Abendmusiken [Buxtehude, Erlebach, Reinken, Theile] Ensemble Stravaganza

Cover Abendmusiken [Buxtehude, Erlebach, Reinken, Theile]

Album info



Label: MUSO

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Ensemble Stravaganza

Composer: Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707), Philipp Heinrich Erlebach (1657-1714), Johann Adam Reinken, Johann Theile (1646-1724)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.50
  • Johann Theile (1646 - 1724): Sonata duplex a 3:
  • 1Sonata duplex a 3: Allegro - Adagio - Allegro - Adagio - Allegro - Adagio05:26
  • Dietrich Buxtehude (1637 - 1707): Sonata in C Major, BuxWV 266:
  • 2Sonata in C Major, BuxWV 266: I. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio03:06
  • 3Sonata in C Major, BuxWV 266: II. Solo - Allegro01:47
  • 4Sonata in C Major, BuxWV 266: III. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio - Presto - Adagio - Lento03:55
  • Philipp Heinrich Erlebach (1657 - 1714): Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor:
  • 5Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: I. Adagio02:07
  • 6Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: II. Allegro01:16
  • 7Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: III. Adagio01:05
  • 8Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: IV. Allemande01:13
  • 9Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: V. Courante01:01
  • 10Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: VI. Sarabande01:51
  • 11Sonata 5 for violin and viola da gamba in E Minor: VII. Gigue01:30
  • Dietrich Buxtehude: Sonata in G Major, BuxWV 271:
  • 12Sonata in G Major, BuxWV 271: I. Allegro02:13
  • 13Sonata in G Major, BuxWV 271: II. Solo: Adagio - Allegro - Allegro / Adagio a 302:29
  • 14Sonata in G Major, BuxWV 271: III. Allegro02:10
  • 15Sonata in G Major, BuxWV 271: IV. Solo: Adagio - Allegro01:11
  • 16Sonata in G Major, BuxWV 271: V. Allegro01:29
  • Johann Adam Reinken (1637 - 1722): Hortus Musicus IV in D Minor:
  • 17Hortus Musicus IV in D Minor: I. Sonata 16ta07:33
  • 18Hortus Musicus IV in D Minor: II. Allemand 17ma02:14
  • 19Hortus Musicus IV in D Minor: III. Courant 18va01:45
  • 20Hortus Musicus IV in D Minor: IV. Saraband 19ma02:46
  • 21Hortus Musicus IV in D Minor: V. Gigue 20ma02:42
  • Total Runtime50:49

Info for Abendmusiken [Buxtehude, Erlebach, Reinken, Theile]

From the middle of the sixteenth century the reputation for excellence of the composers of Northern Germany was well established. Given dynamism by commercial exchanges thanks to the bustling activity of the port of Hamburg notably, the cities of the Hanseatic League welcomed many foreign workers, their customs inspiring the artistes of the Germanic tradition. At the end of the seventeenth century, Hamburg was a free city sheltered from war, a refuge for artistes and for great fortunes. It was then the most cosmopolitan city in Germany and its population included a great number of merchants, bankers, diplomats and senators, so many men who were rich and who had the time necessary for enjoying music and for encouraging this flourishing art.

As close friends, Johann Adam Reinken, Dietrich Buxtehude - both admired by Bach - and Johann Theile belonged to the circle of contrapuntists of Northern Germany, finding inspiration, however, in the monodic stile nuovo of Italy, championing the idea that music should be at the service of the drama. This musical circle, both professional and friendly, met frequently at Abendmusiken, or musical evenings, created in 1646 in Lübeck by Franz Tunder, organist of the Marienkirche who was to be succeeded by Buxtehude. Organists, great improvisors, the music of the four composers of this programme often comprises suites of short movements in each of which occur identical or related harmonic and melodic elements, characteristics of improvisation and peculiar to the stylus phantasticus, a musical movement dear to composers of this period.

For their second disc for muso, the Ensemble Stravaganza returns to its favourite repertory to offer a disc that is virtuoso, lyrical, richly sonorous and colourful, and is performed with astonishing naturalness.

Ensemble Stravaganza

The Stravaganza Ensemble
is a baroque formation mainly dedicated to chamber music of the seventeenth and eighteenth century for one or two high-pitched instruments. Brought together by the violinist Domitille Gilon and the harpsichordist Thomas Soltani, musicians take part with enthusiasm and dedication to this musical and human adventure, which makes each concert a unique and rewarding experience for the audience.

The Stravaganza Ensemble includes various formations, with soloist musicians playing regularly in the main baroque orchestras: La Simphonie du Marais (Hugo Reyne), Ensemble Sagittarius (Michel Laplénie), Opéra Fuoco (Jay Bernfeld), Gli Incogniti (Amandine Beyer), Les Ambassadeurs (Alexis Kossenko), Pulcinella (Ophélie Gaillard)...

The Stravaganza Ensemble is regularly invited to numerous international festivals, in France (Festival baroque du Pays du Mont Blanc, Musicale Internationale de Guil Durance, Festival Jeunes-Talents-Paris...), in Scotland (Sypert concert series), in the Netherlands (Fabulous Fringe – Oude Muziek Utrecht), in the United Kingdom, Belgium (Ma Festival), Germany (Tage Alter Musik Regensburg)…

The ensemble has been awarded in 2011 bronze medal of the Academy of Literature and Arts. They also won the third prize and the special prize of critics and medias at the Premio Bonporti competition (Italy), the special prize ''De Graaf Unico van Wassenaer Masterclass Award'' at the van Wassenaer international early music competition in Amsterdam (Netherlands). Recently, Stravaganza has been also winner of the H.I.F Biber competition, in Austria (F.J. Aumann Prize).

The ensemble has been selected to reprensent the France during the showcase organized by the REMA (Réseau européen de musique ancienne in March 2013.

The CD „Concert at the Hapsburg Court“ is the first recording published by the Ensemble. Stravaganza is recording for the label Aparté/Harmonia mundi (CD will be released in September 2012).

The second recording will be release the 24th of September 2013, with works of Arcangelo Corelli - trio Sonatas (Label Aparté).

Stravaganza has the support of the Adami for different concerts tour.

Booklet for Abendmusiken [Buxtehude, Erlebach, Reinken, Theile]

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO