Cover Portrait (Live)

Album info



Label: BR-Klassik

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 14.90
  • Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Mass in B-Flat Major, Hob. XXII:14 "Harmoniemesse":
  • 1I. Kyrie 07:07
  • 2II. Gloria 11:18
  • 3III. Credo 11:08
  • 4IV. Sanctus 02:52
  • 5V. Benedictus 04:14
  • 6VI. Agnus Dei 05:53
  • Symphony No. 88 in G Major, Hob. I:88:
  • 7III. Menuetto. Allegretto - Trio 04:08
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): Symphony No. 4 in B-Flat Major, Op. 60:
  • 8I. Adagio - Allegro vivace 11:10
  • 9II. Adagio 08:45
  • 10III. Menuetto. Allegro molto e vivace - Trio. Un poco meno allegro 05:45
  • 11IV. Allegro ma non troppo 07:01
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98:
  • 12I. Allegro non troppo 12:39
  • 13II. Andante moderato 10:54
  • 14III. Allegro giocoso 06:16
  • 15IV. Allegro energico e passionato 10:40
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949): Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64, TrV 233:
  • 16No. 1, Nacht 02:52
  • 17No. 2, Sonnenaufgang 01:25
  • 18No. 3, Der Anstieg 02:27
  • 19No. 4, Eintritt in den Wald 05:06
  • 20No. 5, Wanderung neben dem Bache 00:47
  • 21No. 6, Am Wasserfall 00:16
  • 22No. 7, Erscheinung 00:53
  • 23No. 8, Auf blumigen Wiesen 01:01
  • 24No. 9, Auf der Alm 02:22
  • 25No. 10, Durch Dickicht und Gestrüpp auf Irrwegen 01:42
  • 26No. 11, Auf dem Gletscher 01:15
  • 27No. 12, Gefahrvolle Augenblicke 01:34
  • 28No. 13, Auf dem Gipfel 04:56
  • 29No. 14, Vision 03:36
  • 30No. 15, Nebel steigen auf 00:20
  • 31No. 16, Die Sonne verdüstert sich allmählich 00:52
  • 32No. 17, Elegie 01:48
  • 33No. 18, Stille vor dem Sturm 02:54
  • 34No. 19, Gewitter und Sturm, Abstieg 04:22
  • 35No. 20, Sonnenuntergang 02:23
  • 36No. 21, Ausklang 06:06
  • 37No. 22, Nacht 02:02
  • 38No. 1, Frühling 03:24
  • 39No. 2, September 04:39
  • 40No. 3, Beim Schlafengehen 05:17
  • 41No. 4, Im Abendrot 08:09
  • Gustav Mahler(1860-1911): Symphony No. 9 in D Major:
  • 42I. Andante comodo 28:01
  • 43II. Im Tempo eines gemächlichen Ländlers. Etwas täppisch und sehr derb 15:45
  • 44III. Rondo-Burleske. Allegro assai. Sehr trotzig 13:48
  • 45IV. Adagio. Sehr langsam und noch zurückhaltend 23:11
  • Edgard Varèse (1883-1965):
  • 46Amériques (1922 Original Version) 28:38
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971): Symphony of Psalms:
  • 47I. Exaudi orationem meam 03:14
  • 48II. Expectans expectavi Dominum 06:14
  • 49III. Alleluja. Laudate Dominum 12:42
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975):
  • 50I. Largo 15:41
  • 51II. Allegro 06:21
  • 52III. Presto 07:44
  • Total Runtime05:53:37

Info for Portrait (Live)

“He’s the best of all of us!” In an interview about great conductors with the newspaper Die Welt on April 2, 2015, that was the remarkable response from Sir Simon Rattle when he was asked about Mariss Jansons. Numerous music fans the world over are in complete agreement with Rattle’s statement, and what better way to congratulate Mariss Jansons on his 75th birthday (the 14th of January, 2018)? The Maestro’s birthday was also the inspiration for this 5CD set from BR-KLASSIK.

Mariss Jansons played a decisive part in the decision by the Bayerische Rundfunk to establish a special CD label for its two orchestras and the Chor. As the chief conductor of the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam, he had already appreciated the advantages of an orchestra having its own label: artistic freedom in deciding which musicians to collaborate with and which recordings to release, sovereignty over layout and design, reliable releases timed to coincide with international tours, and much more. By now, following his tenacious and therefore ultimately successful commitment to a new concert hall in Munich, the music world is certainly aware of the Maestro’s persistence, and not only where musical quality is concerned. So it was that in 2009, the Bayerischer Rundfunk released its first 9 CDs with recordings of the Chor and Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks and of the Munich Rundfunkorchester, on its new label BR-KLASSIK. The year 2017 saw the one hundredth production since that time – of Richard Strauss’ ‘An Alpine Symphony’ with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks conducted by Mariss Jansons. (Stefan Piendl)

The CD box “Mariss Jansons – A Portrait”, newly released by BR-KLASSIK, contains a total of 5 CDs offering a representative cross-section of the classical symphonic repertoire – as well as a cross-section of the repertoire for which the chief conductor of the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks has been highly praised again and again for his outstanding interpretative qualities.

Landmarks of great choral music can be found here, as well as milestones in symphonic development and select orchestral songs. The works range from music of the First Viennese School to early 20th-century Late Romanticism; from Haydn’s “Harmoniemesse” (with soloists Malin Hartelius, Michaela Knab, Judith Schmid, Christian Elsner, Bernhard Schneider, Franz-Josef Selig and the Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks) to the Minuet from Haydn’s Symphony Hob. I:88; from Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, Brahms’s Fourth Symphony and Mahler’s Ninth Symphony to Strauss’ Eine Alpensinfonie” op. 64, and also his “Vier letzte Lieder” (“Four Last Songs”, with the excellent soloist Anja Harteros). And the fifth CD offers several impressive masterpieces of the twentieth century including Stravinsky’s “Symphony of Psalms” (with the Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks), ), Varèse’s symphonic poem “Amériques” – both recordings first time released on CD – and Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony.

Malin Hartelius, soprano
Michaela Knab, soprano
Judith Schmid, alt
Christian Elsner, tenor
Bernhard Schneider, tenor
Franz-Josef Selig, bass
Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Mariss Jansons, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Portrait (Live)

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO