Cover The Wind Rose

Album info



Label: Carpe Diem Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Arianna Savall, Petter Udland, Hirundo Maris

Composer: Petter U. Johansen, Tomàs Gracés, Henri du Bailly, Turlough O’Carolan, Arianna Savall

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.50
  • Petter Udland Johansen (b.1971):
  • 1Sea Fever04:15
  • Rafael Alberti (1902 - 1999):
  • 2Lamento de Chinita 03:54
  • Traditional American:
  • 3Oh, Shenandoah04:21
  • Turlough O’Carolan (1670 - 1738):
  • 4Carolan’s Suite08:34
  • Traditional English:
  • 5Scarborough Fair 06:33
  • Henri du Bailly (1587 - 1637):
  • 6Yo soy la locura04:24
  • Traditional Irish:
  • 7Fisher’s Hornpipe 05:16
  • Traditional Appalachian:
  • 8Sailor Boy02:28
  • Traditional Scottish:
  • 9House Carpenter 06:58
  • Latin Hymn (9th Century)
  • 10Ave Maris Stella05:17
  • Sephardic Traditional
  • 11Adío querida05:57
  • Traditional Scottish-Gaelic:
  • 12Ta mi sgìth07:08
  • Tomàs Gracés (1901 - 1993):
  • 13Cançó de bressol de la mar 05:05
  • Petter Udland Johansen:
  • 14Sidste Reis 04:17
  • Total Runtime01:14:27

Info for The Wind Rose

The third album of Arianna Savall, Petter Udland Johansen & Hirundo Maris on Carpe Diem Records is a musical journey along coasts and oceans, an ode to seafarers and travellers from ancient and modern times, to their lifes, hopes and dreams. The windrose points into all cardinal points, encompassing all different cultures and places on earth in its movement. At the same time, it can be a symbol for the inner travels of the human soul which may aim into all different directions and places throughout life. In this sense, the songs on this album connect inner and outer journeying through music and poetry, just as countries and people are connected through oceans, currents and winds.

Arianna Savall, soprano, baroque triple harp, romanic harp
Petter Udland Johansen, tenor, hardingfele, baroque violin, mandolin
Michal Nagy, guitar
Sveinung Lilleheier, guitar, dobro
Miquel Angel Cordero, colascione, double bass
David Mayoral, percussion

Arianna Savall
born in Switzerland, studied in Basel and Terrassa. She began studying early music performance practise with Rolf Lislevand at the Toulouse Conservatory in 1992. Between 1996 and 2001 she returned to Schola Cantorum Basiliensis for postgraduate studies in singing with Kurt Widmer and historical harp studies with Heidrun Rosenzweig, and in 2006/7 studied Spanish baroque harp with Andrew Lawrence-King in Barcelona. She made her debut as singer of baroque opera in Basel in 2000 performing the “Opera Seria” of Florian Leopold Gassmann. This was followed in 2002 by a highly successful Barcelona production of Moneverdi’s “Orfeo” directed by Jordi Savall, with Arianna as Eurydice. Her recordings with the Savall family and with Hespèrion XXI ensemble have received numerous awards. Arianna’s own albums for Alia Vox include “Bella Terra” (2003) and “Peiwoh” (2009), the latter also with contributions from Hirundo Maris’s Petter Udland Johansen and David Mayoral.

Petter Udland Johansen was born in Oslo, where he received his first voice and instrumental training. He graduated from the Norges Musikhøyskole, studying voice with Ingrid Bjoner and Svein Bjørkøy in 1996 and from Basel’s Schola Cantorum with Richard Levitt in 2000, making also additional studies with the tenor Hans Peter Blochwitz. His operatic and concert repertoire of classical music includes the works of Bach, Monteverdi, Mozart, and Mendelssohn as well as songs by Schubert, Grieg, Wolf, Mahler and Brahms. He has worked with conductors including Rinaldo Alessandrini, Jordi Savall, Pep Prats, Christer Løvold, Tom and Tobias Kjellum Gossmann. Groups with which he has given concerts and recordings include Sagene Ring, Capella Antiqua Bambergensis, Pratum Musicum, La Morra, Ferarra and Lucidarium. Together with Christer Løvold and Mark B. Lay, he founded the vocal trio Pechrima.

Booklet for The Wind Rose

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO