Echoes of Romance: Schumann & Brahms Sung-Won Yang, London Symphony Orchestra & Hans Graf

Album info



Label: Universal Music Ltd.

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Sung-Won Yang, London Symphony Orchestra & Hans Graf

Composer: Robert Schumann (1810-1856), Clara Schumann (1819-1896)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 18566): Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129:
  • 1Schumann: Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129: I. Nicht zu schnell12:14
  • 2Schumann: Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129: II. Langsam04:13
  • 3Schumann: Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129: III. Sehr lebhaft08:04
  • Clara Schumann (1819 - 1896): 3 Romances, Op. 22 - Arr. Hiroaki for Cello & Piano:
  • 4Schumann: 3 Romances, Op. 22 - Arr. Hiroaki for Cello & Piano: I. Andante molto03:30
  • 5Schumann: 3 Romances, Op. 22 - Arr. Hiroaki for Cello & Piano: II. Allegretto03:17
  • 6Schumann: 3 Romances, Op. 22 - Arr. Hiroaki for Cello & Piano: III. Leidenschaftlich schnell04:08
  • Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897): Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114:
  • 7Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: I. Allegro08:13
  • 8Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: II. Adagio08:02
  • 9Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: III. Andantino grazioso04:27
  • 10Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: IV. Allegro04:41
  • Total Runtime01:00:49

Info for Echoes of Romance: Schumann & Brahms

Cellist Yang-Won Yang celebrates the 100th anniversary of Janos Starker's birth with Echoes of Romance: Schumann & Brahms.

Cellist Yangwon Yang's ninth album for Decca and a tribute to legendary cellist and teacher Janos Starker.

Cellist Sungwon Yang is back with his new album Echoes of Romance. His ninth album for Decca, the new release features works by Schumann, Clara Schumann and Brahms that read like an intense artistic collaboration. Conducted by Hans Graff with the London Symphony Orchestra, pianist Emmanuelle Stroesse and clarinetist Han Kim, it was recorded between London and Paris.

Yang dedicated the album to the legendary cellist Janos Starker, who was also his teacher. "When he said goodbye to me, he said, 'Keep Carrying the torch', which has been a milestone in my life ever since," says Yang. The 10 tracks include Robert Schumann's masterpiece Cello Concerto, a cello version of his wife, the accomplished pianist Clara Schumann's Romance, and the Clarinet Trio by Brahms, who was a close friend of the two.

Sung-Won Yang, cello
Han Kim, clarinet
Emmanuel Strosser, piano
London Symphony Orchestra
Hans Graf, conductor

Sung-Won Yang
has performed throughout the world as a soloist and chamber musician. He has given solo and chamber music concerts in prestigious venues as Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center in New York, the Salle Pleyel and Théâtre des Champs Elysées in Paris, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Terrace Theater at the Kennedy Center in Washington DC, the Musikverein in Vienna, the Opera City Hall in Tokyo, Symphony Hall in Osaka and the National Center for the Performing Arts in Beijing.

His recitals have also led to other leading cities, such as London, Rome, Frankfurt, Madrid, Prague, Helsinki, Boston, Seattle, Tel Aviv, Shanghai, Sydney and many others.

While exclusive artist for EMI-Korea, his album entirely devoted to Kodály, was "the editor’s choice of the month" Gramophone Magazine, and “critic’s choice of the year" Gramophone Magazine in the UK (December 2003), nominated for best solo album to Edison Awards in the Netherlands. His other recordings for EMI, are works by Rachmaninoff and Chopin, the complete J.S. Bach’s suites for cello solo, and the complete Beethoven Sonatas and Variations for Cello and Piano. These recordings have all received with great response and success from music lovers and critics alike.

He records for Universal Music/Decca since 2009, his recent recordings are Dvorák Cello Concerto with the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra(Cond; Znedek Macal) and Trio Dumky (2010); an album combining jazz, Latin music and la variété française with the ensemble Les Bons Becs 'Musical get away' (2011); Beethoven’s ‘Archduke’ trio and Op. 70 No. 2, (2013) with trio Owon which he formed with Violinist Olivier Charlier and Pianist Emmanuel Strosser; and the complete works by Brahms and Schumann for cello and piano with Enrico Pace (2014), complete Beethoven trio (Trio Owon 2015) Sung-Won Yang’s 2nd recording of Bach Suites for Cello Solo for Universal Music/Decca (2017) Complete works for Cello and Piano by F. Lizst and Chopin Sonata with Pianist Enrico Pace.(2018) His Upcoming recordings are Elgar and Schumann Cello Concerti with London Symphony Orchestra with Maestro Hans Graf as well as complete Beethoven for Cello and Piano with Enrico Pace due to be released in 2022 and 2023.

Sung-Won Yang has collaborated with great musicians such as Christoph Eschenbach, MyungWhun Chung, Peter Eötvös, Johannes Kalitzke, Laurent Petitgirard, and Pascal Devoyon. His interpretations of the Cello Concerto by Saint-Saëns, the Brahms Double Concerto, and Variations on a Rococo Theme by Tchaikovsky with the Orchestre Symphonic Français were broadcast by French TV in France and throughout Europe on EurovisionIn addition, France Music, NHK (Japan), and KBS (Korea) among other radios have broadcast many of his live concerts. A regular performer of contemporary music, Sung-Won Yang premiered in Asia Peter Eötvös’ concerto grosso with Seoul Philharmonic, with the composer conducting, and in Austria with the RFO, Austrian Radio Symphoniker.

Born in Korea, Sung-Won Yang graduated from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris and was assistant to Janos Starker at Indiana University in the United States. He is regularly invited to be in the jury of the International Competitions such as International String Quartet competition in Banff, Canada, the International Cello Competition André Navarra in France, the International Cello Competition Cassado Japan and the Tongyeong International Competition in Korea. Recipient of Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the French government, he is currently a professor of cello at the School of Music Yonsei University in Seoul, visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music and Artistic Director of the Festival Beethoven à Beaune, in France.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO