The Brazilian-American Soundtrack Bob Baldwin

Album info



Label: City Sketches Inc

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Smooth Jazz

Artist: Bob Baldwin

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.50
  • 1Funky Rio08:49
  • 2Ipanema Fusion06:35
  • 3Teardrop05:50
  • 4Caipirinha07:19
  • 5Corcovado / The Redeemer05:18
  • 6Greatest Lover04:46
  • 7Boa Noite01:53
  • 8Looking at Me05:47
  • 9Anjo De Mim05:59
  • 10The Island04:02
  • 11Eu Te Devoro05:33
  • 12Oasis05:01
  • 13Love Dance / May I Have This Dance04:49
  • 14Children of the Sun04:01
  • 15Home from Work05:41
  • 16The Sound of His Voice (For Maurice White)07:29
  • 17My Soul06:10
  • 18For You05:27
  • 19Summer Madness (Remix 3000)06:01
  • 20Yesterday06:52
  • 21South of the Border07:07
  • 22Mobile and Global05:11
  • 23Summer's Over06:27
  • 24I Need the Air (You Breathe)06:09
  • 25State of Mind07:26
  • 26The Message (A Maurice White Dedication)02:53
  • Total Runtime02:28:35

Info for The Brazilian-American Soundtrack

The album reignites Baldwin’s affair with the seductive and sensual sounds of Brazil, which first served as his muse on his 2004 love letter, “Brazil Chill.” Three years in the making and recorded on two continents, “The Brazilian-American Soundtrack” is presented in two movements: Rio-Ipanema and New York. Baldwin employed an accomplished cast of Brazilian and Latin musicians – percussionists Café Da Silva, Rafael Pereira and Armando Marcal, and guitarist Torcuato Mariano – to construct the exotic rhythms on tunes such as the energizing first single, “Ipanema Fusion,” “Funky Rio,” “Teardrop” and “Oasis Of Love,” and when reimaging music from masters Antonio Carlos Jobim (“Corcovado”), Ivan Lins (“Anjo De Mim,” “The Island” and “Love Dance”) and Djavan (“Eu Te Devoro”). Baldwin uses first-call session players, vocalists and prominent soloists – Marion Meadows (sax), Gabriel Mark Hasselbach (trumpet) and Marlon McClain (guitar) to name a few – to craft soul-soaked, funk-flavored urban grooves including a pair of tunes (“Maurice” and “The Message”) that pay tribute to Maurice White, the influential creator and leader of Earth, Wind & Fire, who passed away as Baldwin was finishing the record.

On “The Brazilian-American Soundtrack,” melody-rich explorations abound anchored by Baldwin’s agile keyboard, Rhodes and piano artistry. The date, which became Baldwin’s ninth album to hit the Billboard Top 20, also benefits from his soothing tenor voice, bass, drums, percussion, Moog bass, Melodica, strings and clave contributions.

Bob Baldwin
New York native Bob Baldwin has recorded on six of the seven inhabitable continents, and while Antarctica is not on his recording bucket list, his international list, including Dubai, Brazil, South Africa, Spain, UK, Canada, is quite impressive. "Whether it's a crowd of 30,000 or a small restaurant of 60, I refuse to rob my audience of great music and a good experience", says Baldwin.

His 'theme' projects of Stevie Wonder, Thom Bell and Michael Jackson have all charted mightily on the Billboard Jazz charts, all hitting in the top 15.

His latest releases "Never Can Say Goodbye" and "Never out Of Season", were both remixed and remastered in the spirit of hi-def. Whereas older recordings would peak at the average 16-bit maximum, Bob is trying to push the envelope in re-tracking some of the music in 24-bit (and sometimes 32-bit mode).

What's next? Well...funny you should ask. Bob Baldwin will be releasing another cool theme project of a very special music group...stay tuned.

The Brazilian-American Soundtrack (2016) was his 22nd disc, and is a fantastic journey through Rio, Ipanema Beach, Atlanta and New York City and showcases original music, plus music from legendary writers and artists like Djavan, Ivan Lins and Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Also, check out his 23rd disc, "The Gift of Christmas", featuring Marcus Anderson and Corvina Nielsen, released in 2016.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO