Do It Like We Used to Do North Mississippi Allstars

Album info



Label: Legacy Recordings

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Blues-Rock

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Someday Baby (Live)03:22
  • 2I'm In Jail (Live)03:34
  • 318 Hammers (Live)05:30
  • 4Freedom Highway (Live)04:22
  • 5Shimmy Duo (Live)04:44
  • 6Goin' Down South (Live)06:21
  • 761 Highway (Live)03:56
  • 8Hey, Hey Baby (Live)05:09
  • 9RL's Endless Boogie (Live)03:08
  • 10Crazy Bout U (Live)03:41
  • 11Up Over Yonder (Live)03:32
  • 12Sugartown (Live)03:22
  • 13Be So Glad (Live)06:14
  • 14Po Black Maddie / Skinny Woman (Live)12:53
  • 15Jumper On the Line (Live)05:17
  • 16Mississippi Boll Weevil (Live)02:38
  • 17Down In Mississippi (Live)06:23
  • 18Got My Mojo Working (Live)04:20
  • 19Hear My Train A'Comin (Live)05:37
  • 20The Meeting (Live)04:16
  • 21Goin' Home ML (Live)05:04
  • 22JR / Stay All Night / Lord Have Mercy / Stay All Night (Live)11:47
  • 23I'd Love to Be a Hippy (Live)07:19
  • 24Mizzip (Live)03:04
  • 25Keep the Devil Down (Live)04:00
  • 26Horseshoe (Live)08:14
  • 27Glory, Glory (Live)04:02
  • Total Runtime02:21:49

Info for Do It Like We Used to Do

This live album spans the entire career of the North Mississippi Allstars to date, from 1996 to 2008. Guitar star Luther Dickinson and his drumming brother Cody (sons of famed producer/keyboardist Jim Dickinson), together with bass buddy Chris Chew, redefine the concept of blues rock over the course of these two discs, rescuing it from the lazy, third-hand vibe of so many '70s bands, and investing it with the deep feeling and trenchant attack they learned from both the elder Dickinson and North Mississippi blues king R.L. Burnside himself. They tear up the house on songs associated with everyone from Burnside to Muddy Waters here, not to mention their original tunes.

„Although they may mix elements of hip-hop, metal, and alternative rock into their repertoire, the North Mississippi Allstars are really a power blues trio whose members lean heavily on the kind of Mississippi folk-blues numbers they learned firsthand from the likes of R.L. Burnside, Junior Kimbrough, and Othar Turner, an approach that has given the NMA a solid grounding in local blues history as well as a solid sense of place, and by understanding and embracing the local North Mississippi modal drone approach, the Allstars have inherited a perfect springboard into a loose, ragged, but powerfully tight sound that somehow manages to seem both reverently traditional and completely contemporary at the same time. This set chronologically collects live highlights of the band's first ten years together over the course of two discs and adds a third DVD disc that documents the band's history. It's powerful stuff, rocking like Mississippi thunder and then turning as delicate as Mississippi rain at times, and in many ways, this might be the best release from the band yet, particularly since it captures the NMA in their natural habitat -- live and on fire. Highlights abound, including a wonderful version of Mississippi Fred McDowell's "I'm in Jail," a stark take on the NMA original "Sugartown," and an eye-opening stomp through J.B. Lenoir's wry "Down in Mississippi," but the best of all is a quick, blisteringly ragged version of Charley Patton's "Mississippi Boll Weevil Blues." Stripped down and raw, it thunders along on Cody Dickinson's drums, throwing dynamics to the wind until the end, when it winds wistfully away on Luther Dickinson's slide guitar work. It's a wonderful rendition, and it reestablishes the past in the present without doing damage to either, a balancing act that the NMA do as well as anyone currently on the rock or blues scenes. This set will burn your house down. Guaranteed.“ (Steve Leggett, AMG)

Luther Dickinson, guitars, vocals
Cody Dickinson, drums, washboard, keyboards, guitar
Chris Chew, bass, vocals
Jim Dickinson, keyboards, vocals
Robert Randolph, pedal steel
Paul Taylor, bass, washtub bass
Kelly Hurt, vocals
Jimbo Mathis, mandolin, vocals
R.L. Boyce, guitar, vocals
Duwayne Burnside, guitar, vocals
Kurt "KC" Clayton, keyboards
Jo Jo Hermann, keyboards

Digitally remastered

North Mississippi Allstars
Brothers Luther (guitar, mandolin, vocals) and Cody Dickinson (drums, sampling) along with gospel bassist Chris Chew make up this power trio. The Dickinson brothers were born in Fayette County, TN, later moving to northern Mississippi, where the boys soaked up the country–blues sound of the region from artists like Mississippi Fred McDowell and R.L Burnside.

While blues is the chief inspiration for the Allstars, the band also mixes in an alternative aesthetic (comparable to outfits like the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion or G. Love and Special Sauce), and a traditional rock, jam–band sensibility like Phish or Gomez.

The Allstars debuted at Dixie Fried '96, sharing the stage with Othar Turner and R. L. Burnside. The show was critically acclaimed in a Memphis newspaper as the Best Show of the Year. The Allstars soon began playing regularly at B.B. King’s Blues Hall and The Black Diamond on Beale Street in Memphis, TN. In the spring of 2000, the band released their debut album, Shake Hands With Shorty, which garnered them a GRAMMY Award nomination.

The North Mississippi Allstars' highly anticipated follow-up 51 Phantom, picks up where Shake Hands With Shorty left off — this time showcasing the songwriting talents of the brothers Dickinson, while continuing to delve into their southern roots. The album continues the band's love of groove–inspired jams and modern boogie, with a taut selection of original compositions. 51 Phantom resonates with classic melody and youthful groove.

Produced by Luther and Cody's father Jim Dickinson (The Replacements, Big Star, Ry Cooder, Primal Scream), 51 Phantom is a gritty and grooving masterpiece. From the snarl of "Snakes in My Bushes" to the anthemic title track, through the sweet ballads of "Leavin" and "Up Over Yonder," the Allstars have created a focused and brilliant masterpiece that sees them evolving their sound, while still keeping in touch with their Mississippi roots.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO