Cover Howells: Chamber Music

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 10.00
  • Herbert Howells (1892 - 1983): String Quartet No. 3 "In Gloucestershire":
  • 1String Quartet No. 3 "In Gloucestershire": I. With Easy and Flexible Movement09:20
  • 2String Quartet No. 3 "In Gloucestershire": II. Fairly Quick, but Always Rhythmical02:05
  • 3String Quartet No. 3 "In Gloucestershire": III. Slow in Pace, with Much Feeling08:27
  • 4String Quartet No. 3, "In Gloucestershire": IV. Allegro vivace - Assai ritmico08:32
  • Lady Audrey's Suite, Op. 19:
  • 5Lady Audrey's Suite, Op. 19: I. The 4 Sleepy Golliwogs' Dance04:50
  • 6Lady Audrey's Suite, Op. 19: II. The Little Girl and the Old Shepherd03:36
  • 7Lady Audrey's Suite, Op. 19: III. Prayer-Time08:26
  • 8Lady Audrey's Suite, Op. 19: IV. The Old Shepherd's Tale03:18
  • Piano Quartet in A Minor, Op. 21:
  • 9Piano Quartet in A Minor, Op. 21: I. Allegro moderato - Tranquillo10:50
  • 10Piano Quartet in A Minor, Op. 21: II. Lento, molto tranquillo08:28
  • 11Piano Quartet in A Minor, Op. 21: III. Allegro molto - Energico07:35
  • Total Runtime01:15:27

Info for Howells: Chamber Music

Herbert Howells style, immediately recognisable for its long melodic lines, rhapsodic nature and rich harmonies, defined the sound of English cathedral music in the 20th century. His studies in London imbued his works with sophistication and a French influence, which were intertwined with a nostalgic heart-ache for the real Gloucestershire, as can be heard in String Quartet No. 3. The charming little character stories in Lady Audreys Suite tell of countryside and church, while the Piano Quartet in A minor is dedicated To the Hill at Chosen and Ivor Gurney who knows it, portraying a favourite local vantage point at different seasons as well as poignantly remembering a lost friendship.

Dante Quartet (on tracks 1-8)
Gould Piano Trio (on tracks 9-11)
David Adams, viola (on tracks 9-11)

The Dante Quartet
Winner of the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Award for chamber music in 2007 and a BBC Music Magazine Award in 2009, the Dante Quartet is one of Britain’s finest ensembles. Founded in 1995, the quartet chose Dante’s name to reflect the idea of a great journey. Renowned for its imaginative programming and emotionally charged performances, the Dante Quartet appears at the major UK festivals and music societies, broadcasts on Radio 3 and has also toured France, Germany, Spain, Holland, Poland, Finland and Japan. The quartet has made four highly acclaimed recordings for Hyperion, and for seven years held a residency at King’s College Cambridge. Devoted to the core classics – including the complete Beethoven Quartet cycle – the Dante Quartet equally enjoys bringing to light new or neglected repertoire. Committed also to teaching, the Dante Quartet gives master classes in the UK and runs a high-level chamber music course in the South of France. The quartet has its own annual Dante Summer a Festival in the Tamar Valley, in which they create new musical projects and collaborations, attracting young people to chamber music and building up an enthusiastic audience in intimate and beautiful surroundings.

Booklet for Howells: Chamber Music

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO