Cover All'Ungarese

Album info



Label: La Musica

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.50
  • David Popper (1843 - 1913):
  • 1Fantaisie sur une chanson de la Petite-Russie, Op. 4310:22
  • Zoltán Kodály (1882 - 1967):
  • 2Adagio pour violoncelle et piano07:47
  • Sonate pour violoncelle, Op. 8:
  • 3Sonate pour violoncelle, Op. 8: I. Allegro maestoso ma appassionato09:39
  • 4Sonate pour violoncelle, Op. 8: II. Adagio (con grand'espressione)11:53
  • 5Sonate pour violoncelle, Op. 8: III. Allegro molto vivace11:38
  • Ernő Dohnányi (1877 - 1960): Ruralia Hungarica, Op. 32:
  • 6Ruralia Hungarica, Op. 32: I. Presto03:44
  • 7Ruralia Hungarica, Op. 32: II. Andante rubato - alla zingaresca05:38
  • 8Ruralia Hungarica, Op. 32: III. Molto vivace02:03
  • Total Runtime01:02:44

Info for All'Ungarese

First Grand Prize at the Feuermann Competition in Berlin at the age of 19, Aurélien Pascal proved that he was one of the most brilliant representatives of the cello of his generation. He shows it again in this recording based on Zoltán Kodály and the Sonata Op.8, a monument for solo cello that is both immense and revolutionary. Adding to the interest of this exciting record is Ruralia hungarica, a collection by another Hungarian composer, Ernő Dohnanyi, recorded as a world premiere in its version for cello and piano. Aurélien Pascal displays in this album the full range of a breathtaking virtuosity, as much as a musicality celebrated everywhere. In Paloma Kouider, he finds a partner with a brilliant and committed piano.

Aurelien Pascal, cello
Paloma Kouider, piano

Aurelien Pascal
Born 1994 in Paris, cellist Aurélien Pascal began his musical education at the Conservatoire de Rueil-Malmaison and the Paris Conservatoire Régional before starting his studies with Philippe Muller at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Music et Danse in 2010. He gained his master’s degree under Raphael Pidoux. His studies in Paris were accompanied by masterclasses with János Starker, Frans Helmerson, Arto Noras, and Gary Hoffman.

One of his main competition successes was winning the Guy Bonnemain Prize for the most promising cellist at the André Navarra International Cello Competition in Toulouse in 2011. He won the second Prize at the International Paulo Cello Competition in 2013. In 2014 he was awarded the Grand Prix Emmanuel Feuermann and also won the Audience Prize as well as the prize for best interpretation of the Ernst Toch cello concerto. In 2017 he won fourth prize at the Queen Elisabeth Music Competition.

Aurélien Pascal has performed with renowned orchestras such as the Helsinki Philharmonic, the Tapiola Sinfonietta, the Gunma Symphony Orchestra and the Kammerakademie Potsdam. He has also taken part in the Festival de Radio France in Montpellier, the Festival Pablo Casals in Prades, in Villa Musica and in Les Folles Journées in Nantes and Japan.

In 2018 his debut CD was released at the label Sony Classical, a recording of different concerts from Franz Danzi with the pianist Nareh Arghamanyan and the Munich Chamber Orchestra.

Aurélien Pascal plays a French cello by Charles Adolphe Gand from 1850.

Aurélien Pascal took part in the Kronberg Academy cello masterclasses in 2012 and 2014 and performed at the Kronberg Academy Festival in 2015 and 2017. In 2016 he participated in Chamber Music Connects the World. Since October 2015 he has been studying at Kronberg Academy with Frans Helmerson. These studies are funded by the Angela Winkler Stipendium.

Booklet for All'Ungarese

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO