Major & minor Oslo String Quartet

Cover Major & minor

Album info



Label: 2L

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 176.4 $ 21.40
FLAC 88.2 $ 17.30
DSD 64 $ 21.40
MQA $ 22.40
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Quartet no. 11 in F minor op. 95:
  • 1Quartet no. 11 in F minor op. 95: I. Allegro con brio04:30
  • 2Quartet no. 11 in F minor op. 95: II. Allegretto ma non troppo07:09
  • 3Quartet no. 11 in F minor op. 95: III. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso. Piu Allegro04:41
  • 4Quartet no. 11 in F minor op. 95: IV. Larghetto espressivo. Allegretto agitato. Allegro04:53
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Quartet no. 15 in G major D887 op. 161:
  • 5Quartet no. 15 in G major D887 op. 161: I. Allegro molto moderato14:44
  • 6Quartet no. 15 in G major D887 op. 161: II. Andante un poco moto11:18
  • 7Quartet no. 15 in G major D887 op. 161: III. Scherzo allegro vivace – Trio allegretto06:51
  • 8Quartet no. 15 in G major D887 op. 161: IV. Allegro assai10:25
  • Total Runtime01:04:31

Info for Major & minor

The present recording features both one of the longest and one of the shortest quartets in the string quartet repertoire. There is no denying that Schubert´s last string quartet is great in every sense of the word, but Beethoven´s “Quartetto Serioso”, although minor in size, is by no means dwarfed by it when it comes to sheer artistic quality; both quartets are indeed major works and a staple on the diet of any string quartet of merit. Even so, the concept of minor and major immediately springs to mind when contemplating putting these two completely different masterpieces on the same album. Duration apart, there is the obvious question of tonality: one work in F minor, the other in G major, which is simple enough and by itself justifies the album title. But things get more complicated the moment we subject the two works to a closer scrutiny.

Oslo String Quartet

Oslo String Quartet
is widely recognized as one of the most versatile string quartets of our day. Since it was founded in 1991 it has established a reputation as an ensemble that unites high artistic standards with a degree of playfulness and an absolute integrity. The quartet's concerts and recordings have consistently received acclaim, both by the public and by critics. The Oslo String Quartet plays on instruments loaned by Dextra Musica and the ensemble is supported by Arts Council Norway. The current members of the quartet are Geir Inge Lotsberg and Liv Hilde Klokk (violins), Are Sandbakken (viola) and Øystein Sonstad (cello).

Booklet for Major & minor

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO