Concertante: Modern Works for Guitar Campbell Ross

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 15.30
  • Campbell Ross:
  • 1Concertante for Guitar, Jazz Trio & Strings: I. Moderato09:04
  • 2Concertante for Guitar, Jazz Trio & Strings: II. Rumba04:44
  • 3Concertante for Guitar, Jazz Trio & Strings: III. Allegro04:31
  • 4Sonata for Solo Guitar: I. Moderato con movido05:56
  • 5Sonata for Solo Guitar: II. Larghetto sostenuto (Homage to Franz Schubert)05:50
  • 6Sonata for Solo Guitar: III. Andante solemne03:13
  • 7Sonata for Solo Guitar: IV. Rondo. Allegro03:57
  • Campbell Ross:
  • 8Variations No. 2 (On Norwegian Wood)07:47
  • 9Variations No. 3 (On World Without Love)08:45
  • Ariel Dirié:
  • 10Morning (Arr. C. Ross)00:48
  • 11Mesurando y Dalias05:53
  • 10 Estudios:
  • 1210 Estudios: No. 1, Moderato01:22
  • 1310 Estudios: No. 2, Con brio01:59
  • 1410 Estudios: No. 3, Tango03:38
  • 1510 Estudios: No. 4, Tango02:00
  • 1610 Estudios: No. 5, Moderato02:56
  • 1710 Estudios: No. 6, Allegretto01:28
  • 1810 Estudios: No. 7, Carnavalito01:48
  • 1910 Estudios: No. 8, Carnavalito01:49
  • 2010 Estudios: No. 9, Litoraleña04:28
  • Campbell Ross, Ariel Dirié
  • 2110 Estudios: No. 10, Chacarera ­- Dusk (Arr. R. Campbell)02:15
  • Gerardo Dirié: Si un Día el Olvido...:
  • 22Si un Día el Olvido...: The Weightless Pillow04:04
  • 23Si un Día el Olvido...: Il radio feriva il tempo02:54
  • 24Si un Día el Olvido...: Si un Día el Olvido06:46
  • 25Evening (Arr. C. Ross)01:00
  • Total Runtime01:38:55

Info for Concertante: Modern Works for Guitar

While New Zealand guitarist and composer Campbell Ross cites influences as varied as Claude Bolling, Manuel Ponce and Benjamin Britten when discussing the works featured on CONCERTANTE, it is clear that his own distinctive style is manifested throughout the album. The first of CONCERTANTE’s Modern Works For Guitar opens with the three-movement Concertante for guitar, jazz trio and strings - a work that allows all of the album’s performers to be featured as soloists. Its kaleidoscopic first movement reveals elements of Latin, Blues, Jazz, and Classical genres that, when combined with the Spanish touches in the final movement, encompass the major musical styles that have influenced Ross over the past 30 years. The two sets of Variations on the album reflect his life-long admiration for the McCartney/Lennon oeuvre. While playing homage to “Norwegian Wood” and “World Without Love,” both pieces fall more to the improvisatory end of the compositional scale.

The second album, which features works written by Gerardo and Ariel Dirié, is a disc filled with modern guitar works that have never before been recorded. Ross first presents a series of pieces written by Ariel Dirié, who passed in 2010, leaving behind a collection of works, some of which are light and some of which are dark, some playful and some serious. The final three works on the album form a triptych, Si un dia el Olvido (If one day oblivion...), which “gather different evocations of time.” The triptych’s final movement, echoes the closing track on the first album, delicately brushing on Lennon and McCartney’s “World Without Love.”

CONCERTANTE reflects both the interpretive and written skills of Ross, who performs each piece with equal parts energy and sensitivity.

Dave Mibus, piano
Lachlan Symons, bass
James Whiting, drums, percussion
Benjamin Greaves, violin
Matthew Ryan, viola
Ngaio Toombes, cello
Campbell Ross, guitar

Campbell Ross
is a guitarist, composer and teacher who lives in Brisbane, Australia. He developed a passion for the guitar at an early age and almost immediately began writing for the instrument. Raised in New Zealand, Campbell won the Christchurch Guitar Competition before embarking on tertiary study at the Wellington Conservatorium of Music under the tutelage of Matthew Marshall. After completing his Bachelors Degree in Performance he moved to Brisbane to continue his study under Julian Byzantine at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music Griffith University, completing a Masters in Performance. While still a very active performer, Campbell is also a respected composer. His talent for composition has been formally recognized a number times including placing at the APRA Professional Development Awards and the New Zealand Classical Guitar Composition Competition. Campbell's most recent compositions have been fueled by a desire to produce a fresh and invigorating style of music that challenges the more traditional perceptions of classical guitar, while extending the range of quality music emanating from the Asia-Pacific region. Campbell is a highly sought after teacher in Brisbane having taught at both the Queensland Conservatorium at Griffith University and the School of Music at the University of Queensland. He is also a published author - his ever-increasing body of educational material for classroom guitar programs have been adopted by many schools across Australia.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO