Get Close (Remastered) Pretenders

Album info



Label: Warner Music Group

Genre: Pop

Subgenre: Pop Rock

Artist: Pretenders

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1My Baby04:07
  • 2When I Change My Life03:38
  • 3Light Of The Moon03:57
  • 4Dance04:45
  • 5Tradition Of Love05:24
  • 6Don't Get Me Wrong03:46
  • 7I Remember You02:39
  • 8How Much Did You Get For Your Soul?03:48
  • 9Chill Factor03:27
  • 10Hymn To Her04:57
  • 11Room Full Of Mirrors04:36
  • Total Runtime45:04

Info for Get Close (Remastered)

„Get Close“, the Pretenders fourth album, has its drawbacks. There are a few too many mid-tempo songs, the production is unnecessarily slick, and at least one song--the unconvincing funk put-down 'How Much Did You Get For Your Soul'--simply doesn't work.

Yet „Get Close“ still packs a considerable wallop. One may long for the punk panache head Pretender Chrissie Hynde displayed on the band's early records, but frankly, if she has to celebrate the joys of motherhood, we should be thankful that the resultant 'Hymn to Her' is such an exquisite a bit of neo-folk rock. (Gratitude is also the correct response to guitar god Robbie McIntosh's work throughout the album, which is, as usual, utterly succinct and thrilling).

Attention must also be paid to two of Hynde's loveliest ballads: the beguiling 'My Baby' and the Memphis soul-tinged 'Chill Factor.' A very effective cover of Jimi Hendrix's 'Room Full of Mirrors' closes the album. The cherry on top is the infectious 'Don't Get Me Wrong,' a Motown pastiche that's probably Hynde's most consistently ingratiating tune.

Chrissie Hynde, vocals, guitar
Robbie McIntosh, guitar
Shankar, violin
Wix, piano, keyboards, synthesizer
Bernie Worrell, organ, keyboards, synthesizer
Bruce Brody, organ
Rupert Black, keyboards
Pat Seymour, keyboards
Tommy Mandel, synthesizer
Blair Cunningham, drums, percussion
Simon Phillips, keyboards, drums
Martin Chambers, drums
Steve Jordan, drums, percussion
Mel Gaynor, drums
Chucho Merchán, percussion
Carlos Alomar, percussion

Recorded at AIR Recording Studios, London and Power Station, New York, New York
Engineered by Howard Gray, Bruce Lampcov
Produced by Jimmy Iovine, Bob Clearmountain, Steve Lillywhite

Digitally remastered

were formed in 1978 with singer Chrissie Hynde on vocals, Pete Farndon on bass, James Honeyman-Scott on guitar and Martin Chambers on drums.

They released two LP’s, Pretenders – which charted at #1 in the UK and #9 in the States - and Pretenders II, and one EP, Extended Play. The band enjoyed worldwide chart success with singles including Stop Your Sobbing, Kid, Brass In Pocket, Talk of The Town and I Go To Sleep. The band was constantly on the road and enjoyed heavy MTV rotation.

In 1982 they were dealt a difficult year: a parting of ways with Pete Farndon being swiftly followed by the death of James Honeyman-Scott. Pete’s death came a year later.

Subsequently the band’s line-up remained fluid and the band went on to release the albums Learning to Crawl, Get Close and Packed! between 1984 and 1990.

After a 4-year hiatus came the band’s next release Last of the Independents, followed in 1995 by Isle of View, a live acoustic album recorded over two nights in London with the Duke String Quartet.

1999 saw the release of Viva El Amor, the last album to be released on longtime label Warner Records, and their next album Loose Screw was released on Artemis Records in 2002.

Neil Young inducted the Pretenders into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005, and their next release, Break Up The Concrete, came in 2008.

The band have toured the world and performed in front of over 4 million people. Pretenders continue to play together.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO