Prokofiev - Works for Violin and Piano Thomas Albertus Irnberger & Michael Korstick

Cover Prokofiev - Works for Violin and Piano

Album info



Label: Gramola Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Thomas Albertus Irnberger & Michael Korstick

Composer: Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Sergei Prokofiev (1891 - 1953): Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 94a:
  • 1Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 94a - I - Moderato07:53
  • 2Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 94a - II - Scherzo: Presto04:47
  • 3Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 94a - III - Andante04:16
  • 4Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 94a - IV - Allegro con brio07:12
  • Five Melodies, Op. 35a:
  • 5Prokofiev: Five Melodies, Op. 35a - I - Andante02:11
  • 6Prokofiev: Five Melodies, Op. 35a - II - Lento, ma non troppo03:04
  • 7Prokofiev: Five Melodies, Op. 35a - III - Animato, ma non allegro03:27
  • 8Prokofiev: Five Melodies, Op. 35a - IV - Allegretto leggiero e scherzando01:23
  • 9Prokofiev: Five Melodies, Op. 35a - V - Andante non troppo03:37
  • Sonata for Violin solo, Op. 115:
  • 10Prokofiev: Sonata for Violin solo, Op. 115 - I - Moderato05:09
  • 11Prokofiev: Sonata for Violin solo, Op. 115 - II - Andante dolce03:15
  • 12Prokofiev: Sonata for Violin solo, Op. 115 - III - Con brio03:49
  • Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano, Op. 80:
  • 13Prokofiev: Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 - I - Andante assai07:00
  • 14Prokofiev: Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 - II - Allegro brusco06:47
  • 15Prokofiev: Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 - III - Andante08:14
  • 16Prokofiev: Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 - IV - Allegrissimo07:46
  • Five Pieces from "Cinderella":
  • 17Prokofiev: Five Pieces from "Cinderella" - I - Grande Valse. Allegretto06:39
  • 18Prokofiev: Five Pieces from "Cinderella" - II - Gavotte. Allegretto02:34
  • 19Prokofiev: Five Pieces from "Cinderella" - III - Horn-Pipe. Allegretto01:50
  • 20Prokofiev: Five Pieces from "Cinderella" - IV - Winter Fairy. Moderato, quasi allegretto04:34
  • 21Prokofiev: Five Pieces from "Cinderella" - V - Winter Fairy. Moderato, quasi allegretto02:37
  • Total Runtime01:38:04

Info for Prokofiev - Works for Violin and Piano

Thomas Albertus Irnberger, the Salzburg violinist, who performs worldwide, and Michael Korstick, piano, internationally known for his Beethoven interpretations, release works by Sergei Prokofiev for violin and piano on this double album. With unmatched precision in ensemble play and critically acclaimed virtuosity, the performers present the two sonatas for violin and piano, Op. 80 and Op. 94a, the "Five Melodies, Op. 35a" and "Five Pieces from Cinderella". Also included on this recording is the Sonata for Violin solo, Op. 115. Irnberger dedicates this recording to Igor Oistrakh, who was born in Ukraine and died in 2021, from whom he received important impulses for his own playing, and whose father David Oistrakh was one of the most important Prokofiev interpreters and friends of the composer.

Thomas Albertus Irnberger, violin
Michael Korstick, piano

Thomas Albertus Irnberger
born in Salzburg, is among Austria’s leading violinists. The German specialist press wrote: “like hardly any other young artist in his field, in recent years Irnberger has secured himself a leading position amongst Europe’s violinist elite.”

At the age of 15 in the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels he celebrated a debut that attracted widespread attention as the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto.

Since then Thomas Albertus Irnberger has performed as a soloist and chamber musician in major concert halls in Europe, Israel and in Asia, for instance in the Herkulessaal in Munich, the Konzerthaus Berlin, the Beethovenhalle in Bonn, the “Glocke” in Bremen, the Laeiszhalle Hamburg, the Stadthalle in Karlsruhe, the Meistersingerhalle Nuremberg, the Liederhalle Stuttgart, the Fairfield Hall London, the Museum of Art, Tel Aviv, the Henry Crown Auditorium, Jerusalem, the Rebecca Crown Auditorium, Jerusalem, the Heichal HaTarbut, Rishon LeZion, the Théatre des Champs-Elysées, Paris, the Casals Hall, Tokyo and in the Musikverein in Vienna.

He has been a guest at renowned international festivals such as for example, the “Festivals internationales de Violon – Signé Ivry Gitlis” in France, the Mahler-Festival Toblach/Dobbiaco, the Weilburger Schlosskonzerte, the Menuhin Festival Blonay, the Karel Halír Festival Prague, the Bruckner Fest Linz etc.

At the age of 17 his debut double CDs featuring works by Hindemith, Debussy, Enescu, Paganini, Kreisler, Fauré and Elgar was released by Pan Classics and received excellent critiques in the specialist press in which his “brilliant technical ability combined with a mature creative power and sophisticated sound”, his “differentiated tone colours”, and his “assured feeling for style” were singled out for praise.

In 2004 he signed an exclusive contract with the established Vienna label Gramola and built up a notable and much acclaimed discography. In 2022 this artist will present his 62nd CD recording.

His recordings have regularly been the recipients of prizes and top rankings from the international press:

American Record Guide – Critic’s Choice, Supersonic Award – Luxembourg, Opus dʼor – Paris, Choc de musique –Paris , top recording on several occasions (10 stars) at Klassik heute – Germany, 5 stars in Ensemble Magazine – Germany, several recommendations by Crescendo magazine – Germany, nomination for the Amadeus Classic Award 2006, Strad Selection – London, Gramophone recommendation – London, Oe1-CD of the Day and of the Month, Oe1 Pasticcio Prize, CD des Tages plus at Radio Stephansdom (Radio Klassik), Radio-Bremen recommendation, Grand prix du disque – honorary diploma Franz Liszt 2012, ION Arts Washington “10 worldʼs best classic CDs 2011”, Fanfare Magazine recommendations – New York, American Record Review – Recommendations, The Record Geijutsu – Tokyo etc …CD of the week at the Bayrischer Rundfunk, MDR – Figaro, SWR and WDR, Radio Toscana and Radio Bolzano etc …

His regular chamber music partners include such noted figures as Paul Badura-Skoda, Jörg Demus, Michael Korstick, David Geringas, Barbara Moser, Pavel Kašpar and Edoardo Torbianelli. Since 2008 Thomas Albertus Irnberger has devoted himself to research into and the rediscovery of “ostracised composers” and in Israel he played the first performance of the violin concerto by Hans Gál. Enthusiastic critics wrote in this regard: “Music that represents a revelation”. A further focal point of his work together with Barbara Moser is the wide field of music by female composers which, unjustly, does not yet enjoy the status it deserves.

Booklet for Prokofiev - Works for Violin and Piano

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO