Haydn: Piano Sonatas Kristian Bezuidenhout

Cover Haydn: Piano Sonatas

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Kristian Bezuidenhout

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809): Keyboard Sonata in C Minor, Hob.XVI:20:
  • 1Keyboard Sonata in C Minor, Hob.XVI:20: I. Allegro moderato08:07
  • 2Keyboard Sonata in C Minor, Hob.XVI:20: II. Andante con moto05:23
  • 3Keyboard Sonata in C Minor, Hob.XVI:20: III. Finale. Allegro04:39
  • Variations on the theme 'Gott erhalte Franz, den Kaiser' in G Major, Hob. i, 430:
  • 4Variations on the theme 'Gott erhalte Franz, den Kaiser' in G Major, Hob. i, 43006:00
  • Partita in G Major, Hob. XVI:6:
  • 5Partita in G Major, Hob. XVI:6: I. Allegro05:33
  • 6Partita in G Major, Hob. XVI:6: II. Menuet - Trio04:02
  • 7Partita in G Major, Hob. XVI:6: III. Adagio03:31
  • 8Partita in G Major, Hob. XVI:6: IV. Finale. Allegro molto02:54
  • 9Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:48: I. Andante con espressione08:40
  • 10Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:48: II. Rondo. Presto04:19
  • Variations in F Minor, Hob. XVII:6
  • 11Variations in F Minor, Hob. XVII:615:07
  • Total Runtime01:08:15

Info for Haydn: Piano Sonatas

A few years after a complete recording of Mozart's solo piano works that has come to be regarded as a benchmark, Kristian Bezuidenhout turns his keen musical talents to Haydn, the other towering figure of the Viennese Classical keyboard repertory. The pianist described the project, saying, ''Preparing for this recording has been a vivid reminder that it is remarkably difficult to play Haydn's music well, but that with enough care, and attention to detail, his music has the potential to come jumping from the page. It would be hubris to suggest that I am even close to unlocking any of its secrets, but I am so humbled by the sheer beauty, humanity, wit and delightful irony of this music, that the desire to continue is irresistible.''

Kristian Bezuidenhout, piano

Kristian Bezuidenhout
was born in South Africa in 1979. He began his studies in Australia, completed them at the Eastman School of Music and now lives in London. After initial studies as a modern pianist with Rebecca Penneys, he explored early keyboards, studying harpsichord with Arthur Haas, fortepiano with Malcolm Bilson and continuo playing and performance practice with Paul O’Dette.

Bezuidenhout first gained international recognition at the age of 21 after winning the prestigious first prize as well as the audience prize in the Bruges Fortepiano Competition.

Bezuidenhout is a frequent guest artist with the world’s leading ensembles including The Freiburger Barockorchester, Orchestre des Champs Elysées, Orchestra of the 18th Century, English Concert, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Concerto Köln, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, and Collegium Vocale Gent, in many instances assuming the role of guest director. He has performed with celebrated artists including John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Frans Brüggen, Trevor Pinnock, Ton Koopman, Christopher Hogwood, Pieter Wispelwey, Daniel Hope, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Isabelle Faust, Viktoria Mullova, Carolyn Sampson and Mark Padmore.

Bezuidenhout now divides his time between concerto, recital and chamber music engagements, appearing in the early music festivals of Barcelona, Boston, Bruges, Innsbruck, St. Petersburg, Venice and Utrecht; the festivals of Salzburg, Edinburgh, Schleswig Holstein, Tangelwood and Luzern and Mostly Mozart Lincoln Center, and at many of the world’s most important concert halls including the Berlin and Köln Philharmonie, Suntory Hall, Theatre des Champs Elysées, Symphony Hall, Konzerthaus Vienna, Wigmore Hall and Carnegie Hall.

Since 2009, Bezuidenhout has embarked on a long-term recording relationship with Harmonia Mundi. Recent recordings include Volumes 1, 2 & 3 of the complete keyboard music of Mozart (prizes include Diapason D'or, a Caecilia Prize, and Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik); Mendelssohn piano concertos with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and Schumann Dichterliebe with Mark Padmore (both won Edison Awards). His recording of Beethoven violin sonatas with Viktoria Mullova (ONYX label) won an Echo Award for the best chamber music album of 2011. A disc of Mozart Piano Concertos (K. 453 & 482) with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra was released in November, 2012.

Booklet for Haydn: Piano Sonatas

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO