Cover Bye-bye Berlin

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Kurt Weill (1900 - 1950): Marie Galante:
  • 1Youkali04:14
  • Erwin Schulhoff (1894 - 1942): Cinq Études de jazz:
  • 2III. Chanson02:36
  • Kurt Weill (1900 - 1950): Die Dreigroschenoper:
  • 3Die Morität von Mackie Messer04:42
  • 4Barbara-Song04:37
  • Erwin Schulhoff (1894 - 1942):
  • 5String Quartet No. 1: IV. Andante molto sostenuto06:15
  • Paul Hindemith (1895 - 1963):
  • 6Der fliegenden Holländer: Ouvertüre01:25
  • 7The Lavender Song03:25
  • Jan Meyerowitz (1913 - 1998): The Barrier:
  • 8Help me Lord04:59
  • Hanns Eisler (1898 - 1962):
  • 9Kammerkantate No. 6, Op. 61/1: Nein03:32
  • Kurt Weill (1900 - 1950): String Quartet in B-Minor:
  • 10II. Langsam und innig03:54
  • 11Das Berliner Requiem: Ballad of a Drowned Girl04:17
  • Hanns Eisler (1898 - 1962):
  • 12Solidaritätslied03:27
  • Die Hollywood Elegien:
  • 13I saw many friends02:28
  • Friedrich Hollaender (1896 - 1976): A Foreign Affair:
  • 14The Ruins of Berlin02:55
  • 15Black Market03:56
  • Der Blaue Engel:
  • 16Falling in love again03:35
  • Sieben frühe Lieder:
  • 17Die Nachtigall02:20
  • Total Runtime01:02:37

Info for Bye-bye Berlin

Bye bye… or Berlin for ever? Throughout the 1920s, all eyes were turned towards Berlin. Driven by a collective energy, artists of all persuasions (writers, painters, architects, filmmakers and composers) there established the principles of “New Objectivity”, which saw the city become the very epitome of modernity, at the same time as following in the footsteps of other great cities worldwide, not least New York, the birthplace of jazz. Life in Berlin was not the stuff of romance however: strikes, poverty, repression, the rise of Nazism… The post-war social context contributed to the craze that swept the capital for cabaret, a kind of safety valve that allowed for a moral and social release. It is this ephemeral, underground world of “Great Berlin” as depicted in The Blue Angel that Marion Rampal and the Quatuor Manfred invite us to rediscover here, in collaboration with saxophonist Raphaël Imbert: a liberal burst of freedom and humanity delivered with passion!

Marion Rampal, vocals
Manfred Quartet

Marion Rampal
French Singer and songwriter Marion Rampal entwines memory and invention, words and melodies, folkloric musics and classical occidental roots.

Born in 1980 in Marseille, she studied music and singing according to the fanciful gifts of life: A mother who invented lulabies à la Michel Legrand. A grandfather who played all Nat King Cole in F on the piano. A few flute lessons (she is not in any way related to Jean-Pierre Rampal). Her fabulous high school choir which toured Europe…

Adolescent she started scribling song books, writting in English as she was pationate with Patti Smith, Jim Morrison, Jeff Buckley, Joni Mitchell, Leonard Cohen… She's been following her Rock & Folk loves since 1998, as the singer of Wesh Wesh first, and with the duo We Used to Have a Band after that.

Her encounter with Raphaël Imbert et his Compagnie Nine Spirit was the start of a long and fecund collaboration: his record label published her first album, Own Virago, in 2009. In 2011 she write the lyrics and sings on Perrine Mansuy's Vertigo Songs. In 2012 she joins the Attica Blues Big Bang and Archie Shepp's Quintes. Shortly after that she records Heavens with Raphael Imbert, followed by Music Is My Home.

Poetic explorations into the embodiments of the Blues, which she purshued in New York and in Louisiana, led her to write and compose Main Blue, with Anne Paceo and Pierre-Frangois Blanchard. This recording was published internationally by e-motive records in 2016.

Marion Rampal also wanders the classical repertoire in search of personal standards. The duo Lost Art Song with pianist Pierre-Frangois Blanchard, gives faithfully free interpretations of some of Shubert's lieder, and associates melodies by Debussy, Fauré, with classics of French popular music of the 20th century. In the same spirit, she is regularly participating to Arièle Butaux' Salon Idéal. With the Manfred Quartet she sings music from Berlin's "decadent" masters of the 30's. A recording of this project, *Bye Bye Berlin!", will be published in 2018 by Harmonia Mundi.

She also enjoys lending her words to other voices, and thus wrote lyrics for singer Virginie Teychené, for Anne Pacéo (in Circles, sung by Leila Martial), and for Raphaël Imabert (Music is my Home, vocals by Leyla McCalla, Alabama Slim and Big Ron Hunter)

Booklet for Bye-bye Berlin

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO