Buxtehude: Salvator Mundi Ricercar Consort & Philippe Pierlot

Cover Buxtehude: Salvator Mundi

Album info



Label: Mirare

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Ricercar Consort & Philippe Pierlot

Composer: Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Dietrich Buxtehude (1637 - 1707): Jesu, meines Lebens Leben, BuxWV 62:
  • 1Buxtehude: Jesu, meines Lebens Leben, BuxWV 6206:38
  • Fürwahr, er trug unsere Krankheit aus, BuxWV 31:
  • 2Buxtehude: Fürwahr, er trug unsere Krankheit aus, BuxWV 3112:50
  • Ich bin die Auferstehung und das Leben, BuxWV 44:
  • 3Buxtehude: Ich bin die Auferstehung und das Leben, BuxWV 4406:21
  • Laudate pueri Dominum, BuxWV 69:
  • 4Buxtehude: Laudate pueri Dominum, BuxWV 6905:57
  • Befiehl dem Engel, daß er komm, BuxWV 10:
  • 5Buxtehude: Befiehl dem Engel, daß er komm, BuxWV 1005:16
  • Quemadmodum desiderat cervus, BuxWV 92:
  • 6Buxtehude: Quemadmodum desiderat cervus, BuxWV 9206:44
  • Herr, ich lasse dich nicht, BuxWV 36:
  • 7Buxtehude: Herr, ich lasse dich nicht, BuxWV 3608:53
  • Herzlich Lieb Hab Ich Dich, O Herr, BuxWV 41:
  • 8Buxtehude: Herzlich Lieb Hab Ich Dich, O Herr, BuxWV 41: No. 1, Versus. Herzlich Lieb hab ich dich o Herr04:20
  • 9Buxtehude: Herzlich Lieb Hab Ich Dich, O Herr, BuxWV 41: No. 2, Versus. Es ist ja, Herr, dein Geschenk und Gab08:37
  • 10Buxtehude: Herzlich Lieb Hab Ich Dich, O Herr, BuxWV 41: No. 3, Versus. Ach Herr, laβ dein' lieb Engelein06:45
  • Total Runtime01:12:21

Info for Buxtehude: Salvator Mundi

Four years after the superb ‘Membra Jesu nostri’, the Ricercar Consort once again turns to Buxtehude.The majority of the cantatas in this recording are centred on Christ’s Passion and Resurrection. With the both dramatic and comforting sounds of his cantatas, Buxtehude succeeded in shifting the focus from human suffering to divine help, thus giving people a foretaste of heavenly harmony and perfection.

Ricercar Consort
Philippe Pierlot, conductor

Philippe Pierlot
was born in Liège. After teaching himself the guitar and the lute, he turned to the viola da gamba, which he studied with Wieland Kuijken. He is active in the fields of chamber music, oratorio, and opera, and divides his activities between viola da gamba and conducting. He has edited and revived a number of operas, including Monteverdi’s Il ritorno d’Ulisse (given at the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels, Lincoln Center in New York, the Hebbel-Theater in Berlin, the Melbourne Festival and La Fenice in Venice, among other venues) and the Sémélé of Marin Marais, as well as Bach’s St Mark Passion. With his ensemble Ricercar Consort he records for the French label Mirare. His most recent CDs have been devoted to Purcell’s Fantazias for viols, Bach cantatas, and music for viol by Couperin. Philippe Pierlot is a professor at the Conservatories of Brussels and The Hague.

Ricercar Consort
In 1985 the Ricercar Consort made its first concert tour with Bach’s Musical Offering. The ensemble soon acquired an international reputation, notably in the domain of German Baroque cantatas and instrumental music. It gave many concerts with such singers as Henri Ledroit, Max van Egmond and James Bowman and recorded some fifty discs, among them the complete works of little-known composers like Nikolaus Bruhns and Matthias Weckmann. Today the ensemble is directed by Philippe Pierlot. Alongside large-scale productions such as, in recent years, operas by Provenzale (La Stellidaura), Monteverdi (Il ritorno d’Ulisse) and Telemann (Don Quichotte) and sacred works including Bach’s Passions and cantatas, Handel cantatas and Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater, it also performs chamber repertoire focusing essentially on music for consort of viols. In 2006 Les Folles Journées of Nantes, Lisbon and Bilbao invited the Ricercar Consort to perform Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas. The ensemble then accompanied the soprano Céline Scheen to Tokyo to perform Mozart’s Exsultate, jubilate, and gave a Marin Marais programme at the Opéra Royal de Versailles. It returned to the same venue in 2007 to perform motets by Dumont and Charpentier with Collegium Vocale Gent. After appearing at the Brussels Bach Académie 2007 in cantatas by Bruhns, the group went on to record a second volume of early Bach cantatas. Its disc of Bach’s Magnificat and Mass in G minor, released in the autumn of 2009, won the prestigious prize of the Académie Charles Cros the following year.

The Ricercar Consort receives support from the Communauté Française de Belgique. It performs at leading festivals such as Boston, Edinburgh, Utrecht, and Tokyo and Warsaw (Handel opera arias). It recently gave the St John Passion at the Collège des Bernardins in Paris.

Booklet for Buxtehude: Salvator Mundi

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO