Schubert: Piano Works Giuseppe Bruno

Album info



Label: OnClassical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Giuseppe Bruno

Composer: Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 14.50
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Piano Sonata in A-Flat Major, D. 557:
  • 1Schubert: Piano Sonata in A-Flat Major, D. 557: I. Allegro moderato04:31
  • 2Schubert: Piano Sonata in A-Flat Major, D. 557: II. Andante03:31
  • 3Schubert: Piano Sonata in A-Flat Major, D. 557: III. Allegro05:22
  • Piano Sonata in B Major, Op. Posth. 147, D. 575:
  • 4Schubert: Piano Sonata in B Major, Op. Posth. 147, D. 575: I. Allegro ma non troppo08:46
  • 5Schubert: Piano Sonata in B Major, Op. Posth. 147, D. 575: II. Andante06:34
  • 6Schubert: Piano Sonata in B Major, Op. Posth. 147, D. 575: III. Scherzo05:45
  • 7Schubert: Piano Sonata in B Major, Op. Posth. 147, D. 575: IV. Allegro giusto05:46
  • Fantasie in C Major, Op. 15, D. 760:
  • 8Schubert: Fantasie in C Major, Op. 15, D. 760: I. Allegro con fuoco ma non troppo07:11
  • 9Schubert: Fantasie in C Major, Op. 15, D. 760: II. Adagio07:31
  • 10Schubert: Fantasie in C Major, Op. 15, D. 760: III. Presto05:48
  • 11Schubert: Fantasie in C Major, Op. 15, D. 760: IV. Allegro04:16
  • Total Runtime01:05:01

Info for Schubert: Piano Works

Franz Schubert's Piano Sonata in A-flat major D 557 was composed in May 1817. The work is relatively short and a performance takes somewhat between 10 and 15 minutes. The sonata is cheerful and uncomplicated, and carries remembrances of Mozart and the Baroque era. The fact that the last movement is in the key of E-flat major rather than the tonic key of A-flat major is evidence in favor of Schubert possibly intending to add a fourth movement, although the extant third movement has much of the character of a finale.

The Piano Sonata in B major D 575 by Franz Schubert is a sonata for solo piano, posthumously published as Op. 147 and given a dedication to Sigismond Thalberg by its publishers. Schubert composed the sonata in August 1817. Daniel Coren has noted that the first movement of this sonata is the only such movement in Schubert's sonatas where the recapitulation is an exact transposition of the exposition.

The Fantasie in C major, Op. 15 (D. 760), popularly known as the Wanderer Fantasy, is a four-movement fantasy for solo piano composed by Franz Schubert in 1822. It is widely considered Schubert's most technically demanding composition for the piano. Schubert himself said "the devil may play it," in reference to his own inability to do so properly.

Italian pianist Giuseppe Bruno continues his exploration of Schubert’s complete piano works.

The recording was captured by two Brüel & Kjaer microphones by sound engineer Alessandro Simonetto.

Giuseppe Bruno

Giuseppe Bruno
graduated with honors in Piano, Composition and Conductorship with Professors Specchi, Zangelmi and Taverna. Maestro Bruno specialized in piano with Paolo Bordoni and in conductorship with Leopold Hager. He has attended a seminar in composition at the IRCAM in Paris. Performing for several years as a pianist in many different chamber ensembles as well as a brilliant soloist. He has played with many important orchestras in Italy, USA, Greece, Romania and Germany in a repertory that goes from Mozart to Dallapiccola. From 1987 to 1992 he participated in the “Due Mondi” festival in Spoleto Italy and in 1988 in the Charleston festival in the USA.

In 1991 Maestro Bruno received an award at the International Piano Contest in Rome and in 1992 he received a second award in a duo with violin player Alberto Bologni at the “Viotti” in Vercelli, Italy. He recorded for Nuova Fonit Cetra, Diapason, SAM, Bongiovanni, Ars publica, Ars Musici, as well as for RAI, Swiss French and Italian radio and for WDR in Koeln. He collaborated with directors including Alkis Baltas, Spiros Argiris, Franz Lamprecht, Corneliu Dumbraveanu, violin player Sashko Gawriloff, singers Gail Gilmore and Victor von Halem, and with the Octet of Berlin Philharmonic. He is currently a member of the “Trio Petrarca”. In the past few years he has been acknowledged as a highly regarded conductor in Italy and abroad. Maestro Bruno is at present the Director of the "Giacomo Puccini" Conservatory, in La Spezia, Italy.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO