Rossiniana: Themes, Variations & Fantasias Elena Antongirolami & Melissa Galosi

Cover Rossiniana: Themes, Variations & Fantasias

Album info



Label: Dynamic

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Elena Antongirolami & Melissa Galosi

Composer: Gioachino Rossini (1792–1868), Ignaz Moscheles (1794–1870), Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco (1895-1968), Jacques Offenbach (1819–1880), Bohuslav Martinů (1890–1959), Friedrich August Kummer (1797–1879)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.20
  • Gioacchino Rossini (1792 - 1868):
  • 1Péchés de vieillesse, Vol. 14: No. 12, Allegro agitato in A Minor (Reconstr. G.J. Joerg for Cello & Piano)05:01
  • Ignaz Moscheles (1794 - 1870):
  • 2Feuillet d'album de Rossini, Op. 138b (Version for Cello & Piano)08:44
  • Gioacchino Rossini:
  • 3Il barbiere di Siviglia: Largo al factotum (Arr. M. Castelnuovo-Tedesco for Cello & Piano)06:28
  • Friedrich August Kummer (1797 - 1879):
  • 4Reminiscences des opéras de Rossini et de Bellini, Op. 74 (Reconstr. L. Lugli for Cello & Piano)09:08
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890 - 1959):
  • 5Variations on a Theme of Rossini, H. 29008:27
  • Jacques Offenbach (1819 - 1880):
  • 6Hommage à Rossini (Arr. J.C. Keck for Cello & Piano)14:43
  • Gioacchino Rossini:
  • 7Péchés de vieillesse, Vol. 9: No. 10, Une larme10:38
  • Total Runtime01:03:09

Info for Rossiniana: Themes, Variations & Fantasias

This debut album of duo Antongirolami-Galosi features a collection of works for cello and piano both by and about Rossini. It's a homage to the maestro's great legacy (Rossini was also a skilled cellist), with both performers and composer hailing from the same native region. The programme on this release includes themes, variations and fantasias on music composed by Rossini himself, including some less well known chamber pieces, as well as music composed in the Rossinian style by 19th- and 20th-century composers.

Antongirolami and Galosi have played as a duo since 2013 and perform at various festivals in Italy.

Elena Antongirolami, cello
Melissa Galosi, piano

Elena Antongirolami
My name is Elena Antongirolami and I am a classical cellist from Italy.

I spent a big part of my life studying: I have a master in Violoncello, a master in Chamber Music and I attended many courses and masterclasses with famous cellists and musicians from all over the world.

I play as a soloist, in chamber groups and in orchestras. Indeed, I believe that these are three fundamental aspects - all equally important - of my professional and personal growth. Even though, since I particularly enjoy playing with others, you can find me very often as a part of chamber and orchestral ensembles, such as the cello-piano duo that I founded in 2013 with Melissa Galosi, and the FORM Orchestra (Orchestra Filarmonica Marchigiana), where I regularly play since 2016.

Melissa Galosi
studied piano under the guidance of Enrico Belli with whom she graduated cum laude at the G. B. Pergolesi Conservatory of Fermo. She attended masterclasses of Gustav Kuhn, Antonio Ballista, L. F. Tagliavini, Pernarciso Masi, Benedetto Lupo, Andrea Lucchesini.

Moreover, she attended several editions of the Perpianosolo Meeting, where she had the chance to meet and work with composers (Marco DI Bari, Gilberto Cappelli, Fabio Vacchi, Adriano Guarnieri), pianists (Giorgia Tomassi, Lukas Vondracek, Antii Sirala, Dejan Lazic, Fredrik Ullen, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Cristina Ortiz), fortepianists (Edoardo Torbianelli), harpsichordists (Ruggero Laganà).

Melissa has a sincere interest in contemporary music, in fact she took part in many monographic projects like the complete Mikrokosmos by Bartok, the complete Sonatas and Interludes by Cage, the complete piano music of Tonino Tesei. She played concertos by Mozart (in A major K 414 and in E flat major K 271), Chopin (no. 2 op. 21), Bach (E major BWV 1053) in renowned Italian theatres such as Teatro Lauro Rossi in Macerata and Teatro dell’Aquila in Fermo.

Melissa is also a keen chamber music player: she is part of the Duo Rosamunde together with cellist Elena Antongirolami. The Duo Rosamunde explores the established repertoire as well as the contemporary one and is currently involved in transcription projects. At present, she is collaborating with Professor Cesare Catà in poetry readings and literary shows in which she curates the musical area, playing pieces by Bach, Satie, Cage, Kurtag, and other contemporary composers such as Arnalds, Richter, O’Hallaran.

Melissa is a music teacher in two public schools and she has a long-term collaboration with Perpianosolo School of Music where she teaches piano and baby music.

Booklet for Rossiniana: Themes, Variations & Fantasias

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO