Apollo Et Hyacinthus The Mozartists & Ian Page

Cover Apollo Et Hyacinthus

Album info



Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Opera

Artist: The Mozartists & Ian Page

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
FLAC 192 $ 14.00
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38:
  • 1Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 1: Intrada02:41
  • 2Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 2. Recitativo. Amice! Iam parata sunt omnia (Hyacinthus/Zephyrus/Oebalus/Melia)02:53
  • 3Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 3. Chorus. Numen o Latonium (Chorus/Oebalus)04:26
  • 4Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 4. Recitativo. Heu me! Periimus! (Melia/Oebalus/Hyacinthus/Zephyrus)01:24
  • 5Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 5. Aria. Saepe terrent Numina (Hyacinthus)07:48
  • 6Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 6. Recitativo. Ah Nate! Vera loqueris (Oebalus/Apollo/Hyacinthus/Melia/Zephyrus)03:04
  • 7Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 7. Aria. Iam pastor Apollo (Apollo)03:46
  • 8Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 8. Recitativo. Amare numquid Filia (Oebalus/Melia)01:49
  • 9Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 9. Aria. Laetari, iocari (Melia)06:39
  • 10Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 10. Recitativo. Rex! De salute Filii (Zephyrus/Oebalus/Melia)05:22
  • 11Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 11. Aria. En! Duos conspicis (Zephyrus)03:08
  • 12Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 12. Recitativo. Heu! Numen! Ecce! (Zephyrus/Melia/Apollo)02:05
  • 13Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 13. Duetto. Discede crudelis! (Melia/Apollo)06:22
  • 14Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 14. Recitativo accompagnato: Non est – Quis ergo Nate! (Hyacinthus/Oebalus)02:35
  • 15Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 15. Aria. Ut navis in aequore luxuriante (Oebalus)06:16
  • 16Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 16. Recitativo. Quocumque me converto (Melia, Oebalus)02:56
  • 17Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 17. Duetto. Natus cadit, atque Deus (Oebalus/Melia)05:42
  • 18Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 18. Recitativo. Rex! Me redire cogit (Apollo/Oebalus/Melia)04:49
  • 19Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38: No 19. Terzetto. Tandem post turbida fulmina (Apollo/Melia/Oebalus)02:45
  • Total Runtime01:16:30

Info for Apollo Et Hyacinthus

Following its successful full length opera, ‘Artaxerxes’, Classical Opera return with the first in an epic series of Mozart operas ‘Apollo et Hyacinthus’.

Classical Opera has mounted two staged productions of Mozart's Apollo et Hyacinthus (1998 and 2006), with both receiving wide critical acclaim.

This recording has been eagerly awaited since its 2007 debut CD, ‘The A-Z of Mozart Opera’ was released, described by David Vickers in Gramophone as ‘glorious...fresh, diverse, insightful and illuminating’.

With inspiriting conducting lissom and, where apt, punchy orchestral playing, and first-rate singing from company regulars, their performance of this thoroughly charming intermedio could hardly be bettered...the bright, extrovert Lawrence Zazzo contrasts well with the more contained, rounded tones of Christopher Ainslie...Klara Ek and Sophie Bevan bring to their arias a poise and panache.July 2012. (Gramophone Magazine)

It's an astonishing piece for an 11 year-old, of course, though not in the same league as Mozart's mature works. The Classical Opera Company principals do very nicely by it. Tenor Andrew Kennedy, sopranos Sophie Bevan and Klara Ek and countertenor Lawrence Zazzo are all excellent, and Ian Page's band is neat and stylish. July 2012. (BBC Music Magazine)

Even by the standards of Mozart's astonishingly precocious childhood, this is an extraordinary achievement...Ian Page, setting out on an epic Mozart series for Linn, conducts a top cast, ...with the crisp and alert Classical Opera orchestra driven along by the fine harpsichordist Steven Devine.10th June 2012 (The Observer)

Klara Ek, soprano (Melia)
Sophie Bevan, soprano (Hyacinthus)
Lawrence Zazzo, counter-tenor(Apollo)
Christopher Ainslie, (Zephyrus)
Andrew Kennedy, tenor (Oebalus)
Marcus Farnsworth, baritone
David Shipley, counter-tenor (Priests of Apollo)
Classical Opera
Ian Page, conductor

Ian Page
is the founder, conductor and artistic director of Classical Opera and The Mozartists. He began his musical education as a chorister at Westminster Abbey, and studied English Literature at the University of York before completing his studies at the Royal Academy of Music in London. At the start of his career he worked on the music staff at Scottish Opera, Opera Factory, Drottningholm and Glyndebourne, working with such conductors as Sir Alexander Gibson, Nicholas McGegan, Mark Wigglesworth, Ivor Bolton and Sir Charles Mackerras.

With Classical Opera he has conducted most of Mozart’s operas, including the world premières of the “original” version of Mitridate, re di Ponto and a new completion of Zaide, as well as the UK premières of Gluck’s La clemenza di Tito, Telemann’s Orpheus and Jommelli’s Il Vologeso, and the first new staging for 250 years of Johann Christian Bach’s Adriano in Siria. In 2009 he made his Royal Opera House début conducting Arne’s Artaxerxes at the Linbury Studio Theatre, and his studio recording of the work was released in 2011 on Linn Records.

He also devised and conducted Classical Opera’s recordings of ‘The A-Z of Mozart Opera’ (Signum Classics) and ‘Blessed Spirit – a Gluck retrospective’ (Wigmore Hall Live), both of which were selected for Gramophone magazine’s annual Critics’ Choice, and in 2012 he embarked on a new complete cycle of Mozart opera recordings with Classical Opera. He is the creator and driving force behind of MOZART 250, a ground-breaking 27-year journey through Mozart’s life, works and influences, and in 2017 founded The Mozartists to facilitate his ever-expanding concert work.

Ian is deeply committed to nurturing and championing outstanding young singers and players – for several years he was a professor at the Royal College of Music, and he has given masterclasses for the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and The Royal Opera’s Jette Parker Young Artists Programme. He is also a passionate spokesman for classical music, opera and the arts, and has broadcast on BBC 4 and Sky Arts.

The Mozartists
were created in 2017 by conductor, Ian Page, as a natural extension of his pioneering work with internationally renowned opera company, Classical Opera.

Classical Opera is best known for its current series, Mozart 250, in which they perform each year the operas and music that Mozart and his contemporaries composed 250 years ago. Comprising many of today’s leading period instrumentalists, The Mozartists perform alongside some of the world’s most exciting young singers.

In this concert, The Mozartists present a wide- ranging selection of works by Haydn, including a piano trio, songs, duets and some of his most delightful folksong settings, interspersed with two dramatically charged A minor sonatas by Mozart and Koželuch, played on the fortepiano by Steven Devine.

Booklet for Apollo Et Hyacinthus

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO