Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 17.50
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 - 1759): Messiah, HWV 56, Pt. 1:
  • 1Sinfonia. Grave - Allegro moderato03:37
  • 2Comfort Ye, Comfort Ye My People02:33
  • 3Ev'ry Valley Shall Be Exalted03:21
  • 4And the Glory of the Lord Shall Be Revealed02:35
  • 5Thus Saith the Lord01:31
  • 6But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming04:01
  • 7And He Shall Purify the Sons of Levi02:31
  • 8Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive00:29
  • 9O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion05:07
  • 10For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth02:20
  • 11The People That Walked in Darkness Have Seen a Great Light03:09
  • 12For unto Us a Child Is Born04:04
  • 13Pastoral Symphony00:53
  • 14There Were Shepherds Abiding in the Field00:14
  • 15And Lo, the Angel of the Lord00:21
  • 16And the Angel Said unto Them00:38
  • 17And Suddenly There Was the Angel00:18
  • 18Glory to God in the Highest02:04
  • 19Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter of Zion04:45
  • 20Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind Be Open'd00:28
  • 21He Shall Feed His Flock05:21
  • 22His Yoke Is Easy02:24
  • Messiah, HWV 56, Pt. 2:
  • 23Behold the Lamb of God02:56
  • 24He Was Despised and Rejected of Men05:11
  • 25Surely, He Hath Borne Our Griefs and Carried Our Sorrows01:54
  • 26And with His Stripes We Are Healed01:49
  • 27All We like Sheep Have Gone Astray03:56
  • 28All They That See Him Laugh00:43
  • 29He Trusted in God That He Would Deliver Him02:20
  • 30Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart01:42
  • 31Behold, and See If There Be Any Sorrow01:16
  • 32He Was Cut Off out of the Land00:16
  • 33But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul in Hell02:07
  • 34Lift Up Your Heads03:13
  • 35The Lord Gave the Word01:00
  • 36How Beautiful Are the Feet of Him That Bringeth Glad Tidings of Salvation02:07
  • 37Why Do the Nations So Furiously Rage Together02:52
  • 38Let Us Break Their Bonds01:48
  • 39He That Dwelleth in Heaven Shall Laugh Them to Scorn00:15
  • 40Thou Shalt Break Them with a Rod of Iron01:55
  • 41Hallelujah!03:48
  • Messiah, HWV 56, Pt. 3:
  • 42I Know That My Redeemer Liveth06:16
  • 43Since by Man Came Death02:07
  • 44Behold, I Tell You a Mystery00:35
  • 45The Trumpet Shall Sound04:10
  • 46Worthy Is the Lamb That Was Slain06:58
  • Total Runtime01:53:58

Info for Handel: Messiah, HWV 56

Experience the transcendent glory of Messiah in Sir Andrew Davis’s majestic, must-hear edition of Handel’s beloved classic. Recorded live on SACD, this unique version makes use of all the colours available from the modern symphony orchestra to underline the mood and meaning of the individual movements. Without detracting from the innate power of the original, the conductor’s score calls for moments of drama, pathos, and even, sometimes, whimsicality. It is supported by substantial brass and woodwind forces, and several percussion instruments (including marimba!).

As he explains in a very personal booklet note, this leading British conductor brings immense dedication to what is probably the most famous piece of British sacred music ever composed, this version being one which he has conducted live only a few times, including on this recording. He confesses: ‘Everything I have done instrumentally stems from the enormous respect, even awe, which I feel towards this supreme masterpiece’.

“... The Toronto Symphony Orchestra plays with terrific spirit, especially the brass, and there are four excellent soloists including Britain’s Andrew Staples ...” (Richard Morrison, The Times)

“... the performance (recorded live in Toronto last December) has an unfailingly lyrical flow and dramatic immediacy that communicates nothing but pure love, faith and joy – the genuine Handelian spirit... “For Unto Us a Child Is Born” and “All We Like Sheep” are highlights, sung by the superb 150-strong Toronto Mendelssohn Choir with a fugal exhilaration that doesn’t preclude exemplary diction and precision. They are the stars of the show, but all four soloists are excellent too... this is a performance of Messiah that deserves to rank in the catalogue with the very finest.” (Rupert Christiansen, Daily Telegraph)

Erin Wall, soprano
Elizabeth DeShong, mezzo-soprano
Andrew Staples, tenor
John Relyea, bass-baritone
Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
Toronto Symphony Orchestra
Andrew Davis, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO