Schumann: The Three Violin Sonatas Andrew Wan & Charles Richard-Hamelin

Cover Schumann: The Three Violin Sonatas

Album info



Label: Les Productions Analekta Inc.

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Andrew Wan & Charles Richard-Hamelin

Composer: Robert Schumann (1810–1856)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 14.90
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105:
  • 1Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105: I. Mit leidenschaftlichem ausdruck08:04
  • 2Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105: II. Allegretto04:08
  • 3Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105: III. Lebhaft05:09
  • Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 121:
  • 4Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 121: I. Ziemlich langsam - lebhaft13:04
  • 5Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 121: II. Sehr lebhaft04:31
  • 6Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 121: III. Leise, einfach06:06
  • 7Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 121: IV. Bewegt08:51
  • Violin Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, WoO 27:
  • 8Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, WoO 27: I. Ziemlich langsam - Lebhaft07:29
  • 9Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, WoO 27: II. Scherzo. Lebhaft03:05
  • 10Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, WoO 27: III. Intermezzo. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell03:38
  • 11Schumann: Violin Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, WoO 27: IV. Finale. Markiertes, ziemlich lebhaftes Tempo07:16
  • Total Runtime01:11:21

Info for Schumann: The Three Violin Sonatas

After recording the sonatas for violin and piano by Ludwig van Beethoven, a triptych that won numerous awards, including the Juno for Classical Album of the Year - Small Ensemble (2022) and an ADISQ award, Andrew Wan and Charles Richard-Hamelin continue their fruitful collaboration by performing the complete sonatas for violin and piano by Robert Schumann (1810-1856). A perfect work to highlight the complicity that has developed between the concertmaster of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra and the pianist who won the silver medal at the 2015 Frédéric Chopin International Piano Competition.

Andrew Wan, violin
Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano

Andrew Wan
was named concertmaster of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) in 2008. As soloist, he has performed worldwide under conductors such as Vengerov, Petrenko, Labadie, Rizzi, Oundjian, Stern, and DePreist and has appeared in recitals with artists such as the Juilliard String Quartet, Repin, Hamelin, Trifonov, Pressler, Widmann, Ax, Ehnes, and Shaham.

His discography includes Grammy-nominated and Juno award-winning releases with the Seattle Chamber Music Society, the Metropolis Ensemble, and the New Orford String Quartet (NOSQ). In the fall of 2015, he released a live recording of all three Saint-Saëns violin concerti with the OSM and Kent Nagano under the Analekta label to wide critical acclaim, garnering an Opus Award and an ADISQ nomination.

Mr. Wan graduated from the Juilliard School with three degrees and is currently Assistant Professor of Violin at the Schulich School of Music at McGill University, Artistic Director of the OSM Chamber Soloists, Artistic Director of the Prince Edward County Chamber Music Festival, and Artistic Partner of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra. Andrew Wan performs on a 1744 Michel’Angelo Bergonzi violin, and gratefully acknowledges its loan from the David Sela Collection.

Charles Richard-Hamelin
Silver medalist and laureate of the Krystian Zimerman award of the best sonata at the International Chopin Piano Competition in 2015, Charles Richard-Hamelin is standing out as one of the most important pianists of his generation.

He also won the second prize at the Montreal International Musical Competition and the third prize and special award for the best performance of a Beethoven sonata at the Seoul International Music Competition in South Korea. In April 2015, he was awarded the prestigious Career Development Award offered by the Women’s Musical Club of Toronto.

He has appeared in various prestigious festivals including the Prague Spring Festival, La Roque d’Anthéron in France, “Chopin and his Europe” Festival in Warsaw and the Lanaudière Festival in Canada. As a soloist, he has performed with various ensembles including the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra, Beethoven Academy Orchestra, Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, OFUNAM (Mexico), Korean Symphony Orchestra and I Musici de Montréal.

Originally from Lanaudière in Québec, Charles Richard-Hamelin studied with Paul Surdulescu, Sara Laimon, Boris Berman and André Laplante. He obtained a bachelor’s degree in performance from McGill University in 2011 and a master’s degree from the Yale School of Music in 2013 and received full scholarships in both institutions.

He also completed an Artist Diploma program at the Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique de Montréal in 2016 and currently takes lessons on a regular basis with pianist Jean Saulnier. His first solo album, which features late works by Chopin, was released on the Analekta label in September 2015 and received widespread acclaim from critics throughout the world (Diapason, BBC Music Magazine, Le Devoir).

Booklet for Schumann: The Three Violin Sonatas

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO