Live in Concert (Are We There Yet ?) (Live) Sara K. & Chris Jones

Cover Live in Concert (Are We There Yet ?) (Live)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 14.50
  • 1Dementi (Live)00:42
  • 2(Would You) Break My Heart (Live)00:42
  • 3Anymore (Live)03:34
  • 4All You Love (Turned to Passion) (Live)05:35
  • 5In the Fall (Maggie's Dream) (Live)08:17
  • 6Turned My Upside Down (Live)04:34
  • 7Stop Those Bells (Live)07:44
  • 8Ball n' Joint (Live)06:13
  • 9Running Away from You (Live)05:22
  • 10He Got You (Live)07:08
  • 11Water Falls (Live)05:49
  • 12Blind Hearted (Live)03:38
  • 13Vincent (Live)07:36
  • Total Runtime01:06:54

Info for Live in Concert (Are We There Yet ?) (Live)

A must-have, not only for folks that experienced this incredible show: In order to properly document the Nautilus-Tour in May/June 2002, Günter Pauler took along his "portable" studio – digital multi-track technology of the highest order, with which he recorded all 25 concerts. After listening to the tapes, the decision was unanimous – the concert in Erlangen's City Hall on June 15th, 2002 topped them all. The performance, atmosphere and sheer energy that Sara and Chris presented here was simply overwhelming.

"Let’s be honest, live albums are often bland, the songs faded versions of opulent studio-productions. This one is different. The songwriter from Texas and her sideman grow together during the concert into groove-monsters. Her 4-string guitar and his steel-string/dobro drive songs like 'All Your Love (Turned to Passion)' irresistibly onward and Sara growls, squeaks and squeals with a truly high-end sound. Huge." (RTL)

"An American guitarist and singer-songwriter, Sara K. cut a half-dozen records for Chesky before pairing up with Stockfisch, where seven albums ensued. Her pairing with Chris Jones made perfect sense: both share a raw and gutsy side, and this album pairs a soulful performance with vibrant sound. Gunter Pauler recorded 25 concerts during the Sara K./Chris Jones 2002 tour, and the June 15, 2002 performance in Erlangen, Germany was apparently the show where all the pistons were firing. There are no overdubs on Live in Concert, and it truly has a "live" feel." (Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound)

Sara K., not a suspect from a newspaper article but an American singer-songwriter. I didn't know her before I got this album, well, I don't know everybody in the music world of course. I did hear the name of virtuoso guitarist Chris Jones, rustling through the circuit of musicians and connoisseurs. -This was before he passed away too early.- The man came from Reno of all places, a mini-Las Vegas where everybody and nobody plays covers in casino lounges and he sounded like some Ry Cooder... He heard Sara K. in a German studio (he lived for 26 years in Germany) and he insisted on working with her. Label boss Gunter Pauler had the same idea at the same moment, wonderful when it comes together like that.

This album contains a concert, more than 71 minutes long, from a sponsored German tour in the Spring of 2002. Sponsored by a loudspeaker company! How did this happen? Between all recordings the results of the show in Erlangen were most convincing, overdubs not even necessary. Sara herself played a four-string (!) acoustic guitar, while Chris did his terrific thing on six strings, he also had a beauty of a dobro handy. With what words do I describe Sara's voice best? An alto with rich sound palette and wide vocal range, a very particular vocal. She makes us think for a moment of Lucinda Williams, in relaxed "Anymore" for instance, but the emotional outbursts go more into the direction of Janis Joplin. Sara sings a lot of bluesy pieces but I also hear influences from jazz and folk, the improvised solos are definitely spellbinding. Professional release, also a feast for the eyes with the painting in warm colors that even returns on the disc itself and the appealing musicians-in-action photographs. Guess what cover they chose for the encore? Don McLean's "Vincent" and now we hear again how beautiful that song actually is.

Sara K., vocals, Pimentel 4-string guitar
Chris Jones, guitar, manzanita, dobro

Digitally remastered

Sara K.
ist eine Klasse für sich. Diese Sängerin verfügt über die seltene Gabe, den Zuhörer emotional zu packen, allein mit ihrer spontanen und intensiven Ausstrahlung, der man kaum widerstehen kann. Alle Alben, die sie eingespielt hat, erhielten hochkarätige Auszeichnungen sowie mehrere Jazz-Awards.

Wer Sara K. je gehört hat weiß, warum sie von der deutschen HiFi-Presse zur Queen of Audiophile erkoren wurde. Mit aufregender Stimme und vier(!)saitiger Gitarre besetzt sie eine ungewöhnliche musikalische Nische, die auf der Welt ebenso einmalig ist wie die Geschichten, die sie singt. Sara K. hat sie selbst erlebt, ist mittendrin und erzählt. Warm, persönlich und berührend.

Die Karriere der in Santa Fe, New Mexico lebenden Singer/Songwriterin begann 1990 mit der Veröffentlichung von Closer Than They Appear auf dem audiophilen Label Chesky. Bis 2001 blieb sie Chesky treu und veröffentlichte dort weitere 6 Alben. 2002 wechselte sie zu der deutschen Klangschmiede Stockfisch, auf dem sie bisher weitere 5 Alben veröffentlicht hat. Ihre Alben erhielten allesamt nicht nur von der HiFi-Presse hochkarätige Auszeichnungen, mehrere Alben wurden mit einem Jazz-Award belohnt (Tell Me I’m not Dreaming, Hobo, Water Falls) - und nicht zu vergessen: das „Goldene Audio-Ohr 1994“ für Play on Words.

"Her beautiful writing is something one must experience themselves. Her high sweet but dirty voice is one not to pass up. Her unique style of guitar and music in general is one to take her much further than following the crowd would." - BLUES ON STAGE

Booklet for Live in Concert (Are We There Yet ?) (Live)

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO