Bach Motets Solomon's Knot

Cover Bach Motets

Album info



Label: Prospero Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Solomon's Knot

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.40
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 1Bach: Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 229: I. Komm, Jesu, komm06:49
  • 2Bach: Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 229: II. Drum schließ ich mich in deine Hände01:21
  • Johann Christoph Bach (1642 - 1703):
  • 3Bach: Lieber Herr Gott, wecke uns auf04:26
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 4Bach: Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf BWV 226: I. Der Geist hilft03:21
  • 5Bach: Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf BWV 226: II. Der aber die Herzen forschet02:32
  • 6Bach: Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf BWV 226: III. Du heilige Brunst01:43
  • Johann Christoph Bach:
  • 7Bach: Der Gerechte, ob er gleich zu zeitlich stirbt04:29
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 8Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: I. Jesu, meine Freude01:03
  • 9Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: II. Es ist nun nichts Verdammliches02:39
  • 10Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: III. Unter deinem Schirmen01:03
  • 11Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: IV. Denn das Gesetz00:53
  • 12Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: V. Trotz dem alten Drachen02:21
  • 13Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: VI. Ihr aber seid nicht fleischlich02:53
  • 14Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: VII. Weg mit allen Schätzen01:00
  • 15Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: VIII. So aber Christus in euch ist01:51
  • 16Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: IX. Gute Nacht, o Wesen03:54
  • 17Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: X. So nun der Geist … in euch wohnet01:24
  • 18Bach: Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227: XI. Weicht, ihr Trauergeister01:09
  • 19Bach: Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden BWV 23006:19
  • Johann Christoph Bach:
  • 20Bach: Fürchte dich nicht04:36
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 21Bach: Fürchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir BWV 22808:39
  • Johann Christoph Bach:
  • 22Bach: Herr, nun lässest du deinen Diener in Friede fahren05:14
  • 23Bach: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV 225: I. Singet dem Herrn04:40
  • 24Bach: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV 225: II. Wie sich ein Vat'r erbarmet08:58
  • 25Bach: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV 225: III. Lobet den Herrn in seinen Taten03:30
  • 26Bach: Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn BWV 116404:33
  • Total Runtime01:31:20

Info for Bach Motets

This recording features the complete motets by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), set in the context of music from the previous generation of his family which inspired him. In his final decade, JS Bach researched and performed motets by his father’s cousin, Johann Christoph (1642-1703), whom he greatly admired. Although Johann Sebastian took the motet genre (and presumably his singers) to the limits of possibility, one can also hear the strong influence of the family tradition.

This is the first of a series of location-specific Solomon’s Knot recording projects. They have chosen Arnstadt’s inspirational Bachkirche for these works, not only for its wonderful acoustic, but also as a place which connects the two Bachs: Johann Christoph was born in Arnstadt, and Johann Sebastian’s first job as an organist was at the church, which came to be named after him.

Solomons Knot

Solomon's Knot
Determined to communicate the full power of 17th- and 18th-century music as directly as possible, the collective Solomon’s Knot was founded in London in 2008. Led by artistic director Jonathan Sells, the group performs without a conductor, the singers by heart.

What began a decade ago as a promise never to lose the joy of performing, to blow the dust off early music and break down the barriers of classical music has evolved into Solomon’s Knot’s reputation today: direct communication, adventurous programming and bold trademark performances from memory.

Our flexible approach enables us to explore a wide range of repertoire, especially music written before 1800, from the madrigals of Gesualdo to JS Bach’s Mass in B minor with 10 singers and 20 instrumentalists, or the rediscovery of the anonymous opera Lospedale' (ca. 1650), available on DVD.

By exploring new ways of presenting ancient music to ‘modern’ ears, eyes and minds, we work closely together with directors, composers, choreographers, visual artists, and other ensembles. From 2013-2017 Solomon’s Knot was part of Snape Malting’s inaugural Open Space development scheme. Recent collaborations include projects with Spira mirabilis, Sven Werner, James Hurley, Tim Caroll, Federay Holmes and Les Passions de l’Ame.

We are grateful to Sir John Eliot Gardiner for his invitations to the Bachfest Leipzig in 2016 and his Barbican Bach Weekend in 2018. We have also appeared at the Aldeburgh Festival, Händel-Festspiele Halle, Newbury Spring Festival, Thüringer Bachwochen, Regensburger Tage Alter Musik, Spitalfields Music Winter Festival, London Handel Festival, and St John’s Smith Square Christmas Festival.

Solomon’s Knot finished 2018 with the revival of our project ‘Christmas in Leipzig' in Nottingham and London’s Milton Court, recorded live and released on Sony Classical in 2019. “Time and again zig-zagging choruses, lightly accompanied, sprang into fire almost as if by spontaneous combustion. Most exciting.” The Times *****

Concerts in 2019 included our Wigmore Hall debut with the second version of JS Bach’s Johannes-Passion, returns to the Thüringer Bachwochen, Leipzig Bachfest, and St George’s Bristol, a residency at the Ryedale Festival, and our first appearance at the Bachwochen in Thun (Switzerland).

SKonnect, Solomon’s Knot’s education strategy, aims to take the excitement of so-called ‘early’ music into classrooms and workshops around the UK and further afield. Recently, schools in Nottingham and London have benefitted from hearing musicians perform for them live and explain the wonders of this colourful and exhilarating repertoire.

Booklet for Bach Motets

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO