Bach & Chopin: Confluences Josep Colom

Cover Bach & Chopin: Confluences

Album info



Label: Eudora Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Josep Colom

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750), Frederic Francois Chopin ((1810-1849)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 15.40
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
MQA $ 15.40
DSD 64 $ 15.40
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 1Prelude No. 1 in C major BWV 846 02:02
  • Frédéric François Chopin (1810 - 1849):
  • 2Étude in C major op.10/1 01:33
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 3Prelude No. 15 in G major BWV 860 00:53
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 4Étude in G at major op.10/5 02:13
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 5Prelude No. 10 in E minor BWV 855 02:52
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 6Étude in E at minor op.10/6 03:04
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 7Prelude No. 15 in G major BWV 884 01:16
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 8Étude in F minor op.10/9 02:56
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 9Prelude No. 3 in C arp major BWV 848 01:43
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 10Étude in C arp minor op.10/4 02:18
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 11Prelude No. 9 in E major BWV 854 01:48
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 12No urne op.9/3 07:19
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 13Prelude No. 14 in F arp minor BWV 883 00:00
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 14No urne op.48/2 07:17
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 15Prelude No. 20 in A minor BWV 889 02:48
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 16Étude in A minor op.10/2 01:51
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 17Prelude No. 5 in D major BWV 850 01:32
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 18Étude in F major op.10/803:13
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 19Prelude No. 6 in D minor BWV 851 01:33
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 20Étude in F minor op.25/2 01:58
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 21Prelude No. 21 in B at major BWV 866 01:37
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 22Étude in E at major op.10/11 02:40
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 23Prelude No. 8 in E at minor BWV 853 04:37
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 24No urne op.48/1 07:24
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 25Prelude No. 2 in C minor BWV 847 01:19
  • Frédéric François Chopin:
  • 26Étude in C minor op.25/12 - Con uence 05:52
  • Total Runtime01:13:38

Info for Bach & Chopin: Confluences

Bach’s influence on Chopin’s music is apparently subtle yet powerful. Ever since the Polish master was introduced to Bach’s compositions by his first teacher, Adalbert Zywny, Chopin constantly turned to Bach as a supreme point of reference. This influence, which can be detected at various levels throughout his works, is at the core of this recording. Josep Colom’s exceptional vision and artistry brings out this two composer’s connection by pairing Bach’s Preludes and Chopin’s Études and Nocturnes and with the help of finely-drawn improvisatory passages that either connect a prelude to an étude or act as a transition into a new pairing.

Josep Colom, piano

Josep Colom
I was born in Barcelona in 1947. Unusually for that period in Spain, music was a big part of our everyday family life, as far back as I can remember. Thanks to this, and the unconditional emotional and financial support I received from my parents, who were not themselves professional musicians, I was able to choose my career path at an early age, and have enjoyed it ever since.

In my youth, I won a number of competitions. The Jaén and Santander International competitions (1977 and 1978 respectively) helped me begin to make a name for myself in Spain; many years later, the Spanish Ministry of Culture awarded me the National Music Prize, an accolade I’m particularly proud to have won because it represents the appreciation and endorsement of my colleagues in the profession. During the 1980s I gradually made more and more public appearances, and these days, as well as performing as a recital soloist and chamber musician, I play regularly with virtually all the Spanish orchestras under the baton of excellent conductors, at the country’s leading venues and festivals. I also play abroad quite frequently, especially in France, where I lived for a number of years during the 70s while studying at Paris’s École Normale de Musique, founded by Alfred Cortot. I’ve also made most of my recordings in France, for the Mandala label, with albums of music by composers as diverse as Brahms, Franck, Blasco de Nebra, Mompou and Falla, among others. RTVE has recently released both a DVD of a performance I gave of Prokofiev’s Third Piano Concerto and a CD of works by Chopin, Debussy and Ravel – live recordings from the Radio Clásica archive issued as part of a series entitled Grandes pianistas españoles. Despite the occasional imperfection here and there, I prefer live recordings for the greater authenticity they offer.

Throughout my career many other musicians have influenced my artistic development. One in particular that I’d like to mention is the composer (and, at the time, pianist) Joan Guinjoán who, when I was only nineteen, helped me develop a much more rational and structured way of approaching music and performance.

My reserved, introverted temperament means I feel most at home in the world of recital and chamber music, although I’ve never wanted to forego the chance to enjoy the wonders of the concerto repertoire. I’m not going to try to list all the orchestras, conductors, quartets and other musicians with whom I’ve shared great moments of music-making, because inevitably I’d leave some of them out, but I value each and every one of them immensely.

Teaching has become an increasingly important part of my life. Coming into contact with younger musicians has enabled me to rediscover the great piano repertoire with renewed enthusiasm. As well as giving regular masterclasses, I’ve also taught at the University of Alcalá de Henares since its music department opened in 1990, and at the Saragossa Conservatory and Valencia’s Musikeon, while in September 2012 I took up a post at Barcelona’s Liceu Conservatory.

I consider it a great privilege to be able to make music, and I am grateful to all those who have made the effort over the years to come and share this daily miracle with me.

Booklet for Bach & Chopin: Confluences

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO