Cover Journey To Mozart

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Christoph Willibald von Gluck (1714 - 1787): Orfeo ed Euridice, Wq. 30 / Act 2:
  • 1Dance Of The Furies04:03
  • 2Dance Of The Blessed Spirits (Arr. For Violin Solo And Chamber Orchestra By Olivier Fourés)05:12
  • Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809): Concerto For Violin And Orchestra In G Major, Hob. VIIa:4:
  • 31. Allegro moderato08:16
  • 42. Adagio - Cadenza: Ferdinand Küchler06:49
  • 53. Allegro03:30
  • Josef Myslivecek (1737 - 1781): Concerto For Violin And Orchestra In D Major:
  • 62. Larghetto03:39
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Violin Concerto No.3 In G Major, K.216:
  • 71. Allegro - Cadenza: Daniel Hope08:34
  • 82. Adagio - Cadenza: Franz Beyer07:43
  • 93. Rondeau. Allegro06:16
  • 10Adagio For Violin And Orchestra In E Major, K. 261 - Cadenza: Daniel Hope07:06
  • Johann Peter Salomon (1745 - 1815):
  • 11Romance For Violin And Strings In D Major04:48
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791):
  • 123. Alla Turca (Arr. For Violin Solo And Chamber Orchestra By Olivier Fourés)03:26
  • Total Runtime01:09:22

Info for Journey To Mozart

With Journey to Mozart, Daniel Hope turns to core classical repertoire again, exploring the world of Mozart, as well as composers that inspired him and vice versa.

“This album is a reflection of the age seen through my eyes and heard through my ears.” But the only works to be included here are by composers whom publicly acknowledged Mozart and who were connected to him personally.

Journey to Mozart is a personal exploration of the composer’s world, that includes not only favourite works by the master, but also music by contemporaries, including Haydn, Myslivecek and Gluck. For Daniel Hope, Mozart remains both an inspiration and an enigma: “Every time I play him I can only shake my head, because I can’t even begin to fathom the scale of his genius.”

The album consists of two popular Violin Concertos by Haydn and Mozart, as well as the famous Mozart Adagio in E-Major.

With this album Daniel Hope continues his fruitful relationship as musical director of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra.

“Each time I play Mozart with someone, I get to know Mozart from a very different angle. In Zurich I’m currently experiencing this in an extremely exciting way. Our journey together has lasted many years already, but now we’re undertaking it as a family.”

The album ends with a magnificent arrangement of the famous Alla turca, newly arranged for Violin and Orchestra.

Daniel has also rediscovered Mozart himself on this journey: “He is the greatest inspiration and at the same time the biggest riddle for me. Each time I engage with Mozart, I notice how much we can all learn from him, but just when you think that you’ve understood him, you realize that you’re further away from him than ever. You should never think ‘I’ve got you, Mozart’.”

Zurich Chamber Orchestra
Daniel Hope, violin

Daniel Hope
British violinist Daniel Hope has toured the world as a virtuoso soloist for more than twenty years, and as the youngest ever member of the Beaux Arts Trio during its last six seasons. He is renowned for his musical versatility and creativity and for his dedication to humanitarian causes. Hope performs as soloist with the world’s major orchestras and conductors, directs many ensembles from the violin, and plays chamber music in a wide variety of traditional and new venues. Raised in London and educated at Highgate School, Hope earned degrees at the Royal Academy of Music, where he studied with renowned Russian pedagogue Zakhar Bron.

London’s Observer called Hope “the most exciting British string player since Jacqueline du Pré,” and recent New York Times reviews summarized his unique attributes: “... a violinist of probing intellect and commanding style... In a business that likes tidy boxes drawn around its commodities, the British violinist Daniel Hope resists categorization.’

Daniel Hope, an exclusive Deutsche Grammophon artist since 2007, has earned numerous Grammy nominations, a Classical BRIT award, the Deutsche Schallplattenpreis and five ECHO Klassik Prizes. He previously recorded for Warner Classics and Nimbus, playing Bach, Britten, Elgar, Finzi, Foulds, Ireland, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Penderecki, Schnittke, Shostakovich, Tippett, Walton, and Weill. His recording of the Berg Violin Concerto was voted to be the “best available of all time” by Gramophone Magazine in 2010. His Mendelssohn CD for Deutsche Grammophon featuring the Violin Concerto and Octet was voted one of the finest Mendelssohn recordings by the New York Times in 2009. His recent release for Deutsche Grammophon was a tribute to the great and highly influential violinist and composer Joseph Joachim (1831- 1907) and centred around the Bruch concerto, a work with which Joachim was closely associated. The Bruch was recorded with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra under Sakari Oramo. "Four Seasons Recomposed" – the newest release in DG’s “Recomposed” series presents Daniel Hope with the Berlin Konzerthaus Chamber Orchestra, conducted by André de Ridder, in a world première recording of British composer Max Richter’s." Spheres" – which is Hope’s own project, due out in early 2013 – is a curated collection of repertoire celebrating the idea, first brought forward by Pythagoras, that planetary movement creates its own kind of music. This idea has fascinated philosophers, musicians, and mathematicians for centuries. The CD’s program includes music in a variety of styles, from Baroque to minimalist, by Bach, Faure, contemporary masters like Arvo Pärt and Michael Nyman, and younger composers who have specially composed new works for Hope, based on the idea of spherical music. These include Gabriel Prokofiev, Ludovico Einaudi, Alex Baranowski and Aleksey Igudesmann. Hope is joined by the Berlin Rundfunk-choir under the direction of Simon Halsey on this disc.

Hope regularly directs chamber orchestras as violin soloist with ensembles including the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Camerata Salzburg, and Lucerne Festival Strings. He has performed at the world’s most important festivals, such as the BBC Proms, Hollywood Bowl and the Lucerne, Ravinia, Salzburg, Schleswig-Holstein, and Tanglewood festivals. Daniel Hope has performed in all of the world’s most prestigious venues and with the world’s great orchestras. Highlights include the Boston Symphony, Chicago Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic and Toronto Symphony Orchestras, as well as the major orchestras of Berlin, Birmingham, Dallas, Detroit, Dresden, Israel, London, Moscow, Oslo, Paris, Stockholm, and Vienna. He is Associate Music Director of the Savannah Music Festival and Artistic Director at the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Summer Festival in Germany. He has also published three bestselling books.

Daniel Hope plays the 1742 “ex-Lipiński” Guarneri del Gesù, placed generously at his disposal by an anonymous family from Germany. The instrument carries the name of its owner, the 19th century Polish violinist Karol Lipiński, who shared the stage with Paganini, Schumann and Liszt.

Booklet for Journey To Mozart

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO