Album info



Label: Decca

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Sheku Kanneh-Mason, London Symphony Orchestra & Sir Simon Rattle

Composer: Edward Elgar (1857–1934)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Traditional: Blow The Wind Southerly
  • 1Blow The Wind Southerly (Arr. Kanneh-Mason)02:22
  • SIR Edward Elgar (1857 - 1934): Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36 "Enigma":
  • 2Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36 "Enigma": 9. Nimrod (Adagio) (Arr. Parkin)04:00
  • Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85:
  • 3Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85: 1. Adagio - Moderato08:13
  • 4Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85: 2. Lento - Allegro molto04:20
  • 5Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85: 3. Adagio04:53
  • 6Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85: 4. Allegro11:43
  • Romance in D Minor, Op. 62:
  • 7Romance in D Minor, Op. 62 (Arr. Parkin)05:36
  • Frank Bridge (1879 - 1941): 4 Short Pieces, H104:
  • 84 Short Pieces, H104: 2. Spring Song (Arr. Parkin)02:16
  • Traditional: Scarborough Fair:
  • 9Scarborough Fair (Arr. Parkin)03:14
  • Ernest Bloch (1880 - 1959): Prelude, B 63
  • 10Prelude, B 6304:52
  • From Jewish Life, B 54:
  • 11From Jewish Life, B 54: 1. Prayer (Arr. B. Kanneh-Mason)04:34
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845 - 1924): Elégie in C Minor, Op. 24:
  • 12Elégie in C Minor, Op. 24 (Arr. Parkin)07:35
  • Julius Klengel (1859 - 1933): Hymnus, Op. 57:
  • 13Hymnus, Op. 5705:14
  • Total Runtime01:08:52

Info for Elgar

Award-winning cellist Sheku made history when his debut album, ‘Inspiration’, reached #11 in the Official UK Album Charts, and he was one of 2018’s biggest breakthrough artists across any genre. He has garnered huge critical acclaim for his performances with The Times describing him as “the world’s new favourite cellist.”

Now he is back with Elgar, a new album of works anchored around Elgar’s Cello Concerto – arguably the best-known work in the classical canon written for solo cello, which saw the 100th anniversary of its first performance this year. Armed with the inspiration of the 1965 recording by his heroine Jacqueline du Pré, Sheku recorded the concerto at the world-famous Abbey Road Studios in an illustrious collaboration with Sir Simon Rattle and The London Symphony Orchestra.

Sheku’s innate artistry and thoughtful approach to performing this iconic work are immortalised in this new recording, where nine exquisite pieces, some popular and some less well-known, which provide a musical context to the Cello Concerto. He explains: “All the pieces are connected, either exercising similar emotions to the Cello Concerto, or written around the same time.” They include a new arrangement of Elgar’s ‘Nimrod’, Klengel’s ‘Hymnus’ which was composed for 12 cellos, and Sheku’s own arrangement of beloved folk tune ‘Blow the Wind Southerly.’

Sheku has been on a whirlwind adventure since winning BBC Young Musician 2016 – performing at TRH the Duke and Duchess of Sussex’s wedding, playing at the BAFTAs, partnering with design icon Paul Smith, and winning two Classical BRIT Awards. He is currently an undergraduate student at the Royal Academy of Music.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO