  • 16I. Regina Pacis06:08
  • 17II. Mater Dolorosa04:35
  • 18III. Stella Maris08:05
  • Second Symphony for Organ:
  • 19I. Symphonic movement09:04
  • 20II. Passacaille07:54
  • 21III. Prologue and Scherzo07:17
  • 22IV. Procession08:18
  • 23V. Finale06:29
  • Paraphrase on "Regina Coeli Laetare":
  • 24Paraphrase on "Regina Coeli Laetare"03:48
  • Joseph Jongen (1873 - 1953): Sonata Eroïca, Op. 94:
  • 25Sonata Eroïca, Op. 9416:27
  • Total Runtime02:39:29

Info for Weitz: Complete Organ Works

AEOLUS continues it's successful cooperation with the Belgian organist and titular of the Cathedral of Antwerp Peter Van de Velde and presents with this new double-album the complete organ works of the Belgian composer Guy Weitz (1883-1970).

The album is enriched by some major organ works of the well-known Weitz contemporary Joseph Jongen (1873-1953). This double album was recorded on the organs of Antwerp Cathedral (Pierre Schyven, 1891, last recording before its restoration in 2014) and of the Laurentius Church of Antwerp (Pels & Son, 1934), a huge building mounted in the 1932 in art deco style. Aeolus' famous state-of-the-art recording technique assures a perfect rendition of the generous acoustics of both church buildings and underlines the consistently symphonic character of these post romantic works.

Guy Weitz was born on September 5, 1883 in Verviers (B). His musical talent soon led him to the Conservatory of Liège (Liege). In appreciation of his exceptional talent, he received a scholarship to continue his studies at the Schola Cantorum in Paris. Among his teachers were Alexandre Guilmant and Vincent d'Indy. He also took private lessons with Widor. Upon his return to Belgium in 1909, he became organist in Verviers and Liege. When Germany invaded Belgium in 1914 Weitz fled with his wife and two children to London.

In 1917 he was appointed organist at the Church of the Immaculate Conception - known as Farm Street Church. He held this position almost half a century. His fame grew with his concerts for the International Radio BBC. Moreover he recorded some 78 RPM LPs in 1926 for His Masters Voice, which became a real sales success (these recordings have been partially re-released on CD).

Weitz ' first works for the organ clearly show the influence of the French symphonic style. As a concert organist, he often performs works by Franck, Widor and Vierne, while he does not seem to be interested in new compositions by Dupré, Messiaen or Tournemire. However, the deeply religious Guy Weitz shares Tournemire's passion for Gregorian plain song which is omnipresent in his musical cosmos. Even though Weitz spent the major part of his life in London - his works reveals no English influence.

With this new complete recording of Weitz' organ music the german label Aeolus fills a current gap in the CD repertoire and transfers this task to an expert for Belgian organ music: Peter Van de Velde, who has already recorded several acclaimed recordings for Aeolus (works by Flor Peeters and Paul de Maleingreau). The grandiose Sonata Eroica by Joseph Jongen, his four pieces and his Toccata op.104 are far more than just "fillers" and allow for an interesting comparison of the works of the two Belgians.

This premium-quality album comes with a 6 pages full color PocketPac and 36 pages full color booklet.

Peter Van De Velde, organ

Pierre Schyven organ (1891), Liebfrauenkathedrale, Antwerpen, Belgium

Peter Van de Velde
Titular Organist of Our Lady's cathedral of Antwerp (B)

Peter Van de Velde ranks as the fifth organist of the romantic Schyven organ of Antwerp Cathedral. Joseph Callaerts was the first organist (from 1891 to 1901), followed by Gustaaf Brees (from 1901 to 1926), Alex Paepen (from 1926 to 1962) and Stanislas Deriemaeker (from 1962 to 2002).

Peter Van de Velde (* 1972) started his organ-studies by himself at the age of nine. At the age of twelve he became organist at the local church in the little Flemish village of Doel. He received his first musical tuition at the Antwerp Academy of Fine Arts. He was awarded first prize for music notation and concluded his organ studies at the Academy with highest honours. He went on to pursue his studies at the Royal Antwerp Conservatory of Music where he won several first prizes in addition to other comparable awards. In 1996, as last pupil of Stanislas Deriemaeker, his studies at the Conservatory earned him a Masters degree. During the course of his studies, and also thereafter, he followed various master classes for the organ with emphasis on the art of improvisation and performance technique.

Since early 2002, in his capacity as Cathedral organist he plays regularly on both the romantic Schyven organ (1891) and the classical Metzler organ (1993). He also holds the position of organist at the church of Saint Michael in Antwerp.

Booklet for Weitz: Complete Organ Works

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO