Cover Caffe=Hauß Zimmermann

Album info



Label: Audax Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Anne-Suse Enßle and Reinhard Führer

Composer: Francois Couperin (1668-1733), Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767), Johann Gottlieb Goldberg (1727-1756), Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 13.50
  • Tomaso Albinoni (1671 - 1751): Sonata in A Minor:
  • 1Sonata in A Minor: I. Adagio02:40
  • 2Sonata in A Minor: II. Allegro03:29
  • 3Sonata in A Minor: III. Adagio #01:51
  • 4Sonata in A Minor: IV. Allegro #02:47
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 5Trio super "Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr'", BWV 66404:26
  • Johann Gottlieb Goldberg (1727 - 1756): Sonata in C Major:
  • 6Sonata in C Major: I. Adagio (After BWV 1037)02:22
  • 7Sonata in C Major: II. Alla breve (After BWV 1037)02:57
  • 8Sonata in C Major: III. Largo (After BWV 1037)01:34
  • 9Sonata in C Major: IV. Gigue (After BWV 1037)05:01
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 10Chorale Prelude "Jesus, meine Zuversicht", BWV 72802:02
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 - 1767): Methodical Sonata No. 11, TWV 41:d2:
  • 11Methodical Sonata No. 11, TWV 41:d2: I. Andante02:05
  • 12Methodical Sonata No. 11, TWV 41:d2: II. Allegro02:00
  • 13Methodical Sonata No. 11, TWV 41:d2: III. Tempo giusto01:40
  • 14Methodical Sonata No. 11, TWV 41:d2: IV. Vivace02:32
  • 15Methodical Sonata No. 11, TWV 41:d2: V. Allegro #00:35
  • François Couperin (1668 - 1733):
  • 16Second livre de pièces de clavecin, Sixieme ordre: VI. Les Bergeries. Rondeau03:37
  • Les goûts-réunis, Sixième Concert:
  • 17Les goûts-réunis, Sixième Concert: I. Gravement et mesuré02:15
  • 18Les goûts-réunis, Sixième Concert: II. Allemande. Vivement02:36
  • 19Les goûts-réunis, Sixième Concert: III. Sarabande. Noblement03:17
  • 20Les goûts-réunis, Sixième Concert: IV. Air de Diable. Tres viste01:48
  • 21Les goûts-réunis, Sixième Concert: V. Siciliéne. Tendrement et loûré03:34
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 22Trio super "Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ" BWV 64902:22
  • Sonata in F Major, Patchwork Sonata:
  • 23Sonata in F Major, Patchwork Sonata: I. Andante-Presto01:26
  • 24Sonata in F Major, Patchwork Sonata: II. Allegro02:31
  • 25Sonata in F Major, Patchwork Sonata: III. Siciliano02:04
  • 26Sonata in F Major, Patchwork Sonata: IV. Bourrée01:33
  • 27Sonata in F Major, Patchwork Sonata: V. Gigue02:33
  • Total Runtime01:07:37

Info for Caffe=Hauß Zimmermann

This programme was conceived for Bachfest Leipzig 2016 and performed to great acclaim. We were invited as part of the concert series “Ausgezeichnet” (which translates as “excellent”), where young award recipients of international music competitions present themselves as part of the Bach Festival.

This project is based on my studying of this repertoire as part of my diploma thesis at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna in 2015.

“Caffe⸗Hauß Zimmermann” combines well-known works by Johann Sebastian Bach with lesser-known works by Albinoni, Goldberg, Couperin, Telemann and others.

There are plenty of interconnections to discover that may not be apparent at first glance. One such example is Albinoni’s sonata in a minor, for which H.N. Gerber wrote a basso continuo realisation, which seems to have been corrected in a music composition class by his teacher J.S. Bach. Goldberg, too, was a student of Bach’s. The close proximity of his compositional style to that of his teacher led to his sonata in C major being ascribed to J.S. Bach for a long time. Telemann was close to Bach in a way, seeing as he was the godfather of the latter’s son Carl Philipp Emanuel; however, both his style and his professional development were quite different. He can therefore be thought of as a counterpart to Bach in this programme.

The programme invokes the chamber-music tradition in Leipzig during the first half of the 18th century and investigates the question what the famous “Collegium Musicum” that was led by Johann Sebastian Bach at the time may have sounded like. The title of the programme is a reference to Gottfried Zimmermann, a Leipzig coffeehouse owner who organised weekly concerts with the collegium.

Anne-Suse Enßle, recorders
Reinhard Führer, harpsichord

No biography found.

Booklet for Caffe=Hauß Zimmermann

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO