Cover British

Album info



Label: Coviello Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: argovia philharmonic, Douglas Bostock

Composer: Edward Elgar (1857-1934), Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958), Gustav Holst (1874–1934)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 9.00
  • Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934):
  • 1Froissart, Op. 1913:23
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958): Symphony No. 5 in D Major:
  • 2I. Preludio10:45
  • 3II. Scherzo04:52
  • 4III. Romanza11:27
  • 5IV. Passacaglia10:06
  • Gustav Holst (1874-1934): Japanese Suite, Op. 33:
  • 6Prelude. Song of the Fisherman02:44
  • 7Ceremonial Dance01:55
  • 8Dance of the Marionette01:55
  • 9Interlude. Song of the Fisherman00:49
  • 10Dance Under the Cherry Tree03:00
  • 11Finale. Dance of the Wolves02:03
  • Total Runtime01:02:59

Info for British

It took a long time, until there was a British original musical language in the symphonical music. Edward Elgar was then the man who finally created something like the typical British „National tone“. A generation later Ralph Vaughan Williams continued on this way with his symphonies. His contemporary Gustav Holst extended it to apply to the enthusiasm for Far Eastern at that time.

The argovia philharmonic, under the conduction of Douglas Bostock, presents these works on their latest recording.

argovia philharmonic
Douglas Bostock, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for British

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO