Night Seasons Rebecca Dale

Album info



Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Rebecca Dale

Composer: Rebecca Dale (1985-)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 14.50
  • Rebecca Dale (b. 1985): There Will Come:
  • 1Dale: There Will Come05:38
  • The Cloths Of Heaven:
  • 2Dale: The Cloths Of Heaven04:22
  • true love:
  • 3Dale: true love07:10
  • Jo's Theme:
  • 4Dale: Jo's Theme03:50
  • Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening:
  • 5Dale: Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening05:07
  • Salve Regina:
  • 6Dale: Salve Regina05:28
  • I Wandered Lonely As A Cloud:
  • 7Dale: I Wandered Lonely As A Cloud04:45
  • There Will Come Soft Rains:
  • 8Dale: There Will Come Soft Rains05:22
  • Night Seasons I:
  • 9Dale: Night Seasons I: Nox Perpetua08:14
  • 10Dale: Night Seasons II: When It's Darkest, A Prayer For The Dawn06:02
  • 11Dale: Night Seasons III: Sanctus09:24
  • Total Runtime01:05:22

Info for Night Seasons

Hailed by Classic FM as “one of today’s most exciting young composers” Rebecca Dale is a London based composer, working most often with large orchestral and choral forces in the worlds of cinema and theatre. Night Seasons is an album about hope, looking for the light in difficult times, written during a time of personal dif- ficulty while her father was terminally ill. With works written for choir and cello it strives to be a hopeful album, reaching for the wonder around us. Rebecca Dale says “It’s been one of the great privileges of my life to be able to write for cellist heroes of mine to whom I grew up listening. I also got to have fun setting some famous poems… I am indebted to everyone who has created this album with me”.

Philharmonia Orchestra
Steven Isserlis, cello
Guy Johnston, cello
Nigel Short, conductor
Michael Collins, conductor

Rebecca Dale
(1985), a female British composer, born in London, the first female composer to sign to Decca Classics, will release her debut album ‘Requiem For My Mother’ on 31st August 2018 – featuring two major works: her brand new Materna Requiem and her choral symphony When Music Sounds. At the heart of Rebecca’s first recording is her Materna Requiem – a beautifully moving and uplifting tribute to her late mother, who died in 2010. The work draws from both the traditional text of the Catholic Mass and contemporary poetry and is a homage to parents everywhere. It features the voices of soprano Louise Alder, tenor Trystan Griffiths and young choristers Hannah Dienes-Williams and Edward Hyde (BBC Radio 2 Young Chorister of the Year 2016) alongside the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. The work will receive its world premiere performance at The North Wales International Music Festival in St Asaph Cathedral on 22nd September. Rebecca Dale says of the album: “It’s an amazing feeling to be releasing my first album and sharing my music with everyone. The Requiem is a very personal piece to me, and it uses melodies I wrote when I was a child so you could say I’ve been working on it for most of my life! When I first wrote the Requiem I didn’t even realise it would receive a performance so it’s a hugely exciting moment to hear it on record, and I hope the piece connects with people.” The first track from Rebecca’s new album, ‘Pie Jesu’, is out now and expresses a parent’s love for their son or daughter – so instead of using a child’s voice as is tradition for this movement, it’s represented as a father singing to his newborn. The process of writing the Materna Requiem has been somewhat cathartic for Rebecca – she describes the musical tribute to her mother as “a way for me to build a bridge back to her”. Rebecca is keen to help others who have suffered the loss of a parent and is a supporter of Winston’s Wish – the UK’s first childhood bereavement charity. Donation buckets will be available at the premiere performance of the work, plus Rebecca will be taking part in ‘TrekFest’ for the charity. Rebecca’s work first came to public attention when BBC Radio 3 premiered her choral symphony ‘When Music Sounds’ in 2014 and the track, ‘I’ll Sing’, went to No.1 on the Classical iTunes chart. It seems fitting that the whole piece is recorded on her debut album. Performed by the Cantus Ensemble – one of London’s leading chamber choirs – this inspiring orchestral work is a glorious counterpart to the Requiem and concludes the album in stunning style.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO