Cover O'Regan: The Phoenix (Live)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 22.50
  • Tarik O'Regan (b. 1978): The Phoenix, Act I:
  • 1The Phoenix, Act I: Overture (Live)03:23
  • 2The Phoenix, Act I: E tu questa, la chiami un' ouvertura? (Live)03:51
  • 3The Phoenix, Act I: Signore e signori (Live)02:04
  • 4The Phoenix, Act I: Omnipotens sempiterne Deus (Live)05:14
  • 5The Phoenix, Act I: Bravi! Bravi! (Live)01:13
  • 6The Phoenix, Act I: Amici dell' Arte! (Live)00:41
  • 7The Phoenix, Act I: Everybody's in Disguise (Live)00:41
  • 8The Phoenix, Act I: Angela, carissima! (Live)01:19
  • 9The Phoenix, Act I: Everybody's So Devout (Live)00:47
  • 10The Phoenix, Act I: I Dreamed of a Life of the Mind (Live)03:53
  • 11The Phoenix, Act I: Casanova, the Very Man! (Live)01:23
  • 12The Phoenix, Act I: We Live as We Can (Live)01:59
  • 13The Phoenix, Act I: Everyone's Conspiring (Live)00:46
  • 14The Phoenix, Act I: Serenissima? Not for Much Longer (Live)00:21
  • 15The Phoenix, Act I: This Year, in Philadelphia (Live)03:10
  • 16The Phoenix, Act I: Te, Laurentio da Ponte (Live)01:10
  • 17The Phoenix, Act I: Mutazione! (Venice) [Live]01:15
  • 18The Phoenix, Act I: The Phoenix Burns to Be Reborn (Live)01:12
  • 19The Phoenix, Act I: Here, at the Heart of the Holy Roman Empire (Live)01:58
  • 20The Phoenix, Act I: Is It True, What They Say? (Live)01:09
  • 21The Phoenix, Act I: Di gemme e di stelle (Live)00:27
  • 22The Phoenix, Act I: I Feed My Composers Exquisite Language (Live)01:31
  • 23The Phoenix, Act I: Da Ponte, mio caro (Live)01:05
  • 24The Phoenix, Act I: Give Me Your Hand, Dear Abbé (Live)01:46
  • 25The Phoenix, Act I: Beaumarchais? (Live)00:29
  • 26The Phoenix, Act I: We're Slaves in Service (Live)02:05
  • 27The Phoenix, Act I: Bravo! (Live)00:43
  • 28The Phoenix, Act I: How Am I Doing? (Live)03:52
  • 29The Phoenix, Act I: My Dearest Friends (Live)03:04
  • 30The Phoenix, Act I: What's This? (Live)01:47
  • 31The Phoenix, Act I: Happy the Men Who Can Think What They Want (Live)01:47
  • 32The Phoenix, Act I: Man, That Is Born of a Woman (Live)05:26
  • 33The Phoenix, Act I: Mutazione! (London) [Live]03:04
  • 34The Phoenix, Act I: Signore e signori, the Story Moves On (Live)01:02
  • 35The Phoenix, Act I: Time Flows By (Live)07:20
  • 36The Phoenix, Act I: What Is It, My Love? (Live)00:52
  • 37The Phoenix, Act I: Twelve Years Have Passed (Live)03:04
  • 38The Phoenix, Act I: I'm Fifty-Five and I Am Old (Live)03:34
  • The Phoenix, Act II:
  • 39The Phoenix, Act II: Introduction (Live)01:33
  • 40The Phoenix, Act II: Today, in Philadelphia (Live)02:56
  • 41The Phoenix, Act II: Morning (Live)02:19
  • 42The Phoenix, Act II: How Did We Do Today? (Live)01:15
  • 43The Phoenix, Act II: That's Just How It Was (Live)00:36
  • 44The Phoenix, Act II: Che mai faremo? (Live)02:37
  • 45The Phoenix, Act II: Li fai sembrare cosi felici insieme (Live)00:34
  • 46The Phoenix, Act II: Signor Riley! (Live)00:23
  • 47The Phoenix, Act II: Pardon Me, Sir (Live)01:50
  • 48The Phoenix, Act II: I Speak Only of the Best! (Live)01:19
  • 49The Phoenix, Act II: Quale cappello e nero? (Live)01:58
  • 50The Phoenix, Act II: Non duro molto (Live)00:48
  • 51The Phoenix, Act II: Susquehanna (Live)04:03
  • 52The Phoenix, Act II: Enzo! (Live)01:43
  • 53The Phoenix, Act II: Amade (Live)03:14
  • 54The Phoenix, Act II: Devo andar via di qui! (Live)01:19
  • 55The Phoenix, Act II: You Fed Me Dante (Live)03:02
  • 56The Phoenix, Act II: Susquehanna (Reprise) [Live]04:00
  • 57The Phoenix, Act II: La Vita di Benvenuto Cellini (Live)01:46
  • 58The Phoenix, Act II: The Phoenix Burns to Be Reborn (Live)01:10
  • 59The Phoenix, Act II: But, Darling, the Money (Live)02:17
  • 60The Phoenix, Act II: I Declare, So Help Me God (Live)03:10
  • 61The Phoenix, Act II: And Then We Held the Stars and Stripes (Live)04:40
  • 62The Phoenix, Act II: Man, That Is Born of a Woman (Live)03:37
  • 63The Phoenix, Act II: Addio fedeli amici (Live)04:49
  • 64The Phoenix, Act II: Amici, amici (Live)01:56
  • 65The Phoenix, Act II: Ma com' e andata? (Live)05:03
  • Total Runtime02:24:24

Info for O'Regan: The Phoenix (Live)

PENTATONE continues its American Opera Series with Houston Grand Opera’s world premiere recording of Tarik O’Regan’s The Phoenix (2019), an opera on the life of Lorenzo da Ponte, Mozart’s favorite librettist. Da Ponte (1749-1838) was an adventurer, who not only travelled the world, but in a way also through time, living across what seem to be impossible moments of history that never should have aligned in somebody’s life. Together with librettist John Caird, O’Regan has designed The Phoenix as an opera within an opera, exploring Da Ponte’s life in the US, and as such providing a fascinating perspective on America as a nation of immigrants. The young and elder Da Ponte are created by Luca Pisaroni and Thomas Hampson, respectively. Music director Patrick Summers conducts the Houston Grand Opera.

Thomas Hampson, baritone (Lorenzo Da ¨Ponte, Sr.)
Luca Pisaroni, bass-baritone (Lorenzo Da Ponte, Jr.)
Rihab Chaieb, mezzo-soprano (Maria Malibran / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)
Joseph Kaiser, tenor (Patrick Kelly / Giacomo Casanova / Emperor Joseph II)
Lauren Snouffer, soprano (Giulietta)
Elizabeth Sutphen, soprano (Faustina)
Houston Grand Opera Orchestra and Chorus
John Caird, direction
Patrick Summers, conductor

Houston Grand Opera (HGO)
The Houston Grand Opera Orchestra is one of the premiere opera orchestras in North America. Founded in 1955, it has grown from a small regional orchestra to forty-nine members. The opera company has been performing in its home theater, the Wortham Center, since 1987, and performs six mainstage operas per year, along with other smaller productions both in the Wortham Theater and throughout city of Houston. The orchestra has been praised for its performances of standard operas as well as its many premieres of new operas throughout the years. In the past, the orchestra was conducted by John DeMain and is now led by music director Patrick Summers.

Patrick Summers
is the artistic and music director of Houston Grand Opera and principal guest conductor of San Francisco Opera. In the 2015–16 season, Mr. Summers leads two world premieres: Jake Heggie and Terrence McNally’s Great Scott at Dallas Opera, and Carlisle Floyd’s Prince of Players at Houston Grand Opera, where he also conducts Verdi’s Tosca and the La Fura del Baus production of Wagner’s Siegfried. With the San Francisco Opera he conducts Sondheim’s Sweeney Todd. Recent guest engagements have included Donizetti’s Anna Bolena at Lyric Opera of Chicago, The Enchanted Island at Metropolitan Opera, André Previn’s A Streetcar Named Desire at Los Angeles Opera, and Mozart’s The Magic Flute at the Bregenz Festival in Austria. Mr. Summers has facilitated and performed more than a dozen world premieres, and he is a leading proponent for contemporary American opera and music, collaborating with many of today’s most successful and performed composers, among them Jake Heggie, Carlisle Floyd, Christopher Theofanidis, and Philip Glass. Mr. Summers has conducted a wide range of repertoire from Baroque to bel canto to German Romantic, and has appeared with companies including Deutsche Oper Berlin, Welsh National Opera, Rome Opera, Norwegian Opera, and Opera Australia, among others.

Booklet for O'Regan: The Phoenix (Live)

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO