Cavalli: L'amore innamorato Christina Pluhar

Cover Cavalli: L'amore innamorato

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Francesco Cavalli (1602-1676):
  • 1L'Ormindo: L'Armonia (Prologo)07:47
  • 2Il Giasone: Sinfonia02:31
  • 3La Calisto, Act 1: "Piante ombrose"03:06
  • 4La Calisto, Act 3: "Restino imbalsamate"04:20
  • 5La Rosinda, Act 3: "Vieni, vieni in questo seno"03:39
  • 6La Calisto, Act 1: "Verginella io morir vo'"03:53
  • 7La Calisto, Act 1: "Ninfa bella"03:36
  • 8La Calisto, Act 1: "Non è maggior piacere"04:38
  • 9L'Artemisia, Act 3: "Dammi morte"04:33
  • 10L'Eliogabalo: Sinfonia02:18
  • 11L'Artemisia, Act 2: "Affliggetemi, guai dolenti"02:22
  • 12L'Ormindo, Act 2: "Che città"03:34
  • Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger (ca.1581-1651):
  • 13Libro quarto d'intavolatura di chitarrone: Toccata prima (44.1kHz)05:30
  • Francesco Cavalli:
  • 14La Didone, Act 1: "Alle ruine del mio regno"07:07
  • 15La Didone, Act 1: "L'alma fiacca svanì"04:22
  • Andrea Falconieri (1585-1656):
  • 16Il primo libro di canzone, sinfonie: "La suave melodia" (44.1kHz)03:29
  • Total Runtime01:06:45

Info for Cavalli: L'amore innamorato

With L'Amore innammorato - 'Love in Love' - Christina Pluhar and L'Arpeggiata return to their own first great love, Italian Music of the 17th century, and specifically to composer Francesco Cavalli (1602-1676). Aria by this luminary of the glamorous world of Venetian opera are sung here by sopranos Nuria Rial and Hana Blazikova and accompanied by the instrumentalists of L'Arpeggiata, building on the composer's indications to create their own sumptuous realisation of the score.

A luminary of the glamorous and innovative world of Venetian opera, Cavalli was a protégé of Claudio Monteverdi – the composer around whom L’Arpeggiata built Il teatro d’amore, the ensemble’s first Warner Classics album, which was released in early 2009. “Cavalli’s music excites my passions”, says Christina Pluhar. He composed some 40 operas, some of which have achieved new currency since the 1960s, such as La Calisto, Il Giasone, L’Egisto and L’Ormindo and La Didone. Arias and instrumental numbers from six of his operas feature in L’Amore innamorato. The instrumentalists of L’Arpeggiata are joined for the album – which also includes pieces by two of Cavalli’s contemporaries, Girolamo Kapsperger and Andrea Falconieri – by two sopranos, the Catalan Núria Rial and the Czech Hana Blažíková.

While L’Arpeggiata’s recent Warner Classics CDs – Music for a While, Mediterraneo, Los Pájaros perdidos and Via Crucis – have explored fusions of cultures and musical styles, L’Amore innamorato adheres to the conventions of historically informed performance of Baroque music. The members of the ensemble use stringed, keyboard, wind and percussion instruments to flesh out Cavalli’s score, which comprises only a vocal line, basso continuo and indications for the ritornello (a recurring instrumental section). As Christina Pluhar points out, the line-up of instruments is unusually lavish: she herself performs on theorbo and harp and is joined by the other players who create a sumptuous soundworld, accompanying arias for goddesses and nymphs with a fascinating array of instruments: cornetto, violin, archlute, guitar, harp, psaltery, viola da gamba, lirone, cello, violone, double bass, organ, harpsichord and percussion.

Nuria Rial, soprano
Blaziková, soprano
Christina Pluhar, direction

Christina Pluhar
After studying guitar in her home city of Graz, Christina Pluhar graduated in lute with Toyohiko Sato at the Hague Conservatoire. She was awarded with the 'Diplôme Supérieur de Perfectionnement' at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis with Hopkinson Smith. Then she studied with Mara Galassi at the Scuola Civica di Milano.

In 1992 she won the 1st Prize in the International Old Music Competition of Malmö with the ensemble La Fenice.

She lives in Paris since 1992, where she performs as a soloist and continuo player in prestigious festivals with famous groups such as La Fenice, Concerto Soave, Accordone, Elyma, Les Musiciens du Louvre, Ricercar, Akademia, La Grande Ecurie et la Chambre du Roy, Concerto Köln, and in ensembles directed by René Jacobs, Ivor Bolton, Alessandro di Marchi. Her repertoire includes solo and continuo works from the 16th to 18th centuries for Renaissance lute, Baroque guitar, archlute, theorbo and Baroque harp.

Since 1993 she gives master classes at Graz University, as well as baroque harp classes at the Conservatoire of The Hague since 1999.

In 2000 she founded the Arpeggiata ensemble. For ten years Christina and her Ensemble have been recording CDs as La Tarantella, All’Improvviso, Los Impossibles, Teatro d’amore and playing all over Europe.

She devotes a lot of time to the Ensemble L’Arpeggiata, as she is not only conductor and musician on stage, but she builds the programs herself and spends a lot of time doing researches too, necessary preliminary work to L’Arpeggiata’s concerts and CDs.

In 2010, she was celebrating the 10th birthday of the Ensemble she created with numerous concerts in France and Europe.

Booklet for Cavalli: L'amore innamorato

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO