Chopin & Liszt: Piano Works Mariam Batsashvili

Cover Chopin & Liszt: Piano Works

Album info



Label: Warner Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886): Liszt: Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, S. 173:
  • 1Liszt: Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, S. 173: III. Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude14:27
  • Franz Liszt, Frédéric Chopin (1810 - 1849): Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480:
  • 2Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480: I. Mädchens Wunsch (After Chopin, Op. 74 No. 1)03:03
  • 3Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480: II. Frühling (After Chopin Op. 74 No. 2)02:18
  • 4Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480: III. Das Ringlein (After Chopin, Op. 74 No. 14)02:38
  • 5Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480: IV. Bacchanal (After Chopin, Op. 74 No. 4)01:50
  • 6Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480: V. Meine Freuden (After Chopin Op. 74 No. 12)04:02
  • 7Chopin / Arr. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs, S. 480: VI. Die Heimkehr (After Chopin, Op. 74 No. 15)01:43
  • Franz Liszt: Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172:
  • 8Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: I. Andante con moto01:24
  • 9Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: II. Un poco più mosso02:54
  • 10Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: III. Lento placido03:40
  • 11Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: IV. Quasi adagio, cantabile con divozione02:46
  • 12Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: V. Andantino02:25
  • 13Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: VI. Allegretto sempre cantabile03:08
  • Frédéric Chopin: Chopin: 12 Etudes, Op. 10:
  • 14Chopin: 12 Etudes, Op. 10: No. 1 in C Major02:16
  • Franz Liszt: Liszt: 6 Consolations, S. 172: Liszt: 12 Grandes Etudes, S. 137:
  • 15Liszt: 12 Grandes Etudes, S. 137: No. 9 in A-Flat Major11:01
  • Frédéric Chopin: Chopin: 12 Etudes, Op. 10: Chopin: 12 Etudes, Op. 10:
  • 16Chopin: 12 Etudes, Op. 10: No. 2 in A Minor01:39
  • 17Chopin: 12 Etudes, Op. 10: No. 4 in C-Sharp Minor02:17
  • Franz Liszt: Liszt: 12 Grandes Etudes, S. 137:
  • 18Liszt: 12 Grandes Etudes, S. 137: No. 10 in F Minor06:12
  • Total Runtime01:09:43

Info for Chopin & Liszt: Piano Works

On her first Warner Classics album pianist Mariam Batsashvili combines solo works by Franz Liszt – a figure of special significance for her – and his contemporary Frédéric Chopin. She left her native Georgia to study at the Franz Liszt Conservatory in Weimar and gained international recognition in 2014 when she won the 10th Franz Liszt Piano Competition. Chopin was just a year older than Liszt and the two became good friends in Paris. The two pianist-composers are, as Batsashvili explains, “very, very different in the way they express themselves, but I can hear in their music that they respected each other greatly.”

"Her technical prowess and ability to negotiate Liszt’s showy grandeur is a given, but her sense of his inner world, his wistful, nonchalant poetry – in the Grande études in A flat or the Consolations (Pensées poétiques) or the Polish Songs after Chopin – sets her apart as one to watch." (The Observer)

Mariam Batsashvili, piano

Mariam Batsashvili
The 26-year-old pianist Mariam Batsashvili already ranks among the most promising artists of her generation. She gained international recognition at the 10th Franz Liszt Piano Competition in Utrecht 2014. With the start of the 2017/18 season, she became a BBC New Generation Artist and continues to perform at major festivals and concert venues across the UK as part of the BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists scheme. She has already made her debuts at the Cheltenham Festival, with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and the Ulster Orchestra, with which she will play for the first time at the BBC Proms in 2019. The summer of 2019 sees the release of her first album for Warner Classics.

She already gained her first experiences with leading symphony orchestras, including the Dutch Radio Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of James Gaffigan in the Concertgebouw Amsterdam (Liszt Piano Concerto No. 1), the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra under Rafael Payare (Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1), the Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra (Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto No. 2), the Düsseldorf Symphony under Alexandre Bloch (Clara Schumann Piano Concerto) and the MDR Symphony Orchestra under Dmitry Liss (Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23 K.488). She has also given recitals in more than 30 countries – among these China, South Korea, Indonesia, Brazil, South Africa, France, Spain, Norway, the Baltic countries, Benelux and Germany. She has been the guest of many international festivals, such as the Beethovenfest Bonn, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Piano City festival in Milan and the Piano aux Jacobins festival in Toulouse.

She was nominated by the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO) as ‘Rising Star’ for the 2016/17 season, and performed in the most significant concert halls throughout Europe. Last season, she gave performances at the Philharmonic Hall of St Petersburg, the Tonhalle Zürich, the Mozarteum Salzburg and the Wigmore Hall and made her acclaimed debut at the Philharmonie Berlin as part of the series “Debüt im Deutschlandfunk Kultur”.

Her debut with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra under Alexander Shelley, in which she played Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in 2018, resulted in an immediate re-invitation for the season of 2019/20 with his 2nd Piano Concerto. She also received great acclaim for her debut concerts in China and Japan and will soon make her debut with the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra under Sylvain Cambreling (Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1). Other highlights of the new season include her debut at the Musikverein Vienna with the Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen under Fawzi Haimor (Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 2), in Brussels’ Flagey with Le Concert Olympique under Jan Caeyers (Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 K.466) as well as recitals in the Allerheiligen-Hofkirche Munich, Philharmonie Essen, St. George’s Hall Liverpool, Opéra de Dijon, the Robert-Schumann-Gesellschaft Düsseldorf and BASF Ludwigshafen.

Born 1993 in Tbilisi, Georgia, Mariam Batsashvili first studied with Natalia Natsvlishvili at the E. Mikeladze Central Music School in her hometown, before continuing at the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar with Professor Grigory Gruzman. In 2011 she won First Prize at the International Franz Liszt Competition for Young Pianists in Weimar, and received the prestigious Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli Award in 2015. Mariam Batsashvili is a scholarship holder of the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben and is supported by The Keyboard Charitable Trust. She has been an official Yamaha Artist since 2017.

Mariam Batsashvili began Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in B minor powerfully – but not with violence, rather with grandeur. (…) The young pianist has a superbly clear attack, and technically speaking plays perfectly, without being interested in perfection or making a show of it. No, she is interested in something quite different: in maintaining intimate contact with the accompanying orchestra, for example (…) She understands music making as concert-giving in the best sense – together. "Süddeutsche Zeitung, Egbert Tholl)

Booklet for Chopin & Liszt: Piano Works

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO