Azimuth (Remastered) Azimuth

Album info



Label: ECM Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Avantgarde Jazz

Artist: Azimuth

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Siren's Song (Remastered)04:11
  • 2O (Remastered)06:48
  • 3Azimuth (Remastered)12:14
  • 4The Tunnel (Remastered)09:14
  • 5Greek Triangle (Remastered)02:04
  • 6Jacob (Remastered)08:47
  • Total Runtime43:18

Info for Azimuth (Remastered)

Azimuth was the blueprint for the band's own 'samba doido'/ 'crazy samba' sound. Released in the summer of 1975, the album was a minor commercial success selling around 200,000 copies, but it's now recognised as an essential piece of Brazilian music history. Surely the rawest and funkiest of Azymuth's albums, every track exudes the brimming energy of three exceptionally creative young men from Rio, with incendiary results. Opener ‘Linha do Horizonte’ – a sublime piece of melancholic electronic saudade where deep cinematic synths melt into gently strummed acoustic jazz guitar - was used as the theme tune for TV Novella and went on to sell half a million, propelling Azymuth into national acclaim. Azymuth went on to become one of the best-selling jazz artists of the 80s, but this is one of their most special releases, and a firm cult favourite.

"This trio has obviously worked long and hard to create for its members a new viewpoint. The result is provocative and entirely successful, whether one judges it by the excellence of Taylor’s soloing or by the overall sense… The elements of Azimuth are perfectly attuned. They would count for little, however, without the careful structures provided by Taylor. This album may be the first sign of his evolution into a genuinely important composer: behind its graceful flowing beauty lies a spirit of inquiry which will surely lead further." (Richard Wright, Melody Maker, 1977)

"This programme of John Taylor compositions is all of a piece, beautifully realized and typified by Norma Winstone’s lyric on “Jacob”: “gently swaying flowers, cool hypnotic beauty”. There’s a great sense of space in which amplitude and focus are regulated to a nicety. A considerable achievement…" (Jazz Journal International, 1977)

John Taylor, piano, synthesizer
Norma Winstone, voice
Kenny Wheeler, trumpet, flugelhorn

Digitally remastered

A trio that comprises English vocalist Norma Winstone, her husband, pianist John Taylor, and trumpeter Kenny Wheeler. Winstone formed this trio in the late '70s after playing at Ronnie Scott's club in England with Taylor. She is among England's most revered singers, and a true vocal improviser. Penning songs for Wheeler, pianist Bill Evans, guitarist Egberto Gismonti, and others, she is also a top composer. Taylor has recorded on his own with Wheeler and bassist Dave Holland.

Their first release under this name was a 1977 album issued on ECM Records; two further albums quickly followed, with later albums coming in 1985 and 1995.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO