Songs From The Road Dana Fuchs

Cover Songs From The Road

Album info



Label: Ruf Records

Genre: Blues

Subgenre: Bluesy Rock

Artist: Dana Fuchs

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 12.00
  • 1Bliss Avenue03:04
  • 2Handful Too Many05:48
  • 3Livin' On Sunday04:05
  • 4How Did Things Get This Way04:24
  • 5So Hard To Move07:07
  • 6Summersong04:30
  • 7Set It On Fire03:49
  • 8Sad Salvation04:58
  • 9Tell Me I'm Not Drinking05:13
  • 10Rodents In The Attic04:04
  • 11Nothin' On My Mind03:48
  • 12Vagabond Wind05:36
  • 13Long Long Game04:55
  • 14Keep On Walkin'05:12
  • 15I've Been Loving You Too Long04:33
  • 16Don't Let Me Down06:28
  • Total Runtime01:17:34

Info for Songs From The Road

The road has led Dana Fuchs everywhere. But when it came to choosing a location for her version of Ruf Records’ now highly anticipated live double set, Songs From The Road, it had to be New York. The singer and the city have history. Almost two decades have passed since Dana left her home in rural Florida and beat a path to the Big Apple. Stepping onto the mean streets of the Lower East Side at age 19, she was an unknown singer with a voice and a dream, ready to slug it out on the city’s jam-circuit.

Since then, New York has been the backdrop to Dana’s well-documented rise. There were the early buzz-sets in the city’s late-night sweatboxes. The off-Broadway musical Love, Janis, which saw the multi-talented performer become the iconic Janis Joplin. The endless shows and sessions all across town. No wonder, then, that for Songs From The Road, the Highline Ballroom on West 16th Street was the perfect fit – and the singer was received like a local hero. As ever, the Songs From The Road concept isn’t about overdubs, Auto-Tune or opulent production, but the honest bottling of the two-way energy that only occurs when great artists go nose-to-nose with their fans. It’s hard to imagine a performer who deserves the treatment more than Dana: a vocalist who means every note, every night.

A live show by the Dana Fuchs Band is an assault on all the senses. As such, comprised in Songs From The Road’s two-disc pack, you’ll find an audio CD capturing the soul power of that classic set on March 14th, 2014, plus a DVD, directed by Kevin Mackall. Prowling the stage, pouring her heart into the microphone and owning every word of every song on the setlist, you won’t question the wisdom of the UK’s Classic Rock Magazine, who famously declared Dana’s once-in-a-generation voice as “juke-joint dirty and illicit, evoking Janis Joplin, Mick Jagger and a cigarette butt bobbing in a glass of bourbon…”

Dana Fuchs
Hailed as the new Janis Joplin, even before she played the legendary rock icon in an off-Broadway musical, Dana Fuchs is a raspy-voiced blues-rock singer/songwriter whose versatile career has embraced music, theater, and film. Born in New Jersey in 1976, she later moved to the small rural town of Wildwood, Florida with her musically oriented family, where, at age 12, she began singing in the First Baptist Gospel Choir. Inspired by her parents' Ray Charles and Hank Williams record collection, she moved to New York to sing the blues after leaving high school, where she teamed up with Jon Diamond, a seasoned guitarist who had previously performed with Joan Osborne.

Together, they formed the Dana Fuchs Band, which built up a reputation as one of the best live acts on the city's blues circuit, leading to Fuchs landing the lead role in the Eric Nederlander production of Randall Myler's Janis Joplin musical, Love Janis.

In 2003, they released their first album, Lonely for a Lifetime, through Antler King Records, but Fuchs put the band on hold until 2008 in order to concentrate on other commitments. She starred as Sadie in Julie Taymor's 2007 Beatles-based musical romantic drama Across the Universe, singing two solos ("Helter Skelter" and "Why Don't We Do It in the Road"), made a brief cameo in the 2008 ensemble piece New York, I Love You, and wrote and performed on the soundtrack to the Maggie Gyllenhaal movie Sherrybaby.

After 2008's Live in NYC, recorded at B.B. King's, she toured with Ray Davies and Dickey Betts before releasing her second studio album, Love to Beg, via her own label in 2011.

Booklet for Songs From The Road

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO