Rachmaninov: Complete Works for Cello and Piano Alexander Ivashkin

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.50
  • Sergei Rachmaninov (1873 - 1943):
  • 1Lied02:51
  • 2 Pieces, Op. 2:
  • 2No. 1. Prelude03:54
  • 3No. 2. Danse orientale06:26
  • 10 Preludes, Op. 23:
  • 4No. 10 in G Major (arr. for cello and piano)03:57
  • Reconstructed by M. Altschuler and R. Hayroudinoff:
  • 5Melody on a theme by Rachmaninov05:47
  • 14 Songs, Op. 34:
  • 6No. 14. Vocalise in E Minor06:42
  • Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19:
  • 7I. Lento - Allegro moderato - Moderato - Allegro molto - Moderato13:18
  • 8II. Allegro scherzando06:35
  • 9III. Andante06:34
  • 10IV. Allegro mosso - Moderato - Tempo I - Moderato - Vivace10:32
  • Total Runtime01:06:36

Info for Rachmaninov: Complete Works for Cello and Piano

Rustem Hayroudinoff follows up the critical success of his recent disc of Rachmaninov's complete Preludes for solo piano with this recording of Rachmaninov's complete works for cello and piano. He is joined on this disc by Alexander Ivashkin, one of today's most distinguished cellists, who has made an enormous contribution to the Chandos catalogue with his benchmark recordings of his native Russian repertoire.

"the young Russian is teamed up with his celebrated compatriot, Alexander Ivashkin, in one of the priceless Rachmaninov discs in the catalogue. From the smooth seduction to brilliant fiery outbursts of the Cello Sonata, we are in the company of a master musician. The Popular Vocalise has never emerged with such beauty, the eleven tracks captured in immaculate sound quality." (Yorkshire Post)

"Alexander Ivashkin and Rustem Hayroudinoff are both players in the great Russian virtuoso tradition, and in the Sonata the piano flourishes all come over with the necessary brilliance, while Ivashkin's tone is strong enough to sail above the most elaborate accompaniments. They're helped by excellent recorded sound, full and well defined. It's obvious that both players are strongly committed to the music." (Gramophone)

Alexander Ivashkin, cello
Rustem Hayroudinoff, piano

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO